Posted by: DD | June 20, 2006

No. 214 – Come Rain or Come Shine

Wedding_photo_charcoal Nine years ago, Mr. DD and I did our I Do’s in my home town church, one of the most beautiful in this area. Later we had a reception in another small town hall which could accommodate our families and friends.

It was a lovely day, but by the time it got dark, a storm blew in and got so bad that the county sheriff came by and told guests to clear out, "A tornada’ is a’comin!" Who knows what Mr. DD and I were doing (no…not that!), but we didn’t hear of this until days later. We just figured everyone was going home. Those that went North drove into hail. Those that went South got flooded by the rains. For those who stayed, well…we partied in oblivion.

The wedding was shoestring at best. I ordered my gown direct from a distributor after finding what I liked in a store. When it was delivered, I tried it on and modeled it for Mr. DD. Screw the superstition. I made my veil, and the decorations were simple. It’s really amazing what you can do with a few dozen strands of white lights, ivy and tulle.

Our splurge was my ring: a single solitaire set in platinum. The only live flowers were my bouquet which were a couple dozen pastel roses. My cake was in pastel as well. Each tier a different color and decorated to look like wrapped packages. I hated color themes and had my three bridesmaids get together and find some dresses they could agree on and they wore the shoes they wanted. Who notices that stuff anyway, besides the bride? And I didn’t really care. They wanted to be comfortable and have fun, just like I did. Besides, I wore blue pumps ("…Something Blue,…").

We never have taken an official honeymoon. We took our savings and bought a new house within 4 months of getting married. Yes, the same house we are now trying to sell. So I guess you can say we’ve been honeymooning for 9 years. We had realistically thought by this anniversary, we would spend the next 50 "honeymooning" in the new house, but…meh.

You know you love someone when you no longer jump out of bed to apply concealer, comb your hair and brush your teeth before they wake up. You know you love someone when you can scream that they are being a fucking asshole and they forgive you later. You know you love someone when you look into their face and not see a stranger and wonder if you ever have.

I’m pretty damn lucky. I forget that sometimes. We’ll grow old(er) and fat(ter) together, that I’m sure. Below are the lyrics to the song we danced to for our wedding dance. Mr. DD is anything BUT romantic and he left all the wedding planning and arranging to me. However, he insisted we use this song. I thought it was perfect, considering the weather we had that day. Especially with how things have been for us this past year. It still is perfect.

I’m gonna love you,
Like nobody’s loved you
Come rain or come shine
High as a mountain, deep as a river
Come rain or come shine

I guess when you met me
It was just one of those things
But don’t you ever bet me
‘Cause I’m gonna be true if you let me

You’re gonna love me,
Like nobody’s loved me
Come rain or come shine
We’ll be happy together, unhappy together
Now won’t that be just fine

The days may be cloudy or sunny
We’re in or out of the money
But I’m with you always
I’m with you rain or shine

Responses

  1. Happy anniversary! Go make the bed springs creak or something!

  2. perfect wedding song! Sounds like you had a great day.

  3. Ahhhhh. Mr. DD is just too sweet. Have a great Ninth Anniversary!

    Your new house is fabulous!

  4. DD – I like your wedding philosophy – not unlike our own, actually, where everything was done on the cheap to please only us. (we eloped!!) So many people don’t get that it’s about the marriage, not the wedding. I am in the process of helping my sister with her wedding, and although it’s not even a huge traditional one, it’s still such a project.

  5. Cute cute cute.

    This is my favorite line: “You know you love someone when you look into their face and not see a stranger and wonder if you ever have.”

    Yeah, that’s love.

  6. Awww…thanks for posting this, DD – you have no idea what a “picker upper” this was, one day before I get married, after just getting off the phone with my mom who said “You know, you stil have time to change your mind!” UGH!

  7. Happy anniversary!!! Cute pic!!

  8. What a beautiful tribute – Tornado be damned. When I got married, I had to cancel the outdoor reception because Hurricane Cricket had been ravaging Texas. It was am omen for me. Glad yours has lingered as mere tempestuousness.

  9. …and yes, that is a pix of us. Mr. DD is still not comfy with too much info being divulged here so I tweaked our wedding picture a bit. I would have posted more but I’ve packed them up and can’t find them. Go figure.

  10. Sweet tribute!! Happy Anniversary!! (and many many more)

  11. Hey, we share an anniversary, though today is our 7th! I never knew that before.

    A very, very happy anniversary to you and Mr. DD, and many more to come!

  12. Firstly, Happy Aniversary but… do you have any idea how scary the “tweaked” picture is? Not so bad as the thumbnail but I should never have tried to enlarge. I may have nightmares.
    My husband is also a tad phobic about anonymity. I still want to post an old picture I have of me and my son – (assuming I return to posting sometime).
    And romantic souls are overrated. I swore prior to meeting my husband that I would never again date anyone who would either write poetry about me or song lyrics about me (UGH!). And no, they weren’t famous songs like “Fat Bottomed Girls”.
    DinoD

  13. Wow, You’re anniversary is on MY birthday!!

    How cool is that??!!

    I LOVELOVELOVE the way Bette Midler does Come Rain or Come Shine from the “For the Boys” soundtrack. But then again, I pretty much love anything that she sings….. Happy Anniversary you two. God Bless and many more.

    Love ya,
    Cat

  14. Happy Anniversary!

  15. I figured that pic was of you two, cause dang you do look like a supermodel, and Mr. DD is definitely sexy!

  16. Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  17. Glad you are joining me in the 10th year of marriage! Obviously, not married to me hahaha. Happy Belated Anniversary and here’s to many more!

  18. Happy 10 Year Anniversary (a day late)!! This was such a sweet post…thanks for sharing your wedding memories with us!

  19. […] updo for our wedding a few hours later. You can refer to the past posts regarding my wedding here, and here, and of course, […]

  20. […] seeing a new post from me today you might assume it’s one about Father’s Day or our 14th wedding anniversary (which will be tomorrow). Maybe an addendum to multi-installment posts from last year at this time, […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

