Posted by: DD | April 2, 2007

no. 413 – Monkey Crotch

I have officially finished a project with my sewing machine.

Hear the angels lift their voices in congratulatory awe.

Now, I must emphasize that it’s the first project I finished, but certainly not the first project started.

My inspiration was X’s teacher. She was wearing sock monkey pajamas on "Jammie Day" at school and when I told her I admired them, she mentioned that she had been looking for some information regarding someone in this area of the state who actually makes old fashioned sock monkeys.

I really like my son’s teacher so I thought I’d do some googling on her behalf. I found these fun (and seemingly easy) sock monkey instructions.

How fricken-fracken cute is that monkey?!

So this weekend I purchased several pairs of socks and first I finished this little guy. X was so excited and asked if he could keep him. Once Beta (the name for this one) was complete, X and he danced, judo chopped and trapezed from one end of the house to the other.

I decided to deviate slightly from the instructions and made monkey #2. Blue has much shorter arms and legs because I used calf-length socks instead of knee highs. Plus, I made sure to stuff her much tighter than Beta.

So tight, I had to perform an episiotomy.

See, you sew up the legs and then stuff the monkey via the crotch. As I’m fingering the poor monkey, shoving acrylic stuffing into the body cavity, the fabric of the sock started to run vertically from front to back. I had to perform a rather crude episiotomy and hope that no would notice. It would help if I wouldn’t point it out to every one I show her to.

Of the two, Blue is put together much better than Beta, but X likes how "floppy" Beta is despite the note in the instructions that "Nobody likes a floppy monkey!"

Responses

  1. I am in awe of your sewing skills, DD. The best I can do is add a few stiches to “Sepa”, the lovey who is being loved to death by Max.

  2. Wonderful job. X will be in awe of mom for quite some time.

    So why is Beta Beta and not Nora? (You funny Nebraska people.)

  3. Cute!

  4. Your sock monkeys rock! I’m lucky to sew on a button. Love them!

  5. So cute!

  6. You can bring your sewing machine with when you come to Wisconsin and we can drink and sew all weekend. 😉

  7. Ah, sock monkeys. My great-grandma had one that I used to play with every time we visited their house. Now I want to go make one! Except I’m not at all crafty. Nor do I own a sewing machine. Drat.

  8. I love it, I want one!

  9. Ah, how I envy the crafty types! Those are just adorable.

  10. Very impressive! Now I want one!! 🙂

  11. Okay, so if it’s a natural tear, is it still an episiotomy? 😉 FWIW, you seem to have done a great job repairing it! Better than a few of the Drs. I’ve had, *eyeroll*. (And I really really like your new sub-header, snicker.)

  12. You crack me up. And I bow to your creative/sewing skills. I myself am not so crafty.

  13. First, both my kids have those pajamas 🙂 Second, I still have my sock monkey made by my great-grandmother whom Daisy is named after. Third, thank you for the site! I think I may give it a try because your sock monkeys both turned out so cute! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  14. The best thing is that there are Sock Monkey books, too. They’re written by one of my husband’s college friends. Her name is CeCe Bell. Craziness. My daughters love them. Allison reads them to herself and says, “Sock Monk (this). Sock Monk (that).

    http://www.cecebell.com/

  15. Now I want sock monkey pajamas. Perhaps you could make me some on your lovely sewing machine!

    And the sock monkeys are adorable. I’ll bet X absolutely loves them.

  16. You are so talented!! And thanks for the links! Gotta make one for Bethany.

    Oh, and I’m making you and honorary nurse after your successful monkey-saving episiotomy!

  17. Adorable! I can barely sew on buttons.

  18. It amazes me that you can come up with a post titled “Monkey Crotch” and use episiotomy in the same post… congratulations.

  19. You SO crack me up! I enjoyed both your new blog subtitle (hehehehe) and the post and pics. The episiotomy pic is hysterical!

  20. Well, look at you, crafty!

  21. Your sock monkeys are the cutest — even cuter than the sock monkey which inspired you. Those instructions are LONG. I’ll never make a sock monkey…

  22. Very nicely done!

    At this moment I have Maggie’s canopy, a blanket for Will and a few regular-sewing-type-things (repairs for Joe, Hems for my new pants etc…) sitting in a basket in the closet.

    You’ve inspired me! (yet again)

  23. Girl you SLAY me!!! Between the tube tops, and the Monkey socks I almost pissed my pants!!!

    I have a sweing machine that hasn’t been touched in 4 years… I think I just found my insperation!!!!

  24. Ok–now, figure out how much the material cost you and how long it took you, multiply or divide (I don’t do math) by a 40 hour work week…can you make a living doing this?? I will buy one 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

