Posted by: DD | May 7, 2007

no. 435 – IUI 101: Chapters 1-4

Yes, I do injections daily. I remember the first medicated cycle we did (July 2005) and I had to have Mr. DD do the FSH injections, which was with the follistim pen. Each time I would try to do them myself, I would lock myself into the bedroom to try to psych myself into it. Sweat would break out on my upper lip; my hands would shake and I would stare so hard at the one freckle on my thigh (my point of reference) that I would literally get tunnel vision. If there was a loud noise from the other side of the door I would have to set down the pen, re-swab my thigh, and start over.

Eventually, I would just break into tears and call Mr. DD back in to do it. I felt like such an utter failure at those moments that once the medication was delivered and my pants were pulled back up, Mr. DD would swing my legs around onto the bed and I would sob myself to sleep. The pain associated with that reality choked me. It also dulled the physical pain, what little there was.

I still have hesitation when doing my injections, two years and 7 injection cycles later. I repeat in my head, "It doesn’t hurt. It doesn’t hurt. It doesn’t hurt." several times, and the needle hovers for several seconds before I can finally push it down. I still prefer to have no distractions, but can now do the injections sitting in the kitchen instead of cloistered away in my bedroom. But the minutes do not tick by like they used to. I don’t have to call Mr. DD to my side and help me. Once I’m done, I can sit up with Mr. DD and watch a little late night TV without talking about it.

Last night I had to inject twice. I used up the last of the gonal f that was on the verge of expiring and still had another 75IU to inject so I had to mix up one of the repronex vials (gonal f, follistim, and repronex are all FSH). I had a rather nasty dermal reaction at the repronex site which required benadryl cream for relief.

The insomnia is back as well. I tossed and turned last night, waking up from several very bizarre and vivid dreams including one particularly nasty encounter with an ex-supervisor. *shudder!*

Other than that, all is par for the course.

Question: I’ve always started the baby aspirin after the procedure. Should I start now?

Yes, these are rather boring installments, but I can’t be brilliant and witty ALL the time. Sheesh.

Responses

  1. Not sure I could inject myself, but wonder if that would be easier than the alternative – I fear my husband would get entirely too much pleasure out of doing it for me.

  2. Baby aspirin, I’ve heard two theories, some people think it is only for helping implantation and preventing clots/miscarriages, so you only need it after ovulation. My RE, and some others think you should take it before because it improves blood flow to the ovarian artery which helps egg quality & response, also because it plumps up the lining and lowers autobody immune response, ahead of time.

    I think I can’t hurt and just might help, so why not?

    I’m not sure if this is right, last time I heard it I was half-naked, feet in the air, looking at an ultrasound screen, totally not paying attention to words, haha. Anyone else?

  3. Insomnia. Yay.

    My sympathies.

  4. God, injections are hard. I always have to do them myself b/c the few times hubby tried, he hurt me. I still have to psyche myself up for it though. The mind is a powerful thing.

  5. I have random freckle I hone into on my belly for the shots. I tried the thigh, but I realized that I should never, ever stare that closely into my thigh because then I notice all the stretch marks and that crazy map of lines will take me places I should not go.

    I think the idea of the shots is far worse that the physical pain they inflict. As if we are not hurting enough with all this crap, we now have to jab needles into our pinched IVF flab just to make sure it hurts a little more.

  6. If you have had lining issues in the past then you should start the aspirin now. If not, then it’s ok to start after the procedure. Good luck!

  7. Truly a pro now. It’s a good thing… and not so good, too.

    I think you are always brilliant. Questionable wit (heh – which is good wit in my book), but always brilliant.

  8. It does get easier as you noted, but even when I looked past the physical pain the emotional pain was the real kicker. For me, it was all a reminder that what should happen during a fun romp with the one you love had turned into a freaky science project.

    I hope it’s all worth it one day very soon!

    Oh and as for assvice, I took my baby aspirin every day, all the time. But I can’t remember the source of that idea.

  9. I still hate the injections. Not as much but I still hate them.

    I am sorry about the insomnia. Take care.

  10. Repronex is one of the worse meds to use, because it’s purified from urine (yes, I know – ICK) it often causes a very minor reaction at the injection site. I got a welt from it every time, about an inch in diameter. I used to inject it into my stomach though, how come you’re doing it into your thigh?


Categories

