Posted by: DD | May 28, 2007

no. 453 – A Link To Save

Before I get wrapped up in the other distractions, I received this link to an article that came out this weekend in The Globe: Burying the Unborn.  The lovely and intelligent lady who sent me this also contributed significantly to the article, but it’s not a name you will recognize (but there is a name in the article many of you will).

Feel free to post your opinion in comments or through your own blog, and even if you have no opinion either way, please do read the article. I am touched that this person thought enough of me and my journey so far, to send this article to me. And before you think I’m letting my head get too big, I know I wasn’t the only person, but to be included? Wow. Seriously. I am honored.

Thank you, Anonymous.

If you are joining late, please see the prior post.

Responses

  1. Thanks for sharing the article. I haven’t lost a baby, so I can’t say how I would feel or what I would do if I ever were to. I think it is great though to have options as to what to do, and to be informed of those options. I can imagine being in the situation of some of the women mentioned in the article and finding out after the fact that my baby was just burned with ‘medical waste’, and how devestating that could be.

    To me it seems as if a lot of the commenters on the article totally missed the point – of course turning it into an abortion debate. So not the point, as far as I’m concerned.

  2. It’s really a wonderful article. But I agree with Nico…the connection to the whole abortion debate seems plausible, but completely and totally beside the point of the article. I thought that the article was amazing.

  3. What a wonderful article! I can completely understand why people would want to honor their unborn children, no matter what the age. I miscarried at 5 weeks and still suffered all the grief of not only losing that child growing inside me, but also of all the hopes and dreams that came with her.

    I was fortunate to be able to get pregnant again immediately within the next few weeks. Which, as esoteric or new agey as it might sound, to us that just meant that the same little soul that we’re blessed with now just didn’t have the right body the first time ’round.

    If we hadn’t been so lucky, I would probably still mourn that loss as much as if I had lost a baby at 18 weeks or 26 weeks or even after delivery. For me personally, that little life matters no matter what the gestational age. Still, that is a personal belief in when life starts. I think that this issue has many shades of grey and that it’s sad that the pro-choice vs. pro-life argument is so black and white.

  4. This was hard for me to read…I’ll never know what happened to mine. But it’s good that people are writing about it and talking about it so that others will know that they have options.

    I’m thinking of you today.

  5. It was hard for me to read too. I am not sure that I would have done anything differently, but the though of my son being burned with medical waste is beyond unsettling. I believe that parents should have the right to mourn the loss of thier baby however they see fit, so articles like these are important. Hopefully it will help people to understand people’s need mourn the loss of thier unborn child in the way that works for them. Thinking of you dear DD. xx

  6. I read the article yesterday and I’ll say it was thought provoking to say the least. My sister lost one of her twins at (they think) 19 weeks and Jonnah survived. At the time I was young and stupid and didn’t understand the funeral. You live and learn.

  7. I agree with the author that the issue does raise questions about when life begins which leads to the abortion debate, naturally. But the focus needs to remain on the feelings of women who have lost children to miscarriage.
    As someone who has both had an abortion and lost a baby, I can tell you that there is grief involved with both cases.
    And although I remain pro-choice, I believe with all my heart that a woman who has lost a pregnancy deserves the right to grieve in whatever way she needs. As we all, unfortunately know, miscarriage is a very real and painful loss and discounting it will never make the pain any less.

  8. That was hard to read. Really hard. I’d honestly never thought about what happened to the fetal remains from my d&c’s. I can understand why someone would want the option to bury or cremate their miscarried babies. But for me, it was easier to just not think about it.

    Still thinking of you.


Leave a Reply

Categories

