Posted by: DD | August 9, 2006

no. 247 – Oh, Grow UP

To wrap things up from the prior post, I echo the sentiments of those who find bloglines to be a blessing and a curse when it comes to keeping up on blogs. Just a brief explanation of bloglines for those who don’t use it: after you get an account, you give it all of your blog URLs and it will notify you when a blog has been updated. This way you don’t have to keep them stored under favorites in your tool bar and click through each one to see if a new post has been written. However, the downside to that is when you click on the updated post, it’s just the text (sometimes with pictures). It takes an extra step to get into the site and comment. It’s just a case of aim and click, but sometimes I find myself "saving as new" with the intention of coming back to it. Many times I don’t.

I agree with those of you who will comment on new bloggers or the posts that don’t have many comments. Someone gave me that hand up, it’s only fair that I do the same. Just a little encouragement can give someone that confidence to keep at it. And I also agree that a post that has an abundance of comments probably isn’t going to benefit from my two cents. I usually don’t even bother to read the comments when there’s a bunch because of time.

And…just a tip: if you have your feed set up to just show the first few lines, I have a tendency to not read those at all unless my attention is really grabbed. Example is So Close. As far as I am concerned, she’s got a double whammy: 1) she’s insanely popular and gets lots of comments; and 2) she only has a blip go to bloglines. That’s two reasons I end up not even reading her posts, but I keep her site on my bloglines.

For those of you who admired how my writing is "to the point," below you will find an example of how it is not.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

I am having a housewarming party tonite for several people I work with. The house, though lived in, is really just a bunch of walls with a few pieces of essential furniture in it. I’ve only put two nail holes in the wall in an attempt to decorate. One was to put up a brightly colored fish clock in X’s bathroom and a mirror my parents received as a wedding gift 50 odd years ago.

One of the things that really bothers me about people coming to our house is our bedroom. We have no "grown up" bedding. No matchy-matchy bedspread and a plethora of coordinating pillows. I buy sheets that are clearanced regardless of the color or pattern, only regretting the purchase of a set of sheets with such a low thread count that X actually made the observation that they were "spiky" …seriously. The bed cover is a sunflower-yellow down comforter, and the pillow cases only coordinated to the point that his two pillows were one color and my two pillows were another. I didn’t want our bedroom to look like a dorm for our first housewarming, so I went bedding shopping.

I was flummoxed by how expensive nice bedding was! I would find things, on sale, that were $300 – $600 and there was just no goddamn way I was spending that kind of cash. I would expect the Beddingbed to make itself for that. I checked online, department stores, even Tarjay and either the stuff was too girly, too old-lady, or just really fucking ugly. I did finally find a bed-in-a-bag set that I could live with (on sale and with an add’l percentage off), plus I was getting desperate. This is a picture of one of the pillows that coordinate with it, but I didn’t get…not yet.

I knew that Mr. DD would be less than thrilled so I insured that there was no going back by immediately washing the sheets and pillow cases, and cutting up the bed skirt.

Yep, you read that right. I cut up the skirt. We have a soft-side water bed. There is no bloody way we were ever going to empty out two bladders, remove the mattress and all the crap that goes with it to slide a bed skirt under it. Instead, I cut the center fabric out of the skirt, leaving just enough to form a channel that I created with some hot glue, in which I slid flexible, plumbing tubing into and then tucked that under the sides of the mattress. Voila’! A bed skirt with a perfect 1/4" gap between it and the bedroom floor.

When it came to the shams I was at another loss. I found myself balking at the idea of spending more money for pillows we would just throw onto the floor, but without them, the bed looked naked and much worse, like a hotel bed. So in another a-HA! moment I took all the extra bedding taking up space on our closet shelves and stuffed them into the shams.

Now our bed, though not completely grown up as we have never bothered with a head- and/or foot-board (which is next on my shopping list), does look a little more mature. Mr. DD thinks it’s all unnecessary and I only shook my head when he asked me what the bags were for (he was referring to the shams). If it was up to him, we would have our TVs set up on towers of cinder blocks and boards. Even X stopped short when he came running into our bedroom and saw all that glorious, glimmering polyester.

So, all I have left to do now is remove the Ikea tent that has somehow migrated to our room that X sleeps in when there’s a thunderstorm. The blue faux-igloo nylon is really clashing with my bedding and that will never do.

Responses

  1. Very nice bedding! I admire your method of getting around Mr. DD’s potential complaints, and your creativeness in making a bedskirt! Our waterbed is hard-sided, so we can’t have a bedskirt. Oh well.

    Enjoy the new bedding!

  2. Give Mr. DD this in consolation. When we moved into our house all those years ago, I was really into the southwest theme – and our furniture throughout was pastel. The bedding was pink, though MFH called it dusty rose to soothe his ego.

    I like things to coordinate and have always had matching bedding in all our rooms. However, we do not have a grown up bedroom set, either. Sure, we have a headboard and dressers, but MFH painted them all to match. That is always our next purchase, but something comes along to take precedence.

  3. I will do you one better and tell you that when we moved into our new house not only did we not have matching bedding — we still have army blankets on the windows. What can i say? They block the sun.

  4. It’s fun being a grown up, eh? Good luck with your house warming.

  5. BTW, I’m only commenting b/c I feel obligated. And you don’t truncate posts. Thanks.

    Tell Mr. DD that you only wanted to get something to match his beautiful light fixtures!

    I have a Laura Ashley set on my bed – and it’s about 8 years old. I still like it, but it could use replacing, as there is a scissor hole (J, not me) in the comforter – also too much poly for my cottony tastes. I have such guilt with even getting a bed in a bag. Why spend $80 when a homeless person would kill for holey Laura Ashley?

  6. Sorry, but i have to ask you for a picture. I freaking don’t understand anything about the bed and need a picture to illustrate what you did do and what?????????? Sorry!!! But I dig out the old “I’m not a native speaker” excuse.

    Love the Ikea tent. Will get one for the cat too. He’s afraid of thunderstorms too.

    And yes, I am commenting also because I feel oligated (as Cricket wrote). Did you ever only comment on my blog because I was an IVF newbie and needed somebody holding my hand…and providing me with drinks?

    Sending hugs, and hoping the party is fabulous!!!

    N

  7. You crack me up about the bedding and furniture. We have been married almost 18 years now, and the only matching anything we have bought new are our sofas (in 2001), and one set of extravagently expensive 4billionthreadcount sheets (because our others are “spiky”, too). I thought most everyone used the boxes to prop up the speakers, and milk crates for a TV stand?

  8. Hey! We have that tent! Well, that is, I think we do. I haven’t seen it since we got here. And Dotter-S has been asking for it… oops!!
    Want me to come deco for you? I have a wee bit of an obsession with the rotating, always new decorations. But we’re missing the fancy-schmancy head/foot board thing, too. We can’t agree so we go without. men…
    Maybe when I find that tent, he can sleep in it. Unless I’m Oing, of course!

  9. I had to laugh over your bedding! What a great idea with the bed skirt!!

    Maybe you could get some fabric dye and dye the tent to match! 🙂

    Take care

  10. I love your bedskirt solution! And washing the bedding so it’s not return-able, I am so using that next time. That’s beautiful bedding. I’d wash it too just to make sure it stayed mine.

    I’m super-weird about my bedroom matching, to the point where the hub & I actually got in an argument in Tarjay once after he picked out a bedding set that didn’t coordinate with the curtains we had. And was supremely ugly to boot – so ugly, I took pictures after he guilted me into getting it. (we now have plain white curtains just for that reason)

  11. Bravo on the show of creative genius! Men do not understand the necessity of appearances. My husband does not understand why I toss the house upside down in doing a thorough clean through when it’s just his daughter and the grandkids coming to visit.

    Our bedroom is of similar fashion to yours. Non-matching bedclothes, the mattress and bedspring lie directly on the floor and rest against the headboard thereby holding it up against the wall. When we have company that may glimpse our bedroom, I pull the plain white sheet up over the very old non-matching pillowcases.

    My problem is that my craft corner is ALWAYS a disaster area. I re-organize it about every 4 months but it still looks like a giant pile of junk around a card table. Then of course there’s the kids, dog and cat. Toys are guaranteed to be in every room. Along with dirty clothes and singleton shoes. I tend to limit company to the downstairs living area only. Upstairs, I think a tornado goes through about once an hour.

    I think the tent is actually a good addition to your bedroom. It may clash with your bedding, but it adds that extra “a family lives in this house” touch than many do not have. A house with kid(s) does not look properly lived in without that special “yes there is a child in this house can’t you tell?” feel. 🙂

  12. We got “grown up” bedding when we got married – but mainly because we got a bigger bed, both being quite active sleepers, when we got the house together, which was at the same time. Most of it is fairly traded or organic, too.

    I have a bloglines account – and I’m on yours, and yours is on mine. I have more subscribers, but fewer comments. No idea why.


Leave a Reply

Posted by: DD | August 9, 2006

no. 247 – Oh, Grow UP

To wrap things up from the prior post, I echo the sentiments of those who find bloglines to be a blessing and a curse when it comes to keeping up on blogs. Just a brief explanation of bloglines for those who don’t use it: after you get an account, you give it all of your blog URLs and it will notify you when a blog has been updated. This way you don’t have to keep them stored under favorites in your tool bar and click through each one to see if a new post has been written. However, the downside to that is when you click on the updated post, it’s just the text (sometimes with pictures). It takes an extra step to get into the site and comment. It’s just a case of aim and click, but sometimes I find myself "saving as new" with the intention of coming back to it. Many times I don’t.

I agree with those of you who will comment on new bloggers or the posts that don’t have many comments. Someone gave me that hand up, it’s only fair that I do the same. Just a little encouragement can give someone that confidence to keep at it. And I also agree that a post that has an abundance of comments probably isn’t going to benefit from my two cents. I usually don’t even bother to read the comments when there’s a bunch because of time.

And…just a tip: if you have your feed set up to just show the first few lines, I have a tendency to not read those at all unless my attention is really grabbed. Example is So Close. As far as I am concerned, she’s got a double whammy: 1) she’s insanely popular and gets lots of comments; and 2) she only has a blip go to bloglines. That’s two reasons I end up not even reading her posts, but I keep her site on my bloglines.

For those of you who admired how my writing is "to the point," below you will find an example of how it is not.

<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>

I am having a housewarming party tonite for several people I work with. The house, though lived in, is really just a bunch of walls with a few pieces of essential furniture in it. I’ve only put two nail holes in the wall in an attempt to decorate. One was to put up a brightly colored fish clock in X’s bathroom and a mirror my parents received as a wedding gift 50 odd years ago.

One of the things that really bothers me about people coming to our house is our bedroom. We have no "grown up" bedding. No matchy-matchy bedspread and a plethora of coordinating pillows. I buy sheets that are clearanced regardless of the color or pattern, only regretting the purchase of a set of sheets with such a low thread count that X actually made the observation that they were "spiky" …seriously. The bed cover is a sunflower-yellow down comforter, and the pillow cases only coordinated to the point that his two pillows were one color and my two pillows were another. I didn’t want our bedroom to look like a dorm for our first housewarming, so I went bedding shopping.

I was flummoxed by how expensive nice bedding was! I would find things, on sale, that were $300 – $600 and there was just no goddamn way I was spending that kind of cash. I would expect the Beddingbed to make itself for that. I checked online, department stores, even Tarjay and either the stuff was too girly, too old-lady, or just really fucking ugly. I did finally find a bed-in-a-bag set that I could live with (on sale and with an add’l percentage off), plus I was getting desperate. This is a picture of one of the pillows that coordinate with it, but I didn’t get…not yet.

I knew that Mr. DD would be less than thrilled so I insured that there was no going back by immediately washing the sheets and pillow cases, and cutting up the bed skirt.

Yep, you read that right. I cut up the skirt. We have a soft-side water bed. There is no bloody way we were ever going to empty out two bladders, remove the mattress and all the crap that goes with it to slide a bed skirt under it. Instead, I cut the center fabric out of the skirt, leaving just enough to form a channel that I created with some hot glue, in which I slid flexible, plumbing tubing into and then tucked that under the sides of the mattress. Voila’! A bed skirt with a perfect 1/4" gap between it and the bedroom floor.

When it came to the shams I was at another loss. I found myself balking at the idea of spending more money for pillows we would just throw onto the floor, but without them, the bed looked naked and much worse, like a hotel bed. So in another a-HA! moment I took all the extra bedding taking up space on our closet shelves and stuffed them into the shams.

Now our bed, though not completely grown up as we have never bothered with a head- and/or foot-board (which is next on my shopping list), does look a little more mature. Mr. DD thinks it’s all unnecessary and I only shook my head when he asked me what the bags were for (he was referring to the shams). If it was up to him, we would have our TVs set up on towers of cinder blocks and boards. Even X stopped short when he came running into our bedroom and saw all that glorious, glimmering polyester.

So, all I have left to do now is remove the Ikea tent that has somehow migrated to our room that X sleeps in when there’s a thunderstorm. The blue faux-igloo nylon is really clashing with my bedding and that will never do.


Responses

  1. Very nice bedding! I admire your method of getting around Mr. DD’s potential complaints, and your creativeness in making a bedskirt! Our waterbed is hard-sided, so we can’t have a bedskirt. Oh well.

    Enjoy the new bedding!

  2. Our bedroom looks like a college dorm too. We do have matching sheets and pillows, but only because we registered for a bed-in-a-bag when we got married. The rest of our furniture is a mish-mash of things we both had growing up / in college. Not very attractive. But when I look at how much it costs to buy a bedroom set? I just can’t do it!

    I enjoyed the discussion on your last post too. I typically try and comment on just about every post of my “regulars”… but it does make reading through all of them take a lot longer! Which means that I don’t add new blogs to those I read very often. Don’t really know which is better / worse.

  3. Neat trick with the bed skirt.

    I didn’t know water bed matresses were called bladders. Ewww.

  4. BTW, I’m only commenting b/c I feel obligated. And you don’t truncate posts. Thanks.

    Tell Mr. DD that you only wanted to get something to match his beautiful light fixtures!

    I have a Laura Ashley set on my bed – and it’s about 8 years old. I still like it, but it could use replacing, as there is a scissor hole (J, not me) in the comforter – also too much poly for my cottony tastes. I have such guilt with even getting a bed in a bag. Why spend $80 when a homeless person would kill for holey Laura Ashley?

  5. Sorry, but i have to ask you for a picture. I freaking don’t understand anything about the bed and need a picture to illustrate what you did do and what?????????? Sorry!!! But I dig out the old “I’m not a native speaker” excuse.

    Love the Ikea tent. Will get one for the cat too. He’s afraid of thunderstorms too.

    And yes, I am commenting also because I feel oligated (as Cricket wrote). Did you ever only comment on my blog because I was an IVF newbie and needed somebody holding my hand…and providing me with drinks?

    Sending hugs, and hoping the party is fabulous!!!

    N

  6. Ugh, same bedroom, same lack of everything, still stagnant. I simply can’t deal, but I’m glad you fessed.

  7. I had to laugh over your bedding! What a great idea with the bed skirt!!

    Maybe you could get some fabric dye and dye the tent to match! 🙂

    Take care

  8. I love your bedskirt solution! And washing the bedding so it’s not return-able, I am so using that next time. That’s beautiful bedding. I’d wash it too just to make sure it stayed mine.

    I’m super-weird about my bedroom matching, to the point where the hub & I actually got in an argument in Tarjay once after he picked out a bedding set that didn’t coordinate with the curtains we had. And was supremely ugly to boot – so ugly, I took pictures after he guilted me into getting it. (we now have plain white curtains just for that reason)

  9. Bravo on the show of creative genius! Men do not understand the necessity of appearances. My husband does not understand why I toss the house upside down in doing a thorough clean through when it’s just his daughter and the grandkids coming to visit.

    Our bedroom is of similar fashion to yours. Non-matching bedclothes, the mattress and bedspring lie directly on the floor and rest against the headboard thereby holding it up against the wall. When we have company that may glimpse our bedroom, I pull the plain white sheet up over the very old non-matching pillowcases.

    My problem is that my craft corner is ALWAYS a disaster area. I re-organize it about every 4 months but it still looks like a giant pile of junk around a card table. Then of course there’s the kids, dog and cat. Toys are guaranteed to be in every room. Along with dirty clothes and singleton shoes. I tend to limit company to the downstairs living area only. Upstairs, I think a tornado goes through about once an hour.

    I think the tent is actually a good addition to your bedroom. It may clash with your bedding, but it adds that extra “a family lives in this house” touch than many do not have. A house with kid(s) does not look properly lived in without that special “yes there is a child in this house can’t you tell?” feel. 🙂

  10. We got “grown up” bedding when we got married – but mainly because we got a bigger bed, both being quite active sleepers, when we got the house together, which was at the same time. Most of it is fairly traded or organic, too.

    I have a bloglines account – and I’m on yours, and yours is on mine. I have more subscribers, but fewer comments. No idea why.


Leave a Reply

Categories

