Posted by: DD | August 28, 2006

no. 261 – Oh, How I Missed This Part of Treatment!

(You do all realize that even though I have your email addresses, I am not keeping track of who comes here; who comments; and who doesn’t – right? So please don’t feel some weird obligation that since I gave you the password that you have to perform some fantastic "you do  me, I’ll do you" favor. It’s business as usual…mmkay?)

You know, I really should know better than to get all optimistic and pumped up about this DI business. For that matter, about ART in general. How many times do I need to be smacked on the head with a rolled-up newspaper like a pissing puppy before I figure out that for every moment of excitement and anticipation I have, there are about a dozen of dreaded lows and general bummed out feelings?

I’m talking about my lab results, which I just received the call for. Last July, when I had my very first CD3 bloodwork, my follicle stimulating hormone (FSH) was 9.6 (fair) and my estrodial (E2) was 23.9 (good). Here it is a good 13 1/2 months later and my FSH is up to 10.3 (blech) and my E2 is 43. What sucks about the FSH is that is was "only" 9.7 in February. I like this site for its easy to read chart on cycle hormone levels.

OK. I know that 10.3 isn’t the end of the world, but this really puts the fire under my ass that it’s got to be now or never for us. Plus, I keep remembering this post by Beth. I think she said it very eloquently ("Fuck FSH") and I will try to keep the same attitude. Plus, look where it got her: all knocked up (with no place to go with all that retching – sorry, Beth). With us opting to go with IUI instead of IVF, I’m not too concerned with numbers, but two or three healthy, mature follicles when we start this whole business would be rather nice.

And before anyone asks, we are doing IUI instead of IVF for one huge reason: the dollars, baby, the dollars. Yes, my desire to have another baby does indeed have a price limit. As the commercial says, "There are some things money can’t buy." One of those is a guarantee for a healthy pregnancy, so we are gambling with IUI, and hoping to keep our losses to a minimum. It’s bad enough that I was completely humiliated when I attempted to buy lunch for Suzanne and all my credit cards were left at home in an attempt to curb our spending (I am so going to make it up to you, Suzanne!), but we don’t want to have to consider renting out the new house to cover our asses. Although we could lease out the other house which probably won’t sell in this lovely market, especially with the press getting everyone freaked out about it. Assholes. Can’t they shoot a story about how there just aren’t any houses for sale and reverse the trend? Oh, no. They’ve got to keep it "real". How ’bout a real size 7 shoe placed squarely up your ass, Mr. Sensationalismreporter?

Responses

  1. Yep, money is a big damn deal. I hate to admit it, but it is one reason MFH is dragging his feet about adopting again. I can’t blame him, really. It is expensive. It’s not ALL about the money, but it has to be somewhat about the money. We need to be responsible.

  2. Money. I hate it and ignore it to my detriment. Poor is chic and I am ever chic.

    I think the deciding about the donor will be difficult. I can’t wait to hear you talk about that.

    And I am so proud it your husband, it makes my heart full.

  3. I really don’t think you should be overly concerned about your FSH. The difference between 10.3 and 9.6 is quite negligible. I tried looking around to see if I could find out what the accuracy of the FSH blood test is, but couldn’t find anything. But, in general the accuracy of most clinical diagnostics is only +/- 10%. So if the same blood sample were measured a bunch of different times, you’d get a range of values. Which would likely include both 9.6 and 10.3. Now if it had gone up by 50%, that might be more troubling. But it didn’t. I think you’re good to go!

  4. Man, I am so freaking excited for you. and nervous for you.

    And you know…I kinda feel like a member of a secret club having the password. Hee. I’m such a dork.

  5. fuck the FSH, the margin of error probably has something to do with that idiot receptionist. Don’t worry about lunch, I need the good karma points!

  6. I feel you on the housing market. Hang in there, it’s going to turn back around.

    As for the FSH I know this is a dumb question but are you testing on the same day of your cycle each time? I wonder what the difference is from day to day? The number seems pretty negligable all in all. I’m with the “Fuck the FSH” crowd on this one.

  7. I know that financial burn that comes with all this ART “fun.” As for the FSH, don’t sweat it. If it comes back at 238746238742 well ya might have a bit of an issue. ;o)

  8. FUCK the FSH! You’re still in the game, and that’s what matters. Everybody needs to just CALM DOWN about this housing crap…My parents keep telling us we should sell our house, bank the equity and rent while we wait for “the big crash”. WTF?! I think they are all just doomsayers.

  9. The amount of $$$ it takes to do this baby making stuff seems sometimes to be the taboo subject in TTC circles. I felt I was breaking a rule when talking about it, but I feel refreshed reading your honest post about it too.

    Our house is for sale, and I’m as freaked as you. Also considering that our whole FREAKING business is HOME CONSTRUCTION, I’m not feeling so perky. I am totally with you on how the press is covering the market situation… They make it worse.

    I’m going to also jump on the fuck the fsh bandwagon!!

  10. I am going to try to do my last IVF without getting the stupid FSH measured (I just don’t need to know the exact misearable state of my plumbing). Mine last year was only “fair”, too, blech. But I know enough women with even higher FSH who somehow still pop out the babes. So, I think, you’re good to go (plus, FSH vary, so next time it could be under 10 again, anyway).

  11. Hey, don’t forget Deme. http://demetershope.blogspot.com/
    Her FSH was even higher than yours and …waalah!
    Will you be using stimming drugs as well or do you know yet?
    I think that since so much testing and then subsequent washing of the sample is done to ensure high quality swimmers that IUI is actually a great choice. Your tubes are open, you have the eggs, when the swimmers get there they won’t be able to help themselves but to charge that beautiful egg and make X a big brother.

  12. I’m glad you’re doing IUI instead of IVF. That way you have a much better chance of having a normal, healthy baby. You see, the IVF doctors never tell you about the increased risks for congenital heart problems and other birth defects associated with IVF because it means more money in their pocket. My sis-in-law had twins with IVF. One of the babies had a congenital heart problem and had to have open heart surgery within minutes of being born. After 3 months and 3 more surgeries, he didn’t make it. They later found out that this kind of birth defect is quite common with IVF.

  13. Dear DD, I’m only now back and reading your new posts. Wow, what news! So glad you and Mr. DD are on the same page now. I wish you all the best of luck for this path…

    And fuck FSH indeed. (If you need more evidence, I can tell you that Aliza at Babyfruit conceived her daughter right after getting a reading of 22.5.) Besides, the levels do fluctuate a bit month by month, so I don’t think you have anything at all to worry about.

  14. I’m so excited for you!!!!!!

    If you were my pissing puppy I would NEVER hit you over the head with the paper. I’d just yell really loud, jump up and down, and maybe cry if it was a bad day.

    Stacy has scared the shit out of me in regards to IVF.

    Dramalish of Babyquest conceived and birthed beautiful Daisy doing IUI with donated sperm. Dollars make all the difference sometimes — I totally understand. I hope so much for you…

  15. Wishing you lots of luck and adding my “screw the FSH” to the group consensus.

    I’ll keep my comment short today, I can’t seem to think straight.


Leave a Reply

Categories

