Posted by: DD | June 9, 2006

No. 204 – She’s Baa-aa-ck!

Yesterday, crabby. Today, I wreak of pissoffedness. X didn’t go to sleep until after 11:00 p.m., even though he was put down at 9:30. He was distraught that he may not get to go to that damn animated movie coming out this weekend because he’s been waking up the kids from their naps at daycare and getting into trouble. Something the caregiver (and we) frown heavily on. At first I was understanding to his worry, but when he called me back to his room at 11:00, I was pissed.

Then I had to move to the couch to sleep at about 3:00 a.m. I woke up with a coughing fit at 2:00 and couldn’t get back to sleep. I think I must have dozed off at about 3:30 or so. Then at 5:00 I hear barking. It was X coughing as well and he had moved into my spot in our bedroom. I gave him some cough medicine, but he had decided that he now wanted to sleep with me. Instead of that asshole I married getting up to move to the couch so X and I could sleep in the bed, he rolled over back to sleep and X followed me to the couch. God bless that damn couch as it’s quite comfy…for one. Not for one and a half, and especially when that "half" has no intention of shutting his eyes, much less going back to sleep.

Livid, I hauled his ass back to his room and told him not to come out until 7:00. It was 5:30 a.m. by that time. At 5:37 he yells from his room, "It’s Seven!" "No, it’s not, X." 10 minutes later, "Mommy, it’s Seven!" "NO, it’s NOT, X!"

I think you get the point.

The game stopped at about 6:00 and I caught about another 15 minutes of shut-eye when the damn cats started crying for breakfast. I’m this (-) fuckin’ close to throwing both their asses outside…along with X, and going back to bed. I fed the cats. Then I have to go to the bathroom. I decide to use an OPK and realize that I have to be part McGyver to open the stupid package and make a mental note to myself that NASA should use the wrappers to coat the space shuttle with.

As 6:30 starts creeping in, I throw in the towel and decide to go to work early, finish my month-end shit and go back home to sleep. By 7:00, I was heading out the door. Fueled by fury and enough albuterol (over a dozen puffs because I couldn’t breathe) to send the previously mentioned space shuttle to the moon and back, I decided I didn’t care how I looked so I went without make-up, eyeglasses and I barely touched my hair with a comb. Who the hell am I trying to impress anyway?

After waiting entirely too long in line for my coffee, I finally get to sit down in my office and open my emails to find this forwarded to me from home:

"Wow! I can’t believe that it’s time for the house to be done! You guys must be very excited! Congrats – ….blah, blah, blah…

"How is everyone? Sorry I haven’t kept in touch. I’ll have to explain to you some time about everything that’s been going on. The girls are good and growing like weeds. Time does travel too fast.

"What was your blog site again? I lost the website. How is the quest for baby coming?

"Smiles, T, L, H & M"

Yep. It was her. And right now, she’s lucky that I don’t email her back and tell her she can lose my phone number and email right along with my blog address. Seriously! Does she expect me to respond to this? Would you?

Dammit. Now I’m so pissed I’m crying…and I’ve got work to do. Nothing like sitting down and blogging about it to see if things work out on their own.

Responses

  1. I wish people would think before they speak.

  2. Slut. Couldn’t she have googled your blog name or something? What horrible timing.
    You have had quite a day–and it’s not even noon. I am so sorry my dear.

  3. Oh what a night! And I’m not meaning that Frankie Valley and the Four Seasons style. It’s amazing how one can even function through the next day.

    As for the other, it is kind of expected, huh? Not wanted, not needed, but uh there it is. I am so sorry. I remember the other post and had so much to say about the topic of friendship lost; no excuse for not commenting then.

    I had seven beers last night to numb entertain myself. Hadn’t done that in a very, very long time. Would love to raise one with you and to you.

  4. Yep, the lady (if you want to be generous and call her a lady) doth sucketh. Are you going to reply? I’ve started a new strategy of ignoring emails that piss me off. Let’s just say that mean I haven’t been responding to many.

    Sorry… I know your day blew but your recap was hiliarous. You’re just talented that way.

    Thanks for tagging me. I’ve been the worst blogger lately. My latest post is actually written… I’ve just been too lazy to post the damn thing. Must get on that!

  5. I am the kind of person who over reacts, sometimes without thinking things through, and this case is no exception. I think I would respond, but it wouldn’t be pretty.

  6. I’m trying to give her the benefit of the doubt- maybe she’s just a clueless fertile and not a heartless b*tch? Its possible she’s just so self absorbed in her own life that she doesn’t realize how insensitive she’s being? I guess its up to you whether you’d want to be friends with someone so oblivious- its a hard choice. I’m sorry its so hard to find real life friends who get it.

  7. There must have been something in the air last night. We did the bedtime battle from 9-11 PM and both finally went to sleep at midnight. Then there’s the lovely night time ballet from room to room, bed to couch to bed.
    Then 5yo decides to come wake me early and I told him to go back to bed. He came ever ten minutes to read the numbers on the digital clock…..AHHHHHH!
    Sorry about the thoughtless email. Perhaps a reply such as, “The baby quest has been very painful. I can’t talk about it.”
    Will get the point across for her to remove her foot from her mouth…

  8. Honestly, she sounds like a selfish, self absorbed bitch who you don’t need to waste your time on.
    The lack of response in the past to efforts you have made to reach out to her says it all DD. And on top of that for her to know what you have been going through (after the little bit she read here) and not acknowledge or respond in any way? Seriously, you don’t need that kind of bullshit.

  9. There’s a lot that I’d like to say here, but I’m gripped by the cat thing.

    Have been very angry at cats myself, for days now. Because I simply cannot handle one more creature making demands on me. Cannot handle it. Too much.

    But, the guilt. Not their fault. And, the sneaking suspicion that I am now certifiable. Angry at cats.

    What next?

  10. What is the matter with you DD? You can’t be physically exhausted/ sleep deprived and still be a “perky fucker” (as Jennie would say)?????
    By the way, how is the quest for baby coming? Okay, now you can yell (flame me)and get it all out because I can take it. I’m always happy to stand in for others (even for those I can’t really stand).
    DinoD

  11. Ohhh hon, hate that kind of a day. Had two in a row this week including one session of screaming at the dog, “You MUST fuck off.” Totally cool here.

  12. Sorry you’ve had such a suckapalooza of late.

  13. Ok…I’m just impressed you didn’t kick the hubby in the ass and tell him to haul it out of bed and watch X, so you could get some sleep! After the second “It’s seven!”, I’d have done it…

  14. OMG! There IS something in the air! My 5 year old and my DH both woke me up last night. . .

    Sorry your day is so crappy already! Hopefully you will be able to get your work done and shake your ass back home for a nap!

    🙂

  15. There really is something in the air–P didn’t go to bed until 10 last night, despite being put down yawning heavily at 8:30. Despite getting a full two hours less sleep than normal (usually he’s in bed by 8, but we had the IL’s visiting), he was still up by 7 this morning.

    As for your “friend”? Bitch. Give up on her. I know that’s really hard to do, but if she’s been to your site even once and read anything, she should have known that “How is the quest for baby coming?” would have received a considerably rude hand gesture had it been asked in person. And not even saying anything at all about how she’s sorry it’s so hard for you and Mr. DD? Unforgiveable.

  16. Man, your night sucked. Hope tonight is better.
    As for the friend, I have a somewhat similar story with someone I’ve been friends with for over 20 years. I’ve tried giving chances but because she was clueless about how insensitve she had been (and didn’t want to talk about it or acknowledge it) I couldn’t let go of my bitter feelings of resentment. Good luck however you decide to respond. But sometimes you have to accept the death of a bad relationship.

  17. All I have to say is I’d feel the same way after not getting sleep. And stupid comments. I’ve heard so many this week I’m writing on post about it for Monday. I’m convinced my mother-in-law has infiltrated the world with foot in mouth disease.

  18. On that little sleep I’m not surprised you are in tears. Lack of sleep always does that to me. Hoping that your husband gets his sensitivity gene turned up somewhat, perhaps manually, over the weekend.

  19. Leggy is really nice to give the “lady” the benefit of the doubt. I’ll just call her a fucking whore and move on.

    I hope you get some rest soon.

    Sorry, but I had to giggle at the line, “The asshole I married.”

  20. Has anyone ever written a book about the stupid comments we have all heard and how certain morons seem to know exactly the wrong time to say them? If not I think we should all get together and write a comedy act. No one else will get it, but we sure could have a blast. I’ll bring the refreshments.

  21. Dear DD, I’m so sorry about the awful night! Yikes. And I don’t know how you manage to be so funny in the midst of all that.

    As for your friend, I would probably not respond, or noncommitally at most.


Leave a Reply

Categories

