Posted by: DD | August 15, 2006

no. 250 – Progress of Sorts

Well, alrighty then. Apparently you all know so much about me that you don’t want to take advantage of the one-time deal I was offering to ask me ANYTHING. YOU. WANTED. or maybe one year of blogging is no big deal in this day and age. It really doesn’t make me look forward to year number two…

I finally pulled Mr. DD into a brief discussion regarding the SCSA results, which I should clarify, were not promising. His 43% defragmentation (DFI) means our chance of conception naturally is "fair to poor". More specifically, they are poor. He wondered aloud if there was something he can do to improve the results, and there are…if he was a smoker or a drinker. One of the things we have considered that may be affecting the outcome is his 20 years’ exposure to the solvents and chemicals necessary in performing his job. This may seem like a no-brainer when one says "solvents and chemicals" but you have to take into consideration that they are required to work under certain safety conditions, including the use of respirators. But there are times I’ve seen him work without something as simple as a paper mask when sanding and painting "favors" out of our garage. Either way, I don’t believe another 90 days of complete health compliance is going to make much of a dent in the DFI.

The conversation was brief, to say the least. I didn’t want it to get heated or emotional. It was more of a "How was your day, and, oh, what did you see the results from SCSA?" He did ask how would we go about selecting a donor. I told him I really had no idea, and I have to say I felt optimistic that at least he asked about the process. It may have been nothing more than a casual interest, but the question was better than the alternative, which would have been terse instructions to forget about the whole thing.

Another teeny-tiny breakthrough regarding adoption was made last night. I would like to thank the show about Or*nge C*unty Ch*ppers as they were working on a bike for some fast-food’s dead founder’s adoption program. Yes, I will heed your warnings regarding programs such as that. I was just excited that he wondered what kind of kids there were, so he went to the website and we looked at some of the children. We oohed and aahed and made little comments about how much fun X would have with that little person or this sibling set, and to hear children screaming and laughing all day. But I was also a little weirded out by a related link on adoption that had "clearing house" tied to it. I knew they had clearing houses for shoes, linen, and tools, but not for babies.

So that’s how things are shaping up, or not, one year and one day later on my blog. Thanks to you who left well wishes on my anniversary post. *smooch*

Responses

  1. Okay, you reinforced how dumb I felt yesterday by not being able to think of a question. Of course, anything I could think of was bawdy/stupid for the sake of humor and not deserving of an answer.

    Sounds like you two are in a better place, on the same page even. Plodding along seems to be working.

    How do you like having grown up bedroom decor now?

  2. Well, it seems like it is going better…that’s all you guys need to keep doing. Talking about your options. Eventually what is right will hit ya in the face.

  3. I’m always late to the party. Happy blogiversary and one day!!

  4. I had to actually work yesterday, so happy anniversary! And my question is have you sold your house yet? MFH wants to move, and perhaps we could buy it and move there, wherever that is.

  5. OH oh and I missed your anniversary yesterday… Happy One Year! (Please continue for many many more!)

  6. I know nothing about donors or adoption (those are two options we haven’t even mentioned in passing, let alone discussed enough for me to really have solid informed opinions), and I don’t want to say anything stupid, so…

    Good luck with whatever you decide. It sounds like you’re making progress, and progress is always a wonderful thing. Wherever it takes you, it sounds like he’s really considering all the options.. and even in my ignorance, I recognize that’s not an easy thing to do.

  7. I think Mr. DD is getting there. I feel real optimistic and dare I say, excited?!
    Happy Blog Anniversary, belatedly.

  8. Dear DD, happy belated bloggiversary! I’m so sorry I’ve been absent — first I had that evil Flickr problem again (I couldn’t get into the comments page at all), and then I’ve been away on business. (I still am.)

    I think Mr DD is slowly coming around, which is great news… but, wow, clearing houses for babies? Uh… Is that alarming, or is it just me?


Leave a Reply

Posted by: DD | August 15, 2006

no. 250 – Progress of Sorts

Well, alrighty then. Apparently you all know so much about me that you don’t want to take advantage of the one-time deal I was offering to ask me ANYTHING. YOU. WANTED. or maybe one year of blogging is no big deal in this day and age. It really doesn’t make me look forward to year number two…

I finally pulled Mr. DD into a brief discussion regarding the SCSA results, which I should clarify, were not promising. His 43% defragmentation (DFI) means our chance of conception naturally is "fair to poor". More specifically, they are poor. He wondered aloud if there was something he can do to improve the results, and there are…if he was a smoker or a drinker. One of the things we have considered that may be affecting the outcome is his 20 years’ exposure to the solvents and chemicals necessary in performing his job. This may seem like a no-brainer when one says "solvents and chemicals" but you have to take into consideration that they are required to work under certain safety conditions, including the use of respirators. But there are times I’ve seen him work without something as simple as a paper mask when sanding and painting "favors" out of our garage. Either way, I don’t believe another 90 days of complete health compliance is going to make much of a dent in the DFI.

The conversation was brief, to say the least. I didn’t want it to get heated or emotional. It was more of a "How was your day, and, oh, what did you see the results from SCSA?" He did ask how would we go about selecting a donor. I told him I really had no idea, and I have to say I felt optimistic that at least he asked about the process. It may have been nothing more than a casual interest, but the question was better than the alternative, which would have been terse instructions to forget about the whole thing.

Another teeny-tiny breakthrough regarding adoption was made last night. I would like to thank the show about Or*nge C*unty Ch*ppers as they were working on a bike for some fast-food’s dead founder’s adoption program. Yes, I will heed your warnings regarding programs such as that. I was just excited that he wondered what kind of kids there were, so he went to the website and we looked at some of the children. We oohed and aahed and made little comments about how much fun X would have with that little person or this sibling set, and to hear children screaming and laughing all day. But I was also a little weirded out by a related link on adoption that had "clearing house" tied to it. I knew they had clearing houses for shoes, linen, and tools, but not for babies.

So that’s how things are shaping up, or not, one year and one day later on my blog. Thanks to you who left well wishes on my anniversary post. *smooch*


Responses

  1. Okay, you reinforced how dumb I felt yesterday by not being able to think of a question. Of course, anything I could think of was bawdy/stupid for the sake of humor and not deserving of an answer.

    Sounds like you two are in a better place, on the same page even. Plodding along seems to be working.

    How do you like having grown up bedroom decor now?

  2. I am with cricket… I wasn’t able to think of a question either! So sorry I will try to do better next time! LOL!

    Sounds like you are reviewing some other options, good luck with whatever path you choose.

    Take care

  3. When the time comes, I’ll probably adopt. I am not married, but after a doc confirmed what I had long suspected (difficult if not impossible to get pregnant) it kind of confirmed what I had always thought about doing. (Since at least high school, I’ve always said IF I have kids, I’ll adopt – there’s no need for me to have my own). BUT, I look at those websites and get so sad. How could I pick one over another, and really it makes me want to just take them all home.

  4. The fact that he got up and went and looked at a website says something – he’s thinking about things. It’s half the battle to get them thinking!

  5. Isn’t amusing how if we mention something, its a non-start onversation, but if its seen on a guys TV show, its totally acceptable. men…geesh! Seriously, its really cool to know the door’s cracked open, right?
    So, I’ll take the challenge of asking you something. I’ve been snooping around your Flickr pics (uber cool house BTW) and see none of you. Privacy? Do I dare ask to have a face put to the name? Am I over-stepping here? Because I completly get the annonymity thing.

  6. Doh! I missed the anniversary post…that’s what I get for not reading blogs every day anymore. Anyway, happy anniversary! I’ve enjoyed spending part of the past year with you and sharing our journeys. I know I’m late on the request, but I’d like to hear more about your days in dance. I’ve always loved to dance and, as you know, have flirted with the idea of taking up ballroom as a hobby. Here’s a question for you to answer: What did it feel like when the dancing was good? Who was your best dance partner, and why?

    As for all the sperm/adoption stuff, well, at least there is communication going on. That’s something, right?

  7. There are anti oxident vitamins that we were told help improve the DFI thing. My dh’s DFI was border line, 31.5%.

    I think it is called Fertile One. they are in the San Diego, CA area. I’m sure you can google them. Just something to think about. Our RE really pushed that on us, we orded them and the dh kept forgetting to take them. Then we decided to adopt.


Leave a Reply

Categories

