Posted by: DD | August 15, 2007

no. 498 – First Day of School

X: On our ride to school: Remember last time* how you and Daddy would hold my hands and pull me up and put me down and pull me up and put me down?

Me: Yes, I say softly and sadly.

X: Why are you sad?

Me: Because it’s been a while since we’ve done that and you’re getting so big now.

X: Yep. I was a baby then. Now I’m in Kindergarten. That makes me a Big Boy from now on.

Me: *wiping tears* *sad smile* Yes, you’re a Big Boy now.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

* Last Time = could be yesterday, last week, last month or even in this case, last year.

Responses

  1. We still do that. I must admit, it’s good for my arms, but it’s getting harder to do.

    Good luck with this day. I will be blubbering right along with you.

  2. Congratulations. And lots of sympathy too.

  3. Congrats to X for making the Big Time. And a big hug to you – I know exactly what you’re going through, my friend.

  4. I am dreading the day when they are too big to do that.

  5. Waaaahhhh! So, how’d he do? I’ll bet that you cried more than he did, huh?

    I don’t know what I’m going to do when Mag goes.
    At daycare, I always get them clocked in, take Will to the “baby room” and then Mag & I sit & have breakfast.

  6. Well, you know that lately I can’t even think about school without crying. Last night I was reading Hollis a story and he wanted to sit on my lap and he really doesn’t fit anymore. Sigh.

  7. Sympathy tear, BUT you can still lift him, you just need to do some upper body weight lifting.

    BTW: Look carefully at your photo in this post. Is the little boy missing anything? Or, does it look like he is missing anything? Sorry, that is the first thing I honed in on. I am not laughing about it or anything, just noticed it.

  8. Wow! School starts early for you.

    So bittersweet.

  9. I sobbed like mad when my kids went off to kindergarten. Don’t worry, they only grow up and leave for college about 3 seconds later.

    Yes, I have issues, why do you ask?

  10. Is it too corny to send you a ((HUG))?

  11. I am DREADING kindergarten. They just grow way too fast!

  12. It was always ‘yesterday’ around here.

    Time passes too quickly. He’ll love K and you’ll love seeing him blossom.

  13. Oh, sweet X! I would have cried also. I cry every fall (OK, summer) when P starts daycare again. The first day of kindergarten is going to see me sobbing like a baby.

    It’s so hard to see them getting so big, and yet it’s so wonderful to discover the person they’re becoming. I hope X had a wonderful day of school and that he loves his new class.


Leave a Reply

Categories

