Posted by: DD | December 13, 2006

no. 338 – My aHA! Moment

Since I had an "extra" BlogSpot account that was linked to my TKO profile, I decided to use that as my experiment. There are no posts tied to it. It was created when I moved to typepad as a way of linking everyone to the new site and not my Knocked Up…Then Knocked Down place.

I took that and turned to the dark beta side of Blogger. I had to do a little song and dance because it wanted me to use my Google email account, but it let me go ahead with my yahoo one instead.

THEN . . . and only then, was I finally able to leave a comment with someone who has beta Blogger. They make you sign in with your email address, not your display name (which you set up in the afore mentioned hoops). So make sure if you do this that you are positive what you want your display name to look like ’cause that’s it.

So if you don’t want to change over to the beta, but the only thing you have is your original Blogger site, you might want to create a "dummy" account so you can start posting comments again. This must be Blogger’s way of forcing everyone’s hand since the beta has pretty much sucked from the moment it was released and those who weren’t sucked into it originally is now being blown.

. . . no offense to any of you who may absolutely L.O.V.E. the beta product.

Responses

  1. I wouldn’t exactly call it L.O.V.E. It’s more of a love/hate relationship. Glad that you figured it out. Upgrades are a total pain in the ass.

  2. THANK YOU!!! This has been driving me NUTS.

  3. I agree w/PP – I don’t love it. My hand was forced when Blogger made me change to beta.
    Have I mentioned that I dislike anything with “beta” attached?!

  4. YES, BETA SUCKS> I sent them a very long “venting” e-mail that listed out all my issues worth their shitty product.

    I did figure out how to sing in now without loosing my message and at time you have to do it first – before you comment becasue other wise you will loose everything as it redirects you.

    That does not seem to be your problem though.

  5. I have since refused to switched to beta, but it is like ezpass in NJ, they pretty much force you to get it.

  6. I haven’t switched to beta yet, but I suppose I, too, will have to succumb. I hate it when people tell me what to do!

  7. I’ve stubbornly refused to change to beta, and right this minute I don’t have the energy to do anything about it even if I wanted to, but this sure explains my recent problems. I can’t seem to comment anywhere and I am too tired in general so I just give up.

    Anyway, I figure when my energy returns to “normal” I am switching to another site altogether. Maybe a whole new blog look for 2007.


Leave a Reply

Categories

