Posted by: DD | August 14, 2006

no. 249 – It’s Been One of Those Years

Check it. It’s been one full year since my very first post. Warn me never to go back and read any of my posts. I found myself rolling my eyes at least once to each published load-o-crap and then I started getting a headache and stopped reading altogether.

How do you people do it?!

What I find ironic about where I am today compared to where I was a year ago, I was a little further ahead then. I was just coming to the end of my first IUI cycle and the only thoughts going through my head were the calculations of my next possible due date. I don’t even bother anymore. I’ve learned that even a pregnancy won’t get me a due date (even though I’m sneaking up on another one in about 3 more weeks – from the first IVF).  But since we stopped with ART, I have shut off that part of my brain. It didn’t work very well anyway.

I tried to come up with something really impressive to commemorate this One Year of Blogging, including a video/audio post; or a post that once and for all pours out the gut-wrenching pain of this past year; or something so hysterically funny that I would trump even Alexa or Julie’s brilliant writing. But alas, I’m inept in all those fields: my digital camera, which is supposed to record video with audio isn’t recording audio. Never noticed it before because we’ve never used it. Stupid camera. The pain of the past year just can’t be summed up in one post. You know the fable where the crow puts stones into a jar in order for the water to reach the top? Each day is a stone and my pain is the water. ‘Nuff said. As far as "hysterically funny"? Pu-leaze. The best I had was used up in the recent Poopie-post and something about wearing my underwear inside out.  Alexa has gauchos and a wedding to plan. Julie has Charlie. If you want unfuckingbelievable funny, try this dude (he’s my new boyfriend, he just doesn’t know it yet).

So I think I will do to you what I do to Mr. DD on our anniversaries (no, not that, you sickos!) and ask you what do you want for our anniversary (and, no, not that, either!). Depending on what you want, I will either respond in comments or in a separate post. It can be a question that’s been burning in your mind – because if it was burning in your nethers, well, you might want to go see a doctor. HAHAHa ha ha(?).  *ahem* – or share one of your favorite memories from here; or…well I guess I don’t know what else you could do since you are virtual people in a virtual world. You’re a smart group, you’ll figure something out.

Responses

  1. Oh. my. LORD! Your “new boyfriend” is freaking HI-LAR-I-OUS!!! I cried I was laughing so hard. Or maybe that was my cramp pain. Who knows, but I cried!
    Don’t go hurting youself tryin to trump anyone’s writing. You are great just the way you are. REAAL!
    More serious note? Prayers for your IVF.

  2. Brain dead. Can’t contribute. But heart you and your blog…and happy anniversary!

  3. Congrats on your one year anniversary!

  4. Happy First Year! Here’s to many more.

  5. Happy anniversary.

    P.S. love the new boyfriend!

  6. Happy blog-iversary!

    Your new boyfriend – way too freaking funny.

    No burning questions (or nethers) here. You just keep writing whatever, I’ll do my part and keep reading. And laughing. But with you, not at you.

  7. Happy blog-iversary!

    Your new boyfriend – way too freaking funny.

    No burning questions (or nethers) here. You just keep writing whatever, I’ll do my part and keep reading. And laughing. But with you, not at you.

  8. I do NOT HAVE GAUCHOS! Oh, woe. I will never live that post down…
    Anyway, happy bloggiversary to you. I have really, really enjoyed getting to know you this past year. I am so glad you decided to venture onto the internet a year ago with your fresh, funny voice and bizarre past (um…professional ballroom dancer?).
    I don’t know what else in particular I want to know about you–I do wonder how you manage to keep up with blogs and comment as much as you do…do you have a superpowers you want to tell us about?

  9. I do NOT HAVE GAUCHOS! Oh, woe. I will never live that post down…
    Anyway, happy bloggiversary to you. I have really, really enjoyed getting to know you this past year. I am so glad you decided to venture onto the internet a year ago with your fresh, funny voice and bizarre past (um…professional ballroom dancer?).
    I don’t know what else in particular I want to know about you–I do wonder how you manage to keep up with blogs and comment as much as you do…do you have a superpowers you want to tell us about?

  10. Happy anniversary!! So I guess mine is right around now too….I’ll hafta go check.

  11. Happy anniversary!! So I guess mine is right around now too….I’ll hafta go check.


Leave a Reply

Categories

