Posted by: DD | August 27, 2007

no. 507 – Stranger Friends

Now THAT was a whirlwind weekend. Six hours driving (one way) alone sucks. It helps to know that either end’s destination was worth the multiple gas station stops and the unfortunate side affect of constipation I get from driving.

Maybe I should be careful about how I describe the drive since I would love nothing more than for Jitters and Alexa to come this way so I can show them the 9,782,666,981st Wonder of the World. I don’t know what it is but I’m sure I can fake something for them. Plus it’s just a matter of getting together and talking about infertility, blogging, and husbands.

Some of the issues ran deep: just how do you pronounce Piquant? and what does suchandsuch blogger’s pseudonym really mean? My own is just one horrible moment of many in which I lacked originality.

Jitters is completely adorable. Saturday night we decided to get a drink at one of the chicchic places close to where I was staying. One drink turned into several and by the time I was dropped off in front of my hotel (after I made Jitters confirm that my BCPs truly were "chewable" to which she confirmed they were indeed chewable but tasted strongly of "ass"), it was almost two in the morning. Unfortunately we left Will who purchased our last round of drinks sitting at the bar scoping out some other classy chicks to ask to accompany him to Chammps.

Sunday afternoon I met Jitters at her lovely home and then we went to meet up with Alexa for lunch. Alexa is genteel and, as both Jitters and I concurred during our drive, Wicked Smart. Unfortunately she was also harboring the post-IVF retrieval discomfort, but handled it with aplomb and style so just ignore her caftan comment.

Thank you to both ladies who made time out of their weekend to meet with me in a rather impromptu visit to the North. The baby I went to see is sweet and I had the almost instantaneous affect of making him poop every time I held him. My friend is dealing with the common frustrations of breastfeeding and I hope some of her anxieties will be alleviated soon.

After all was said and done, it was good to be back home in my bed. I was especially grateful Monday morning to wake up to my son’s smiling face and to hear him confess to missing me. Best of all, Mr. DD took the training wheels off his bike and there was no major injuries forthcoming. I was just a little sad that I missed his first ride without the training wheels.

Funny how so many things can happen in just 48 hours.

Responses

  1. I am so glad that you had a great weekend!!! LOL on the poop thing, I usually make them scream!!!

  2. Glad that you had an enjoyable weekend.. 6 hours?? Egads!

    Awww, a big-boy bike! Way to go X!!!

  3. Glad you had fun! Long drive, but worth every mile.

  4. I’m glad you did this. Concentrate on this angle on your life.

  5. Sounds like a wonderful trip despite the 6-hour (!) drive. There are so many bloggers I’d love to meet and this post might just inspire me to make a bit more of an effort.

  6. Glad you had a wonderful weekend. Must say “a” drink sounds wonderful….but only half as wonderful as meeting Jitters. Must seriously reconsider moving to the US. Definitely glad you had a fabulous time. And yay for X to biking. That’s just great and gives him so many big-boy-points.

  7. Real-life blogger meetings are some of the best things in the world.

    By the way, Merriam-Webster gives 2 pronunciations for “piquant”: peek-unt and peek-wunt.

    I prefer the latter. Though in the first pronunciation, you do get to say a naughty word. 😉

  8. The Boy is up on two wheels, too!

    Yeah, X!

  9. It’s good to “hear”/read that you had a good getaway!

  10. Glad you are back, glad your trip was good, and am so glad that X missed you 😀 It’s nice to know he is such a sweet boy.

  11. I hope I was worth missing the removal of training wheels?? That is bittersweet.

    Since I have yet to recover from the whirlwind of activity this weekend I have not yet blogged about it. Don’t worry, a post in in the works and you are being awarded a cyberaward. NOw that I have talked it up I better make it more clever…

    It was SO enjoyable to meet you in person – your wit and charm are remarkable and I felt as if we were long lost friends (the kind I like, not the freaks from high school who have since gotten fat and ugly).

    Will was definitely hot for you – I am impressed you found more about Chammps…do you understand now why I laughed at his offer? Plus the secret hallway to get there was a bit strange….

    It really makes things better when a friend is willing to drive across miles of cornfields to visit and lift your spirits. I will gladly drive the same route (in reverse & with Alexa hopefully) to visit you in the true midwest.


Leave a Reply

Categories

