Posted by: DD | March 11, 2007

no. 399 – Anda 1, Anda 2, Anda 3…

It never seems to fail that a good purge makes things look just a little better (unless it’s one of those purges that follow scarfing down a whole pizza).

For all the doors that we have closed, and even the ones yet to follow, I have found myself making tentative steps towards the doors yet to be explored. Coincidently enough, CD1 was yesterday. Except it’s not CD1. It’s the beginning of my period (goofy side note: I never really understood that the first day of my period was the first day of my cycle. A period comes at the end so it took me forever to understand that concept. As a "brighter", I would recommend "Period" be changed to "Capital".).

After 9 months of having a "country home" and our "town home", we are a one-home family, complete with one-home expenses. Mr. DD’s relief is palatable. I do have to go back to the other house and dig up a peony – per our selling agreement – my mother gave me. It sounds silly to many, but my mother gave me this flower on my birthday after I mentioned how I wanted one.

NewbagI found a purse! Yippee! I’m sure that was keeping you all up at night.

I’ll be signing up for some classes at the Y. My weight finally tipped that mark I swore I would never let it go to. Did you know that "good genetics" actually have an expiration? No one told me, either. So after cruising through my 20’s and most of my 30’s without intentionally exercising, my genes turned. On the bright side, the lumps on my ass are not green and fuzzy, much like the mysterious item in the back of my fridge.

After much consideration, I have decided to go all out for my 40th Birthday in July. Yes, I will be planning my own bash. I love my husband very much, but we both know that the only one who’ll get he ball rolling is me. I’m even thinking of sending out "Save The Date" magnets.

Oh, yeah. It’s going to be B.I.G.  Okay, it may just end up being lots of cake, booze and fireworks since my birthday is Independence Day weekend.

Now for the big news: there will be no more treatments…for now (don’t let that stop you from voting on the poll =====>). I’ve decided that I don’t want to go on my beach vacation either on the let down of yet another failed cycle or waiting for another miscarriage. I don’t want to celebrate my birthday with the same possibilities. We have even agreed that we won’t even be "trying". No monitors, no pee sticks, no temping. Nothing. We are going with the concept that sex will be SEX. And what will that be like, you ask? You’ll have to find out through other means, because I don’t kiss and tell. Or whatever.

But here’s the cliff hanger: who remembers my brief mention of embryo adoption? Well, I never submitted the app fee or completed the bio. It looks like we will do at least that much now. Who knows what later?

Responses

  1. Good grief, so much news, I can’t keep up. Must take time to digest.

    Well, must also lobby to be on the guest list for this summer!

  2. Can I come to your party??
    I’ll be your best friend…..

  3. I’ve never really been able to get back into the sex will just be sex thing.

    I know you don’t kiss and tell and all, but drop a few hints someday please. What’s it like?

  4. I love a nice birthday bash. It sounds fabulous!

  5. The birthday bash sounds inspired, what a fab idea, I want pictures, obviously!

    And all I can say about the other astounding news is that it too sounds like a fantastic plan that I really hope ends well 🙂

    Oh and enjoy the sex just for SEX 😉

  6. I want to come to the party too! Shame I live so far away!! Have sex just for the sex sounds like a great plan, giving your heart a break for a while might be just what you need.

  7. I had forgotten how much fun it can be to have sex just for the sake of having sex! See, another thing to add to my list of reasons I love my birth control pills (and I’ll write that post tonight).

    I’m in awe of how much you’ve been doing!

  8. Sex. Just. For. Sex? What a concept! After sex on a schedule it was a very long time before either of us was interested in it for fun.

    By the way…LOVE the purse. I am not into fashion or shoes but I am certainly a purse whore. When I go to NYC I almost jump those innocent men with trash bags full of honestly aquired Coach, Prada, Spade etc.

  9. A friend of mine rented a bounce house for her 30th birthday. It was a blast!

  10. Sex just for the sake of sex. I can’t imagine…LOL I actually found this blog via a comment on Baggage’s blog.

    Is that bag the new Carly bag from Coach? If it is, and it looks like it, I just got it and I love it. I got the large Carly and I kind of wish I had gotten the regular sized one, but the Large is great as a weekender bag or as a bag for someone who happens to like large bags.

  11. I had a big ol’ shingdig for my 40th and I highly recommend it. Cake, booze, and fireworks seems to cover most of the bases right there.

    Best of luck with the application and bios. It gets your name on the books and you get to decide if you ever want to do more than that. Sounds like a great plan to me.

  12. Um, what’s sex? I think I remember it but the details are a little bit fuzzy (kind of like that mysterious item in the back of your fridge).

    Congrats on the upcoming 4-0. It sounds like it will be quite a bash.

    And enjoy your much-deserved break, DD.

  13. Good luck with the application, etc. You are right, who knows what that may bring? 4-0 plans sound great!

  14. I think that you are doing great – and I don’t think that you have a padded wall anywhere in your future. I wish that I could be there to celebrate your 40th in style, but I’ll be there in spirit. Please take pictures and post about the big day.

    BTW: My husband would never be one to plan a party, either.

  15. Pick me! Pick me! Can I be on the invite list? Only 8 hours away you know. Oh and I am most likely going to have to plan my own 40th birthday as well in May, want to come?

    If that stupid trailer doesn’t sell by then I will have lots of extra, pet free places for people to stay. I did de-petify the place as well, all allergy eliminating carpet shampoo and all that good stuff. 😉

    Seriously though, I would come if you invite me. Ok, am I pathetic or what? Begging someone to invite me to their party. See, I need more friends. 😉

  16. As a few others have already indicated you’ll find sex is AMAZING when it’s no longer timed or tagged to some kind of doctor visit. As difficult as it was for me to end the all-encompassing IF treatments, in the category of silver linings: I took the discretionary money I had allocated to pregnancy kits, ovulation kits and assorted acupuncture and herbal remedies and spent it instead on spa treatments; I rediscovered the wonders of Alexander Valley red wines; my husband and I started living in the present … those were some of the small things that helped during a significant transition in our lives. Enjoy your newfound freedom from doctor office visits…

  17. I had a big bash for my 40th and it was such fun, even though turning 40 didn’t bother me nearly as much as turning 30.

  18. Whoa…I did not see that coming in your post – I was expecting some big b-day news or perhaps an invite to the bash.

    I am happy you made a decision, becasue I think often the making part is more difficult than the result. I don’t know if that concept appile to this situation because this is not a new car, computer or camera, but regardless, I know that the decision has been weighing on you.

    Don’t worry, I will continue to read – your life is far too interesting and often you write about all the (not so) little things in life that really piss me off but no one really understand how or why.

  19. Good for you. I agree with Pamela Jean, you should save up the money you would be spending on that other stuff and buy yourself something pretty or fun! 🙂 (Or both… or even better something pretty AND fun you and your husband can both enjoy 😉 )


Leave a Reply

Categories

