Posted by: DD | March 9, 2007

no. 398 – Blogging Confessions

  1. I spend a good majority of my day drafting posts. All in my head. Rarely do most of my thoughts end up here.
  2. I take a lack of comments to a post personally.
  3. I worry that many of you think I’m 5 minutes away from a padded room and a long, long-sleeved jacket.
  4. The best compliment I get is when you reply to a comment I left on your blog.
  5. I worry about offending someone with my comments.
  6. I love polls for their anonymity.
  7. One of the smartest blog decisions I made was taking up the boxing babies as my icon.
  8. I miss a lot of the commenters that were regulars when I started blogging, that now no longer comment. In most cases, I have no idea why and wish they had told me what I had done to drive them away.
  9. I hate the term "blogger". It sounds like something stuck in a toilet or the back of my throat. They combined web-log into "blog", why not web-writer into "brighter"?
  10. When I have sad posts, every comment makes me cry because you care.
Responses

  1. I love the boxing babies! It’s what drew me to your site in the beginning.
    I stick around because you let me. 🙂

  2. DD,
    It’s all a matter of perspective. I am so envious of the numbers of comments you get, yet I am so grateful that you are one of my two or three regular commenters. It means a lot.

    I hope you feel all rich and sassy with the closing and have a great, relaxing weekend. Sincerely.

  3. Hope you know I love ya!

  4. Wait a minute – I thought you were already in the padded room and that’s where you were blogging from! No?

    I’m with you on #2, but on #4 I’m afraid you’ll think I’m stalking you if I email. I AM stalking you – I just don’t want you to think that I am.

    Seriously, though: DD, I love to read your stuff. Please don’t ever, ever go away.

  5. Of course I love your witty-ness! 😛

  6. I am very bad becasue I never – or almost never – reply to comments that people leave me, even though I often think of replies and have conversations with you all in my head. I will now make much more effort to reply etc., i can quite see it’s a great thing to do.

    I love the boxing babies, too.

  7. I, too, am a slacker comment replier. SOmetimes I do respond in the comments myself, others i do email the person, but I will try to be better about it. I will also try to be better about commenting in general. Forgive my suckage and keep on bloggin’!

  8. I, too, am a slacker comment replier. SOmetimes I do respond in the comments myself, others i do email the person, but I will try to be better about it. I will also try to be better about commenting in general. Forgive my suckage and keep on bloggin’!

  9. I, too, am a slacker comment replier. SOmetimes I do respond in the comments myself, others i do email the person, but I will try to be better about it. I will also try to be better about commenting in general. Forgive my suckage and keep on bloggin’!

  10. I, too, am a slacker comment replier. SOmetimes I do respond in the comments myself, others i do email the person, but I will try to be better about it. I will also try to be better about commenting in general. Forgive my suckage and keep on bloggin’!

  11. I’m right there with Cricket. You are one of the regulars on my site and I always look forward to hearing what you have to say.

    You’re important to me!

  12. I’m not trying to get anyone to change who they are or what they are doing. I just wanted you to know how special it makes me feel when you reply to a comment. I had to make a brain dump, and this post was the outcome, so please, don’t anyone take any of these points as “hints”. You’re all perfectly different. Perfectly.

  13. Oh DD, how I love thee, let me count thy ways. But I do obsess when I prematurely blogulate, thankyouverymuch, and have to go back & re-post bc I screwed up the writing. Me? Paranoid? Nah.

  14. You didn’t scare ME away. I still read you religiously, I just don’t post. Mostly because my 2 year old will rarely let me type on the computer without ‘helping’!! I will try to post more often!! I have also been out of the IF loop, trying to stay out actually while I wait out my 3 months until I cycle again!
    Hope the closing went well.
    Karen

  15. Oooh! Ohhh, look!

    I am replying to a comment you left on my blog!

    And I LURVE the boxing babies

    🙂

  16. clearly it’s time for me to stop lurking and COMMENT!
    you cracked me up…thanks!
    peace
    shlomit

  17. I barely had enough energy to open this window and type tonight but I appreciated your comment earlier and I just want you to leave room in the padded cell for me. Oh, wait, you’re NOT moments away. I guess I got you beat in something! By the way-I didn’t know you’d sold the other house. That’s fantastic/shitty news.

  18. Now go say three hail mary’s! (just kidding, that just happens to be how I imagine confessions work.)

    I’m also worried about making you cry. I hate that so many of us are in so much pain, even if it’s “only” some of the time.

    And lastly, you can make room for me in that padded cell too!

  19. I’m here! I’m here! I may not always comment but I enjoy what you write and I read every single one of your posts.

  20. I’m leaving P in time-out for longer just to comment (trust me, he deserves it). I’m slack about commenting lately, and I have no idea why it has happened. But since I also take a lack of comments personally, I suppose that I’d pick up the pace a little more! I love reading your posts.

  21. DD –
    I wish you wouldn’t take the lack of comments personally. Here’s just one reason why – I almost always read. I don’t always comment. Sometimes what you write makes me think something that I can’t share, but I’m reading. You know?

    OTJ

  22. you know the reason why I can’t comment all the time? padded cell is all I say…Seriously though, I love reading your entries even if I don’t always comment.

  23. I really love this post. Funny thing is I understand every one of them! #8 I get although I know some of those people still read me but they are busy reading 200 more blogs they picked up, haha.

    Replying to comments is hard with Blogger I find, much easier with typepad or wordpress. I wish Blogger would fix that, grr.

    And honey if you’re in a padded room, then so am I, *eyeroll*.

    Best new name btw, web-writer = brighter. I am no longer a blogger, dammit, I’m a brighter!

  24. Except for #7 (because I’ve never found anything nearly as cool as those boxing babies) I could have written this post. Well, not really because you’re much funnier but all the rest apply and such.

  25. Confession received and duly appreciated. Go say two Hail Marys and two Our Fathers. Your sins are forgiven! Don’t forget to lift the Two Ladies of Our Margarita while you’re at it.

  26. wow, sorry to not have posted recently. just been too tired, but I do enjoy your blogger abilities!

    🙂

  27. Oh sweetie, eat something yummy and give yourself a hug! People don’t comment, well, I don’t comment, because they feel like you won’t like *them*. Just invite comments alot. Of course I’m afraid of comments on my blog: I’m afraid I’ll get criticised!

  28. Dear DD, have I told you lately that I love you?

  29. #8 for me too, definitely. I tried very hard not to let it get to me, and not take it personally, but I did wonder.

    xoxoxoxox
    N.

  30. I always wonder if you are the hitter baby or the hit-ee.

  31. I am always sad when I don’t get comments. It’s so anticlimatic. I think that I am just not a good writer. I also don’t have many people that read me. And really, my blog is just my place to get things out, but I find it difficult to do that because I usually want to complain or be angry and a lot of the gals who read me are going through happy times in their life. So I almost don’t want to bring them down with the crappy stuff going on with me. So am I selfish, or considerate?

  32. I love reading your thoughts. Sometimes, I just don’t know “how” to reply. I love the fact that you ALWAYS email me with a reply after I comment on yours. Sorry I don’t always reciprocate. I suck that way.

    So glad you found a purse!! I was looking for one for you while wasting 3 hours at the mall last week. (I found a dress, by the way! Love the DressBarn!)

  33. I love your boxing babies, too!


Leave a Reply

Categories

