Posted by: DD | February 26, 2007

no. 389 – Vacation

I’m back from my vacation. It seems like I’ve been gone forever when really it’s only been two "blogging days" since hardly anyone writes on the weekend. I had the computer turned on and was into my email account within minutes of squeezing my little man who completely ignored me, so engrossed in his game boy was he. I worried that he didn’t even notice we were gone until at bedtime he confessed to missing us (collective AAaaaaah).

I don’t really feel into blogging about the trip because of some of the things I read. Somehow I perused 300 new posts (keeping in mind that when you switch to beta blogger, they update the last 25 posts as new, and there were a couple of you that were on that list). Of course there was the kind of news that makes me ache in envy: positive betas, heartbeats, births; but one particular announcement caused me to sob: her latest ultrasound showed heart defects which are probably going to be insurmountable. I won’t link to her out of respect for her wishes, plus her comments have been shut off in light of the news. I haven’t been able to stop thinking of her.

So, forgive me if my post sounds drier than usual. It’s more of a "Dear Mom & Dad, Today at band camp, I did______ with the camp counselor."

Our vacation started on Thursday and ended Sunday, however we only had two days of real vacation time. A drive to the mountains of Colorado from Bumfuck entails one full day’s drive. Why drive? If we were to fly, it would be a 2 1/2 hr drive to the airport, the 1 hr screening and forced purchase of overpriced muffins, the 1 1/2 hr flight, another hour waiting for luggage and rental car and another hour drive to our final destination. Basically a whole hour would be saved in flying over driving. Not really worth the extra expense, even if it does come with a free feeling-up by a busty security guard named Ingrid.

Friday, I convinced a very unmotivated Mr. DD to go with another couple to rent some snowmobiles for an unguided tour. We toyed with the idea of a four hour rental, but settled on just two.

Thank god!

Now I had a great time sledding, but snowmobiling in 5 degree F weather, on trails resembling the moguls, high above the tree-line, is not what I would call TB Friendly. The "TB"? Tiny Bladder, my friends, Tiny Bladder.

But the views were spectacular. At one point, the snow started coming down in big, fat flakes and despite the roar of the sleds, it was incredibly peaceful.

Friday ended on a high note as well as I drank something called Raspberry Blast martinis(raspberry vodka, chambord and lemon juice) and when all was said and done (i.e. two hours later), I basically consumed 8 shots of liquor since martini is just a fancy word for multiple-straight-alcohol-shots.

I was drunk enough to be quite giddy, but not enough to make me want to vomit (unlike one of our group’s fellow vacationer). Better yet, no hangover – vodka, I loo-ove you so…

It was confirmed that of the two types of drunks out there – happy drunk and mean drunk – that I am of the former. Admittedly, I haven’t been drunk in a very, very long time. It felt damn good. Finally something most of you pregnant ladies can envy me for.

As for the rest of the weekend? It was pretty much spent decompressing and thinking about treatments, or if there will be treatments; blogging, or if there will be blogging; and generally similar depressing thoughts.

And for those of you who are under the impression that Nebraska is exceedingly dull to drive across (yeah, Statia, I’m talking to you), you must be thinking of eastern Colorado, the stretch between Denver and North Platte. Let’s just say, after looking at miles and miles AND miles (183.99 to be exact) of ranch land fit only for pronghorn sheep, a wind-farm, and two, count them – TWO – correctional facilities, one could get confused thinking only Nebraska could possibly suck that much. No, no. Not true.

In fact, just a few miles before crossing back into Nebraska, I noticed a small cemetery just off the side of the road. I could only conclude that is where the buried the poor bastards who died of boredom driving east on Interstate 76 out of Denver before they could make it across the state line.

Responses

  1. Glad you are back and that you had fun. I can’t stop thinking about our friend with the bad news either. I still tear up thinking about what she must be going through. Thanks for putting it out here so other can at least send good thoughts into cyberspace for her.
    Can’t wait to mix up those martinis this summer, you know, when you come visit me. 😉

  2. Eastern Colorado, most of Nebraska, most of Kansas, Iowa, and part of Minnesota ALL look like that. And don’t even get me started on South Dakota, where the ONLY thing to break the monotony is Wall Drug signs. At least in the winter on the drive between Omaha and Denver, there are usually TONS of birds to see. But, you know, that’s interesting for about 7.3 seconds. And I might be overestimating that by like…7.2 seconds.

  3. You remind me that I am a city-ish girl on purpose.

    It definitely sounds like you recharged. V is for Very Vodka Vacation and a happy drunk.

    Thanks for your comment at my place today. It’s too easy to be gobsmacked.

  4. I’m glad you’re back! No, snowmobiles are definitely not tiny bladder approved.

    I’m going to have to get me one of those martinis you were talking about. They sound like a delicious excuse to get buzzed.

  5. Haha. Now to be fair, we were only on I80, which I’m sure anyone will agree, is probably the single most boring highway across the entire country.

  6. Sounds like a pretty good trip despite all that time in the car.

    Eastern Colorado, most of western Kansas and Nebraska… all I remember about them is flat and BROWN.

    I grew up in Iowa… and it’s not quite as bad- a few rolling hills and a little bit more variety, but not much compared to other places we’ve lived.

  7. OH MY GOSH! You crack me up!

    I would agree with your assessment, but I saw the most beautiful sunset I have ever seen in my life…in Nebraska.

  8. The TB thing made me laugh. I once asked an U/S tech if my bladder looked normal and she looked at me funny (since I was not there for bladder issues) and I explained how I wondered if it was extra small because no one seems to need to pee as often as me, no matter what company I’m keeping. She assured me mine had a normal capacity, so it’s still a mystery to me.

    Glad I’m not alone.

  9. “…blogging, or if there will be blogging.”

    IF there will be blogging???

    OK, like I should talk. But seriously, I’d miss you too much. You make me laugh (with you, not at you.) Don’t take that away. It’s all about me, of course.

  10. Oh honey, you are funny today. I’d think the free feel-up by Ingrid would be about the only thing making it WORTH flying these days. I hate to fly. But hey, for the free feel-up? I might consider it.
    Glad you had a nice break. I’m gonna have to try that drink soon. Sounds nummy.

  11. I wish I could have been there drinking with you! I’m glad that you had a good time and that X missed you (but wasn’t too dramatic about it).

    I’m sorry to hear about your friend’s bad news. I will pray for her and her family. Just when you think that life can’t be less fair…

  12. I too can’t seem to keep our friend out of my mind… I sent Ernie pictures in the hopes that I could maybe give her a chuckle…

    As for you- I am very jealous of the raspberry martini’s… they sound similar to a french kamikazee which if you get the opportunity have one they are yummy. Actually anything with chambord is fabulous!

    As for blogging – there better be blogging… no matter what you decide about everything else that better stay – just uhm putting my vote in okay?

  13. I’m glad you posted the link for pronghorn sheep, which we call antelope. They are handsome critters.

    Remember my post from last summer regarding Raspberry gimlets and losing my supper? Yep, they are delish but I still managed a hangover. There must have been something in there along with the vodka.

    In a previous life (i.e. ex-husband era) I snowmobiled a lot, meaning every weekend. I loved it and it was the one thing that I truly excelled at, so much so that I rode everywhere with the men. MFH and I enjoyed riding too, not quite every weekend, and sold our machines a few years ago. I miss it still, until I hear of an avalanche taking a snowmobiler’s life. Then, I am thankful we gave it up.

  14. Nice assesment of the Eastern CO drive! I couldn’t agree more! Although, I’ve driven Hwy 77 South through Kansas and it could make you reconsider.

  15. Well, Hi! I missed you.

    Glad to hear that you were able to let your hair down & have a little drunken fun.


Leave a Reply

Categories

