Posted by: DD | June 16, 2007

no. 467 – Overall? Successful

Thank you to everyone who offered your suggestions or comments regarding The Maternal Heart’s Essence. I believe in its purpose and will continue to maintain and update it when possible.

My botox treatment went smoothly. I now have a few months in front of me where I don’t have to Aftrbtxlook in the mirror shortly after I wake up and see the number "11" creased between my brows much like one gets from having the sheets pressed into the side of the face. I must worry a lot in my dreams. Here’s an after. Yes, I am frowning, but the flash mixed with the results eliminates those lines. I should probably take care of those eyebrows before a caterpillar attacks my face in a jealous rage.

I had what I would consider a great success at the antique show. I wanted to find something that would provide bench seating under the window at the far end of my kitchen. I needed something substantial that could possibly provide storage. I found this at one of the first booths. It was the right height to provide comfortable seating. It was long at 6 feet, just slightly shorter than the window area. Best of all? $40.

I know it doesn’t look like much, but once I get done with it by sanding off the top to the bare pine and adding a honey varnish to the top; shimming and squaring the corners and drawers; and finally staining the sides with either a blue or red stain, it will be a very functional piece to fill that empty space. For the side that is open I will either find some baskets or maybe add a shelf and store my landscaping books there. I plan on keeping X’s artwork and supplies in the drawers.

On a down note I found out that Mr. DD’s niece, the one who will be spending considerable time with us at the beach house in SC is 3 months pregnant. If I hadn’t lost Wolf, I wouldn’t have been able to go to the beach since it was my due date. If I hadn’t lost this last pregnancy, I might have been told no flying. Someone is sure doing their damnedest to make sure I go on this trip. But do they have to go to such extremes?

Responses

  1. You have such pretty eyes! Love the bench; it fits the bill, and should be fun to refinish. What a bargain!
    May your vacation be irritation-free. 🙂

  2. I am full of envy – all that flat storage. Green, I tell ya.

  3. The bench-thing is absolutely gorgeous — even before refinishing. Any idea what it was originally?

  4. Hey, I hope I didn’t hurt your feelings with my last comments – that was NEVER my intention.

    Ohhhh. Flat Storage!

  5. A picture of you! So nice to put a face with the writing.

    That bench sounds fabulous (in its finished form.) You’ll have to post photos.

  6. Okay, I am seriously thinking of booking botox now. Or something yummy to keep me young and perky.

  7. I’m convinced at times that the great universe just gets its jollies out of testing us — tying dates to strange ironies and throwing people in our paths just to see how we handle them…hope the trip doesn’t mess too badly with your head.


Leave a Reply

Categories

