Posted by: DD | May 8, 2007

no. 437 – You (Re)Learn Something New Every Day

On my way to the local convenient clinic this morning to discuss the feeling as if someone was preparing creme brulee on my thigh, I called my RE’s office to let them know that I’m sorry, I loved them even though they failed to get me pregnant and to tell Dr. Blinksalot that even though I was a failure in her stats that I didn’t blame her and inwardly hoped for a quick, relatively painless, death.

I am such a dumbass.

If only I knew Feebee in real life. If only she and I had an IM relationship. If only I could keep my freakin head screwed on straight.

Repronex is indeed more suited to IM (intramuscular – aka "ass cheek" injections with long needles) rather than subQ (subcutaneous – kitten-whisker-thin needles 1/2 inch long just beneath the skin’s surface). The clinic’s nurse said that repronex can be delivered subQ, but since most patients experience a reaction (reaction is an understatement!), they recommend IM.

I turned at the corner of the convenient clinic and went and got my mocha instead. I’m feeling a bit red-faced (to match my red thighs), and knowing that there’s not much that can be done at this point besides what I’ve already been doing which is slathering on more benadryl, biofreeze and even spraying my thighs with solarcaine this morning, I can’t imagine what additional advice I would get. Plus I don’t need this experience in my permanent medical file twice.

At least the dimpling associated with the cellulite has been effectively reduced. So what if it means looking like someone packed Australia underneath my skin and then started a brush fire?

Responses

  1. How awful! I hope that you find something that works better for you.

  2. Ow, ow, ow. Hope that feels better soon.

  3. I hope no spiders crawl out or anything. EWWWW!

    (Kisses)

  4. Man I feel for you. I’ve had so many hive/welt issues related to injections and drug reactions- it sucks. If benadryl doesn’t take care of it, have them prescribe some zyr*tec or a steroid.

  5. A small mercy indeed – I was actually admiring the lack of cellulite on your thighs. Now go and stick some needles in your ass.

  6. It eliminates the appearance of cellulite???!!! Where do I pick-up my needles and a month’s supply? (Notice how I focus on the important stuff, and completely ignore the Solarcaine application. Ouch.)

  7. Oooooh, sounds awful! I only ever got up to 150U, I can imagine that more than twice that gives a much worse reaction. It does go down relatively quickly though, I think mine used to disappear in about two days. Will you be going to IM for the rest of them?

  8. That is just awful! HUGS!

  9. Ow, DD, that must feel awful. I’m glad that you can switch the method of application now. And you probably know this, but use the smallest needle you can on the IM injection — that really helps. When M switched to the smaller gauge, it hardly hurt at all anymore.

  10. Oh, Honey! As a nurse, I would never, NEVER give you repronex SubQ!! I’m so sorry!!!

    You’re right: you can only wait for the reaction to clear; you can’t really treat it other than what you’re doing.

    Oh, but Kath does have a point: a smaller gauge needle does hurt less with an IM injection. However, you are also more likely to have a reaction with a smaller gauge needle. The larger needles are more likely to get the medicine distributed into the muscle in such a way in that it won’t seep into the SubQ tissues. The medicine is also absorbed more quickly and efficiently when a larger gauge needle is used making it more likely to be more effective.

    Sorry. Them’s the facts.

    I hope this reaction subsides for you quickly!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

