Posted by: DD | November 1, 2007

Sweet Memories

Last night, Mr. DD and I talked about what kind of candy we loved to get when we were kids trick-r-treating. We talked about Slo Pokes, Bit-O-Honey, Twin Bings, Sixlets and Pixy Stix and the memories we had surrounding them.

It was XBoy’s attempt at eating a Pixy Stix that brought back that sense of nostalgia. He would lick the paper and sugar would get clumpy and block the straw and we would have to remind him not to touch the paper with his mouth. It didn’t really sink in.

I remember it took me a while to perfect the pouring of the contents onto my tongue and I would try to get as much as I could out and into my mouth at once. Then I would let saliva do the work for me and by the time I had finished 20 pixy stix, the roof of my mouth would be raw from the crystalline sugar.

Mr. DD also brought home a bag of licorice the other day. I enjoyed taking a bite out of each end and using it as a straw for my Pepsi. Then when the licorice straw was good and hard from being exposed to the cold liquid, I would blissfully chew that up as well.

Now you are probably saying to yourself, “Gawd! It’s no wonder you’re packing on the pounds, DD!” as you read this, but to be honest, it’s been a splurge to have all that crap in the house lately. It brings back so many fun memories of homemade costumes for Halloween; how my mom would keep all the candy in plastic garbage can in the cellar to keep mice out of it; and even trips to the 50-seat movie theatre in my home town, destroyed and gutted long ago.

Those were such wonderful and innocent times. Even the wrappers were different. Hershey bars had foil and then the paper wrapper. Today the two are combined so there is no more small foil airplanes to craft. Packages today require a handy pair of kitchen shears or at least a good set of teeth and two free hands to rip what must be NASA approved paper.

Just looking back 30 years, it’s easy to see why our grandparents reminisce about the “good old days”.

Is there any one candy or sweet that brings back fond memories of your childhood?

Responses

  1. I would gladly give my mother the candy corn and she would snarf them up, then steal our sweet tarts. Last night I commented to ex’s wife that candy isn’t for the children.

    My fondest candy memory is those peanut butter chewie things wrapped in orange and black paper. I loved where the dried peanut butter met the chewy taffy stuff.

  2. I always loved those licorice flavored taffy in the pink, black and white wrappers (Black Jacks maybe?). And sugar daddies were awesome because the sugary goodness lasted forever. My neighbor when I was a kid used to make these awesome popcorn balls…my mom wouldn’t let me eat most homemade things but Mrs. Stringer’s popcorn balls got the green light.

  3. Charleston Chews.
    Loved when I would get them at Halloween.
    They also remind me of the penny candy store I would frequent as a kid. I woud get the little Charleston Chews for 10 cents. Ooooo big spender. Seeing as I could get bubble gum for a penny.

  4. Teaberry chewing gum and Sugar Daddies….yummmmmm.

  5. Spangles – tehy were square boiled sweets and wer e fantastic. I don’t think they ever made it to outside the UK and were discontinued long ago .

  6. Not really a Halloween thing, but I would just yearn for real German chocolate. (Now you can get it anywhere). The Purple Cow Milka bars were my all-time favorite.

    I also remember when pop rocks came out and what a big deal THAT was.

  7. Milk Duds, Red Hots and Sugar Daddies for sure. Among the few candy items I couldn’t stand were Good and Plenty. Thanks for conjuring up some good memories!

  8. I loved Twin Bings, too, along with Big Hunks (I still love those HA!) and those big very thin bars of taffy. I can’t remember what they’re called.

  9. Bottlecaps & necco wafers. I prefer the cola flavor.

    Although, I have been known to polish off a small bag of red vine with diet coke. Strange combo, yes, but very good.

  10. I’m so glad that someone else remembers Necco Wafers!

  11. Those horribly politically incorrect pseudo cigarette lollies. They had a pretend filter and *everything*. Made me feel like such a rebel to eat my glucose in forbidden form.

    And since they never turned me into a smoker, it was all fairly harmless fun.

    J

  12. We used to go to the houses that gave out the laura secord chocolate bars… mint was my fav. I also liked to drink nice cold milk through a black licorice ‘straw’. Gotta love the good old days!

  13. DD – You have NO IDEA how bizarre those candy names sound to someone from another country..

  14. I LOVED candy cigarettes and ring pops.

  15. Pop Rocks. The sizzling in the mouth was very cool. And my all time favortie which is still popular, SweetTarts.

    OH!!! And the wax sticks with the liquid sugary substance in them. Also, a treat that required a ceratin method to eat. My little brother always chewed on the wax darn close to a choking hazard.

  16. Candy lipstick. Not the hard, sweet-tartish kind that you can find today, but the “lipstick” was more of a creamy, almost “fudgey” candy.

    OH! and Jelly-Nougats. I can still find them occasionally from Brachs’ but I could eat a whole bag.


Leave a Reply

Categories

