Posted by: DD | May 21, 2007

no. 447 – Meme Times Three-three

Meme 1: I Am…

I am…

a perpetual worrier, especially about the life my son will lead.

I am…

painfully shy, and as much as I would love to personally meet all my blogging friends (like at BlogHer), I know that I would find myself sitting alone on the gym bleachers the entire time.

I am…

a jane of all trades, but a master of none.

I am…

hot tempered.

I am…

amazed that I am actually someone’s Mother and hearing him call me “Mommy” is like hearing angels sing.

Tag courtesy of Artblog at Healing Arts: Infertility, Birth, Miscarriages, Secondary Infertility, Stillbirth…Trying Again!

Meme 2: Things I Love About Myself

I love that I’m proud enough to hold my head up when all I want to do is disappear into the floor, but still humble enough to admit it when I am wrong.

I love knowing that I was the geeky band girl and not the popular cheerleader in school. I think it better prepared me for life in general because of it.

I love the mole on my cheek (the facial cheek) (which will seriously change it if ever sprouts hair).

I love that I look younger without makeup.

I love knowing someone loves me, and always will.

Tag courtesy of Jessica at Oh, The Joys! Where every day is the same…

Meme 3: Eight Things You (Probably) Didn’t Know About Me

I can only crack the knuckles of the first two fingers of each hand.

I sometimes perceive my on-line persona much like that of a comic super-hero. Not because of what I do or say when blogging, but because of the mild-mannered, unassuming character that is presented in real life seems so opposite of it even though the sum of the two is who I really am.

I use to be a professional ballroom dance instructor.

I cannot wear sleeveless, low cut or backless tops or dresses because I suffer from cystic acne. Once we are finally done with reproductive attempts, one of the first things I will do is get a script for accutane.

I have a morbid interest in autopsy photographs.

I rarely wear my wedding ring. I’ll put it on for special occasions, but it spends most of its time on the ring holder.

I did not maintain any friendships from either my K-12 schooling nor college. I am a loner.

I have never broken a bone, but have had a concussion with unresolved amnesia; used crutches once due to 1st to 3rd degree burns on one foot and once again after I jumped down 4 stairs and wrenched an ankle.

Tag courtesy of Cricket at Churp, Churp: I’m an oxymoron: a libidinous, infertile mom.

Responses

  1. Accutane is AWESOME. I didn’t have systic acne, more like low-grade persistent acne. I went on accutane a few months before my wedding and my skin was awesome. The worst side effect for me was the dry nose which led to bloody boogers and one nose bleed. The best side effect was that my normally oily hair was so not oily I could go a week without washing it. I have thick wavy hair and it was such a nice change to be able to spend an hour drying it straight and have it last for more than one day before I had to wash it again.

  2. I envy that you were a professional ballroom dancer. My parents just floated around the room together and I did not inherit that gene at all.

  3. Accutane is awesome. I did a round of it when I was 21, and it really worked great on the cystic acne. But yes, you do have to wait until all reproduction is finished, it takes months to fully leave your system.

    And I don’t speak to anyone from college or K-12. Mostly because I can’t imagine enjoying speaking to them again! (This is why I find Facebook annoying I think….)

  4. Dear DD, I just had this cool image of us sitting on the bleachers together, having the best talk…

    Cystic acne is a pain. I had terrible acne in my confused youth and Accutane really helped (as did a really cool Pill with anti-androgen properties, but that was later). I had to discontinue the Accutane treatment before the official end of treatment, though, because it gave me horrific hives. Pimples or hives? Gee, how can a girl ever decide?

  5. IS this your meme or mine?

    Seriously, how do you know me so well, are you stalking me?

  6. Excuse me… can I sit next to you on the bleachers… Hand raised – yes I’m a loner too.

    As for accutane -my sister works in a derms office and thinks the stuff is great. I too have the cystic acne and would probably also be on the accutane band wagon if possible.

    I didn’t go to my class reunions and have no desire to see any of those people ever again… seriously. Have a few friends from a geek program that I stay in contact with other than that no thanks.

    Hang in there.

  7. Ditto on the K-12… but I do maintain a few lines of communication with a couple of law school classmates…probably because those friendships were formed when we were adults.

    I, too, am a perptual worrier, although I try to hide it because it can get old, even for me. 🙂 And, a jack of all trades, but master to none… Maybe i need a better attention span. Hmmmm.

    Thanks for sharing a bit more of ‘you’.

  8. That was memealicious!

  9. very interesting. thank you for sharing!
    It is always a treat to see more facets of my favorite people!


Leave a Reply

Categories

