Posted by: DD | June 12, 2006

No. 206 – Agencies

** Correction to email address below **

What adoption agencies have you heard have a good reputation?

What agencies have you heard no-so-good things about?

The information you give me doesn’t necessarily have to come first hand, but maybe from adoption blogs you may be reading that I haven’t yet. I know of one blog I read (once) where she said she was having problems with one agency but a second really pulled through for her. She would give the information on who they were if one was to ask. I asked. She didn’t reply (it was weeks ago).

If you don’t feel comfortable posting something in comments, please email me at ddknockedup at yahoo dot com.  Mum’s the word.

I’m interested in agencies that specialize in international.

Responses

  1. I’ve got nothing to offer in the adoption department, but wanted to say I’m sorry about everything that has happened with your friend. That stinks. I’m thinking of you! Let me know what you find out!

  2. I have no information about US agencies but we’ve been investigating UK ones, not for international however – for domestic adoption from foster care, almost certainly of one or two preschoolers/toddlers.

    But just wanted to say good luck, and if you haven’t already, check out http://afrindiemum.typepad.com/afrindiemum/

  3. Sorry, can’t be of much help in the adoption department. Take care.

  4. Damn, I think I’ve already talked your ear off about this one.

    I’ll email you. This is so cool.

  5. I’ve done a ton of research over the years, and I think you need to start with some semblance of country/region of the world you are interested in- eastern europe, latin america, china. So much of one’s experience depends on the people on the ground in-country, so an agency can have a good reputation for their China program, but be inexperienced and hooked in with the wrong people in Russia. That being said, here are some of my tips:

    If they seem sleazy on their website or in conversations, they probably are. Photo listings of kids, particularly with names attached, are a big no-no, unless they are special needs or hard to place kids.
    Ask, ask, and ask some more. There are lots of internet resources for trying to get outside opinions- adoption.forums.com is one. There are usually yahoo groups for each country that you are looking at- join and just listen in for a while.

    And blogs- just because the one woman didn’t respond to you- try again. I’ve found about 10 or so Russian adoption blogs that I read, as well as a couple China & South America, moreso for the process/emotional stuff than specific country info.

    Email me if you want more.

    Does this mean DH is coming around?

  6. Oh, must have more information. Like, is this for you and Mr. DD?????

    Choosing a country would be the first step, and know that the US is becoming Hague compliant in 2007 which will make a difference in where we can bring children in from – only other countries that are also Hague compliant.

  7. I don’t have anything to offer on the adoption info end either but just wanted to say WOO-HOO to you for considering it.

  8. I’m afraid I don’t have much expertise but I wanted to say that I am thinking of you.

  9. I don’t know about International adoption but I would like to warn your readers about a domestic adoption agency to beware of, Adoption Network Law Center. Do your research before you hire them! Trust me!

  10. World Partners Adoption — I know of people who have adopted internationally from there. I was going to go with them, but decided just to go through the county for a local adoption.

  11. I’ve got friends that have used various agencies for various countries. I’m happy to share that all with you (and some other stuff that might help). Just email me if you’re interested.


Leave a Reply

Categories

