Posted by: DD | October 31, 2006

no. 307 – Why Men Never Read the Instructions

Last night as I was getting ready for bed, I told Mr. DD, who was staying up to watch TV, that when the dryer was done to make sure he takes the Halloween shirt that I had washed for X and hang it up so it will be ready for today.

At 6:30 (after X had woke me up at 6:00 a.m. as a nod to how fucked up Daylight Savings Time is because NOTHING interferes with his internal clock), I dragged my butt out of bed and headed to the laundry room to make sure the shirt was hung up. Amazingly, it was.

But, BUT! Guess what he did with the other clothes that were in the dryer with the shirt? He either draped them over the dryer door and laid them in the laundry basket even though they are all pieces that get hung up.

It took every ounce of my being not to go back into the bedroom and dump a glass of cold water on him and demand an explanation for this moment of complete nonsense.

Then I remembered.

He’s a man.

Responses

  1. GRRRR! MEN!!!!

  2. I swear!

  3. OK – confession: the roles are a little reversed at our house and laundry is not my “duty”, BUT if I was asked to do something like this I certainly would hang up all the clothes. ARGHHHH……

  4. I know it’s cliche to bash, but seriously, if I didn’t give complete, detailed step by step instructions, the same thing would happen in my house.
    It makes me tired.

  5. You have great self control, my friend!

  6. Oh, you are a brave woman. MFH calls the washing machine “the incredible shrinking machine”. He’s not allowed near either machine, with good reason.

  7. I cannot tell you how many times I’ve cursed my “idiot” of a husband for doing the same type of things. Men are so clueless!

  8. At least he got the shirt hung up! 🙂
    That’s got to be good for something.

  9. I can’t even tell you how many “discussions” we’ve had about laundry!

  10. I’m impressed that he remembered to take the shirt out…and hang it up. In our house, it wouldn’t have gotten done and then there would have been a huge debate of whether or not I actually asked him to do it. He’d swear up and down I never asked. You’re at least half way there DD.

  11. Ok- I do the laundry- but I have to confess that in this department I can’t complain about my boyfriend. He loves clothes as much as (if not more than) me- and he will go to extremes (EXTREMES!) to follow the washing and drying directions lol.

  12. My man left a load in the wash nearly a week ago. Then asked me if he needed to be rewashed.

    I had noooooo idea it was in there so yup. And I suggested perhaps he could follow it through to the dryer.

    Hope X has a great time and looks adorable in his shirt. I’m sure he will.

  13. Its the “PF”. Penis Factor. It alters the brain signals. I swear.
    Just like I have been found guilty of runnig around our house screaming “MILDEW!!!” at my poor hub, I am also guilty of screaming “P-f’ing-F!!!” You should give it a try. Its totally cheap therapy.

  14. LOL. At least X had his Halloween shirt all ready. I won’t let my husband near the laundry. Ever.


Leave a Reply

Categories

