Posted by: DD | June 17, 2006

No. 212 – Father’s Day

The response I got from Mr. DD the first time I ever showed him two lines was certainly less than enthusiastic. Disappointing was more like it. It was on his birthday and I had given him his birthday card with a note that said his present wouldn’t be here until Christmas. The pee had barely dried on the stick (ah, the days of ignorance that I wish for every day…). He confessed to me he was scared and not sure if he was ready to be a father.

Through my pregnancy with X, he remained aloof. Shopping for baby furniture was torturous; and preparing the nursery was completely left up to me. I remember climbing on the scaffold at 7 months pregnant to paint. I would have to take his hand to feel the baby move. There was no look of awe when he saw how my body had changed. In fact, he barely touched me during that eight months. I worried about what kind of father he would be. I imagined he’d be detached, much like his father, much like my father, neither of who had ever changed a diaper when their children were babies.

That all changed the second X took his first breath of air. It was Mr. DD who announced "It’s a boy!" when the OB delivered X via an emergency c-section. He held X long before I had a chance to since I was in recovery and in those moments he lost his heart to X.

He has become a better father than I am a mother. Honest to God. Mr. DD is strict and has a hard time separating the raising of X from how he was raised, which was with a heavy hand, but he realizes that so he tries just a little harder. It’s when my patience has run as thin as a blade of grass that Mr. DD’s grows to that of a Sequoia’s trunk. We have always been that way. Imagine a teeter-totter and X is centered above the fulcrum. Mr. DD and I sit at opposing ends. To keep X as balanced as possible, when one of us moves away heavy with fatigue or impatience, the other moves in.

Our parenting skills are as different as light and day. But they seem to compliment each other. Amazing considering how many of our friends take odds on how long it will take for Mr. DD and I to start arguing with each other because of  some stupid he-said/she-said something-or-other when we go out.

I am proud of Mr. DD and how he has grown and matured since X was born. I am in awe of how he has become a good father. It makes my heart swell with love in how he has become a great Daddy.

Responses

  1. Yay Mr. DD!

    Enjoy your day!

    PS – he’s quicker than ex was – ex became a father when J began to talk, which was late anyway.

  2. Glad your story ended better than it began.

    Happy Father’s Day Mr. DD!

  3. Yay – And if you show him this post you’ll have at least one get out of jail free card. Just joking, of course. Credit where credit is due. 🙂

  4. What a nice story. Good for Mr DD. I hope you all have a good day.

  5. . . . sending a well-deserved HAPPY FATHER’S DAY wish!

  6. It’s astonishing how our children change us. It’s part of the miracle.

  7. Loved this post. Happy Daddy’s Day, Mr DD.

  8. One of the most beautiful things in the world, to me, is the transformation that happens when someone loves like a parent. Not all parents have that — it takes a good mother or father to develop that selflessness kind of love. Some people have to learn it, and some people have it awakened. I have often wondered how it would be for Jeremy. I have always wanted to know how it feels — to love that way.

    Happy Father’s Day Mr. DD


Leave a Reply

Categories

