Posted by: DD | July 13, 2006

No. 229 – Uh….wha….?

Oh, how stifled you all must feel! I know you are dying to share opinions, tips, lore, and stories that may or may not be relevant to this post…and now you can!

TypePad is back up (so they say) and I am languishing in front of my computer waiting to hear from you…*immense sigh punctuated by forearm flung across the eyes as I sink onto my fainting couch*

Ok. Sure. So what if my medical degree is from Google Univ with a residency program at the Metro’s clinic? I still can claim to know just a little bit about the bits.

I was doing some research for a special case (moi) and found this. First I’m guessing that in the "expert’s" answer, the first quality should have been quantity; but secondly, I have to contradict his answer with a well-spoken and respectful WHAT THE FUCK?

In case you were wondering, yes I finally got a surge line yesterday but I’m really concerned since I’ve always been a 28day kind of girl. I zipped on out and bought myself some over the counter progesterone cream that advises to apply to the soles and palm and any other "soft" skin. Yeah, because the rest of me is a veritable rhino in disguise, I decided that the underside of my underarm, though flabby, appeared to be soft. I’ve already dusted off the half-full vial of PIO and warily eyed my syringes. Don’t think for a minute I won’t self-medicate. But tell me, what would happen if I OD’d on progesterone?

Let’s see what YOUR degree from Google U comes up with.

Responses

  1. Boobs and inner thighs work, too. Don’t forget to change it up so that you don’t saturate one particular area.

  2. I.am.so.going.to.get.this.drivel.posted.

    I’m sure someone would correct me, but this is what I would think extra progesterone would do:
    Horny
    Constipated
    Spacy
    Laid back

    Not too bad. I used to use a cream and really liked it. I used it as my leg moisturizer, killed two birds with one stone.

    Congrats on being positive on something. I like ovulation sticks for that reason.

  3. OPK’s never worked for me. Never got a surge, even when I peed on those things ever single time I went and on the months I conceived as well. I would think, well, looks like I ovulated to me, since I’m pregnant and all.
    Don’t knoe much about progesterone cream and its effects on ovulation, so keep us posted as now you’re a sort of labrat.

  4. Why did I spell know, knoe? Weird

  5. Oh, good. Here I thought I was being blocked from commenting…..

    Anyway….
    The soles of your feet are considered soft??? My pedicurist would beg to differ. I sit & giggle like a school girl as she scrapes the balls of my feet and heels with that cheese-grater looking thingy….

    ps. good luck!

  6. I soooo self medicate and I’m thinking about doing it again if we seriously start trying for #2.

    I’m a late ovulator too, CD 19. Can’t be more help than to say I comiserate with you.

  7. I soooo self medicate and I’m thinking about doing it again if we seriously start trying for #2.

    I’m a late ovulator too, CD 19. Can’t be more help than to say I comiserate with you.

  8. I tried to comment yesterday, without success. I got my degree from the same place as you, though, so I can’t be much help on this topic.

  9. I tried to comment yesterday, without success. I got my degree from the same place as you, though, so I can’t be much help on this topic.

  10. Yeah for the positive OPK! And yeah for your persistence! I tried to use them last cycle and gave up on them.

    And with my immense pregnancy experience, coupled with a google degree, I’d say, don’t worry about overdosing on progesterone (you didn’t seriously, did you? Just testing us, right?). During my one pregnancy it was (I cite) ‘sky high’ (in the nineties somewhere) and I noticed zero side effects. Seriously. I got it measured because I was worried it was too low.

    Good luck!

  11. Yeah for the positive OPK! And yeah for your persistence! I tried to use them last cycle and gave up on them.

    And with my immense pregnancy experience, coupled with a google degree, I’d say, don’t worry about overdosing on progesterone (you didn’t seriously, did you? Just testing us, right?). During my one pregnancy it was (I cite) ‘sky high’ (in the nineties somewhere) and I noticed zero side effects. Seriously. I got it measured because I was worried it was too low.

    Good luck!

  12. I o’ed on CD42 and Phred is the result. So I don’t buy the later in your cycle is bad thing.

    I’m all for the progesterone cream, I hope that it works!!!

  13. I o’ed on CD42 and Phred is the result. So I don’t buy the later in your cycle is bad thing.

    I’m all for the progesterone cream, I hope that it works!!!

  14. well hell. You deserve some kind of good news! I have no degrees nor advice, just thinking of you….

  15. well hell. You deserve some kind of good news! I have no degrees nor advice, just thinking of you….

  16. Don’t start the prog until you are sure you have ovulated but you can’t have too much of the stuff. Yes, you will feel the side-effects but excess gets peed away. I would stick with the NPC until you get the + and then get your levels tested ๐Ÿ˜‰

  17. Don’t start the prog until you are sure you have ovulated but you can’t have too much of the stuff. Yes, you will feel the side-effects but excess gets peed away. I would stick with the NPC until you get the + and then get your levels tested ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. Picking your eyeballs out of your rice! LOL!

    Very suspenseful post. I was about to turn purple too. Thatโ€™s t-riffic you got a YES. Now, make sure you get that in writing. Just kidding. Good luck with whatever your next steps may be!


Leave a Reply

Categories

