Posted by: DD | August 17, 2006

No. 254 – On Bended Knee

Apparently it’s not just the chemicals that are dangerous where my husband works. Shoestrings are, too.

"Shoestrings?" you ask.

Yep, shoestrings.

Especially when they catch on a large metal object that is laying on the floor and instead of reaching down to unsnag the silly things you start kicking and flailing your leg around in the hopes the shoestrings will let loose their death grip but instead because a lack of grace (and an unmistakable spare tire located around the center of gravity) makes you unstable in your size 12 1/2 shoe, for which only one is planted, the offending piece of metal sends you careening down and subsequently on top of said item which produces this:

(do not look if you are of the faint of heart…)

.

.

.

(final warning)

.

.

.

081706_knee

It took only seven stitches. Yes, the spot in the middle is indeed a chunk of meat officially gone from his knee. Oh, yeah. I should mention that that is his knee. My legs only look like that in the winter when I stop bothering to shave and am need of extra warmth.

Yet, somehow he has managed to make light of the whole matter. "It’s a good thing you aren’t ovulating!" hardeeharhar

Please don’t make me draw a picture here, people.

And I have to say I am absolutely flabbergasted and humbled beyond words with the number of requests I have had for the password EFFECTIVE MONDAY, AUGUST 28. Seriously, I am truly moved.

If you haven’t received the password yet (for those who have asked), don’t worry. I haven’t sent it out yet. I’m compiling your emails into a list and I will send the info via the list so everyone retains their privacy. Also, Cricket (formerly the artist Brilliant Bitch) came up with a wonderful suggestion: since bloglines does not recognize password protected sites, she recommended that I send out an email notification of when I update this blog. That’s another reason I’ve decided to create this list. Is everyone who has requested the password OK with this? I guess if I move forward with the process and you don’t want to receive the emails, just let me know and I’ll remove you from that list. No harm, no foul.

And for those who haven’t requested a password, you still have a week to decide.

Responses

  1. OOOOWWWWWWWWWEEEEEEEE!!!
    Ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch ouch.

    I am faint of heart and I STILL looked. Poor, dear husband.

  2. OUCH!!!! Sorry MrDD. Have you had to wait on him hand and foot? 🙂

  3. Since you’re not ovulating, he’ll probably prefer you wait on him hands and knees. Oh my wit just kills me sometimes.
    God damn that looks painful.

  4. oooo, poor Mr. DD. but I gues he will survive :), even if he might feel that he won’t right now…

    Well, at least he was thinking of this month reproductive outcomes, which is GOOD…and a bit of irony never hurts…but the knee does I suppose.

    I’ll drop you an e-mail now to get the password!!!

    Hugs!

    /N

  5. Bloody hell that looks awful! I think it’s probably going to hurt for a few days…. yuck.

    GREAT idea with the email notification. I worried about that now that I’m a bloglines junkie. I don’t often remember to check the pw protected blogs.

  6. AAUUGGHH!

    Get that man some Bactine!

  7. Why the hell won’t comments remember my information????? Oh Mr.DD, I am sorry about your knee. Working around cars is dangerous, indeed. Take care of that nasty cut! And, count me in for the password, please.

  8. Ouch!!!

    Please include me on your password list too please!

    Take care and hope the hubby heals quickly!

  9. First of all can I please have the password?

    Secondly, good God! That looks heinous.

  10. Oh please – does he really believe a little scratch like that would get him out of ovulation-day duties?? Men are such wimps.

    (ok yeah it looks really painful, poor guy – hope he’s better soon!)

  11. Okay OW… seriously ouch. Sounds like something my husband would do. Glad he’s on the well proverbial road to recovery. He did update his tetanus right? As for getting out of ovulation duties… tell him it was worth a shot, but no deal.

  12. Okay, I couldn’t even read the middle portion of your post – if the picture was in my line of vision, I had to scroll away. I’m a wimp like that. Man that looks nasty! Poor guY!

  13. Why did I look? Oh why, why??

  14. Ummm…eww..

    Yeah… really, yuck. I think if Jake had done that to his knee instead of the nail through the finger I may have had to baby him a little more!! 🙂


Leave a Reply

Posted by: DD | August 17, 2006

No. 254 – On Bended Knee

Apparently it’s not just the chemicals that are dangerous where my husband works. Shoestrings are, too.

"Shoestrings?" you ask.

Yep, shoestrings.

Especially when they catch on a large metal object that is laying on the floor and instead of reaching down to unsnag the silly things you start kicking and flailing your leg around in the hopes the shoestrings will let loose their death grip but instead because a lack of grace (and an unmistakable spare tire located around the center of gravity) makes you unstable in your size 12 1/2 shoe, for which only one is planted, the offending piece of metal sends you careening down and subsequently on top of said item which produces this:

(do not look if you are of the faint of heart…)

.

.

.

(final warning)

.

.

.

081706_knee

It took only seven stitches. Yes, the spot in the middle is indeed a chunk of meat officially gone from his knee. Oh, yeah. I should mention that that is his knee. My legs only look like that in the winter when I stop bothering to shave and am need of extra warmth.

Yet, somehow he has managed to make light of the whole matter. "It’s a good thing you aren’t ovulating!" hardeeharhar

Please don’t make me draw a picture here, people.

And I have to say I am absolutely flabbergasted and humbled beyond words with the number of requests I have had for the password EFFECTIVE MONDAY, AUGUST 28. Seriously, I am truly moved.

If you haven’t received the password yet (for those who have asked), don’t worry. I haven’t sent it out yet. I’m compiling your emails into a list and I will send the info via the list so everyone retains their privacy. Also, Cricket (formerly the artist Brilliant Bitch) came up with a wonderful suggestion: since bloglines does not recognize password protected sites, she recommended that I send out an email notification of when I update this blog. That’s another reason I’ve decided to create this list. Is everyone who has requested the password OK with this? I guess if I move forward with the process and you don’t want to receive the emails, just let me know and I’ll remove you from that list. No harm, no foul.

And for those who haven’t requested a password, you still have a week to decide.


Responses

  1. It looks like he had major knee surgery. It also looks kind of like my left knee – mine was 6 stitches after I took a knee at the bottom of an escalator. Mine bears the marks of the 3 pronged ends of the escalator step. I shudder to think of the amount of goo on those steps.

    It was very challanging trying to keep it straight so it wouldn’t heal puckery. Good luck to him. I was only so successful. The irony is that mine looks like a clove/fancy cross. On my atheist knee. If all else fails, it should get me into heaven. And Mr DD will make it just with his comment about your ovulation.

    Size 12.5 – I’ll let that puppy lie.

    I don’t remember being called a Brilliant Bitch before, but I’ll take it. Fuck Bloglines. We’s got DDlines a comin’.

  2. Yowzah, that looks P.ainful. Think he learned his lesson? I love that ovulation comment. Too funny.

    Please add me to your list to get the password!!! And I think the email notification is a good idea too 🙂

  3. That looks painful.

    Funnily enough I had a similar picture some days ago. Also the knee but from my 8 year old son.

    What is it with these men?

  4. First… OW.

    Second… brilliant idea WRT the e-mails when you post. I would appreciate that. 🙂

  5. I’m sssooo faint at heart, but its like a car wreck: you know you don’t wanna see it, but you can’t help but to slow down & look. UGH!!! Did them give Mr DD some good scripts for pain? Or you for dealing with his pain?
    Oh, yes! The e-mailing is a great idea, even tho’ I don’t use bloglines. Like our TTC attempts, I do this the “old fashioned way”…

  6. Why the hell won’t comments remember my information????? Oh Mr.DD, I am sorry about your knee. Working around cars is dangerous, indeed. Take care of that nasty cut! And, count me in for the password, please.

  7. Ouch!!!

    Please include me on your password list too please!

    Take care and hope the hubby heals quickly!

  8. First of all can I please have the password?

    Secondly, good God! That looks heinous.

  9. You mean I actually have to ask for the password? Okay, consider it done (and hopefully I’ve actually entered the correct e-mail this time).
    Did you have to listen to Mr. DD bragging about his assault on the offending metal? “I might look bad, but you should see what I did to that metal”. Maybe it’s just my husband I would expect that from.
    DinoD

  10. Okay OW… seriously ouch. Sounds like something my husband would do. Glad he’s on the well proverbial road to recovery. He did update his tetanus right? As for getting out of ovulation duties… tell him it was worth a shot, but no deal.

  11. I’d really like a password, but I’ve been hesitant to ask because I mostly lurk. So…ummm..if you’re okay with that, then I’d love one. 🙂

  12. EWWWW!!!
    I want a password, please!

  13. Holy cow! Yet sadly, that’s something I would totally do. Of course I fall over just standing sometimes so… 🙂 I would like your password too, if you don’t mind.


Leave a Reply

Categories

