Posted by: DD | November 2, 2007

Focus on the Random

Have you ever had a thought or a plan in your head for so long, you were sure that you had discussed it out-loud to your partner, or at least to the other person(s) involved in that plan?

Obviously I have or I wouldn’t have asked the rhetorical question.

Mr. DD called me on his way to The Metro to provide the sperm to what I hope is a cache of eggs from our donor. While we are both incredibly nervous about what will happen, he is ever the optimist going so far to say, “I just hope we don’t end up with triplets.”

First of all…doesn’t he remember all the times before where he would say shit like that and jinx the whole damn cycle?! GGRRRrrrrrrr….

(shake it off, DD. shake it off)

I told him that triplets is going to be highly unlikely since the most I will have transferred is two, depending on quality. For some crazy-ass reason, he thought I was going to have four transferred. I think it’s because men only process every other word in most any statement:

Mr. DD, each recipient is guaranteed a minimum of four eggs from the donor on each cycle.

What he heard:

Mr. DD, you are guaranteed at least four babies from this cycle.

********************************

Last night we had to do our first PIO shot for the cycle. I started off whining about how big the needle appeared to be it didn’t seem like the right size are you sure it’s the right size what’s the next size up what’s the next size down, etc., etc.

Mr. DD asked just how many of these do we need to do?

I said it depends on whether or not I get pregnant, and if I do, it will be for a loooo-ooo-ong time.

He just wanted to know how many more days of bitching he will need to tolerate.

***********************************

During the preparation of the PIO, Mr. DD said,

I don’t know why we bother. I don’t think that stuff helps.

I tried to explain in a calm and reasonable manner that since I did not ovulate, my body will not produce any progesterone and without the progesterone there would be no pregnancy.

While I may have been calm on the exterior, I was focusing on his throat and my fingers were twitching.

*************************************

I will have to do the next couple of PIO shots on my own. After Mr. DD leaves the clinic, he will be meeting up with a couple of friends of his to go to Kansas to race his R. C. Cars in some regional race thing. I talked to his friend on the phone last night and told him to watch out for Mr. DD as he may feel like cuddling or even a nap after providing a sample so I asked him to be gentle. Yes, this friend knows what’s going on.

Mr. DD will return late Sunday night just in time for Freak-Out No. 52,116 prior to the scheduled transfer Monday morning.

**************************************

I had scheduled a seating with a professional photographer so we could have a new family portrait made out, just in time for the holiday cards (’cause I know how much you all love the holiday pictures!!), but yesterday I cancelled it.

It was scheduled for Friday, November 16th.

You do the math.

***************************************

Speaking of holiday cards, I’m looking forward to another card exchange like last year. Think about it before you rush to answer, “Fuck, no way!”.

This means you, DinoD.

Responses

  1. Honestly I think men have a filter on their ears. They hear what they want.

    You are perfectly justified in having freak out number 52,116. You dealt with a lot of shit, and transfer is on Monday! I’m freaking out for you… in a good way.

    I wish nothing but good things for you this time around. I hope beyond all hope that this will break the November curse.

    Oh, and if my husband said what Mr. DD said about the PIO? I woud of throttled him. Or stuck him with a needle… in the eye :twisted:. Your restraint is saintly

  2. Ah, nothing like that ol’ selective hearing! Could Mr DD be related to Mr Oro?

    Oro, trying to recover from the last bit of Heather’s comment…:squick:

  3. Randomness ahead, warning.

    M. never got the process – even on our 3rd round he was asking questions about shots and why we do them. I would get so mad, explode at him with the help of medication to carry the argument further, and then get no where so I gave up. Sad, yes, but needed for my sanity.

    Yes, we need to do the card exchange thing again. I still have those cards, silly, YES, but a great way to provide additional support.

    About the man speak. You have found your calling! THis of how many woman you could make happy by translating what their husbands are hearing. You could make millions.

  4. If you really want to mess with Mr DD, you could always tell him that IVF embryos have a tendency to split a little more frequently than non-IVF embryos, and maybe you could have two sets of identical twins! You could even show him pictures of minivans that you’d like the community to buy you if it happens 😉

    I definitely think we need to do the card exchange again–it always makes me happy to get mail.

  5. I love how you divide this up into little vignettes, further glimpses into DD-Land. Makes me wish I had a husband to throttle. He is so good to you.

  6. I have 4 of the human male species in my house, three of the animal variety. The animal variety not only listens better, but they actually grasp the concept of what I am saying..AND..most of the time they smell better and make less mess.

  7. D one time tried to inject me with an 18 gauge needle… he wondered why I was yelling “OW” and why the needle didn’t smoothly go in. Needless to say I double checked the needle after that.

    I am up for a card exchange again. So does this mean you are volunteering to organize it?

  8. Can you schedule the picture for earlier? Or have a friend take the photo?

    And yes, you know I think men are very very odd. I swear if the continuation of the human race depending on them alone—-we’d be extinct.

  9. Got here just in time! Good luck for Monday, if I don’t see you before then!

  10. What IS it with men?
    ________________________

    I’m in for the card exchange too.

  11. I for one have always thought triplets would be a riot. Now keep in mind that I have never had an infant in my care, let alone three.

    I’d love to exchange cards with you.

  12. So….no word on donor’s retrieval, hmmm??? What time in your universe is it scheduled for???

  13. omigod, you are so right! so right. i’ve had a few ‘i don’t think the progesterone works’ moments myself. exterior: calm, if slightly twitchy. ‘interesting theory, honey, but it’s either this progesterone or none at all.’ interior: WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH YOU? are you even paying attention AT ALL?

  14. Mr DD sounds so much like George it’s not even funny. He thought that we would have triplets because we transferred three. “Why don’t we just transfer two so we’ll have twins,” he said. Um. Yeah.

    Definate on the Christmas card exchange. it was so much fun last year.

  15. Send mr DD MY way and I’ll sort him out good and proper about the role that adequate progesterone plays in achieving pregnancy!

    I know all to well what happens with INADEQUATE P4.

    Good luck with your t/f

    xx

    J

  16. I think men only hear key words…Mr. DD heard “4” and ran with it. Murphy does the same thing and it drives me nuts! Count me in for the card exchange!

  17. Definitely count me in on the card exchange. Here’s hoping for a fabulous Monday. I’ll raise a martini in your honor… ya know, since YOU can’t have one 🙂 {{hugs}}

  18. Heather said: Honestly I think men have a filter on their ears. They hear what they want.

    I’d like to give the world’s loudest “AMEN” to that statement. Also, we should add “And they’ll tend to rubbish whatever they don’t understand, because men work the cynic angle whenever possible.”

    It’s tempting to mess with his head, isn’t it? Like, open up Ebay to “triplet strollers” to see how fast you can give him a coronary.

  19. Just when I think DH is up to speed with everything, he goes and drops a clanger like that. I always threaten to put it on my blog. He shat his pants when he had to start doing the PIO injections – I would have been better off doing them myself but it was fun to see just how afraid he was of hurting me each time, bless him.

    Very best of luck with the transfer, can’t wait to hear all about it.

  20. Ugh…I am sure this will be a long weekend for you! Good luck getting through and the whole internet is crossing fingers and toes (I won’t say knees because i hear there are a few tramps out there) for you!

  21. Fuck, no way 🙂
    DinoD

  22. Good luck with the transfer. It is monday lunchtime here in London so I am wondering what the time difference is. Will be thinking of you and keeping my fingers crossed. As for Mr DD, I think men just have a piece of their brain missing when it comes to certain stuff, and that stuff seems to be the things that we think are most important.

  23. Men!

    (I’m finally catching up!)

  24. […] life, if you go by McCain/Palin and the ever progressive (*sarcasm*) Catholic church. Yep, Miss H. was busy working on becoming an embryo this time a year ago. She’s changed so much since then. You know, by getting fingers, toes, a […]

  25. […] today also marks the day Aitch was conceived six years ago. Before anyone prudish gets too squicked out what would be normally considered TMI, I wasn’t […]

  26. This really takes me back. I can’t believe it has been that long! Wow. Life.
    (this also makes me realize how much of my life is over at my blog that I haven’t kept up….I have been wanting to vent/blog….this may have been the push I needed)

  27. Oh, interesting. I didn’t leave a comment first time around. What a bitch.


Leave a Reply

Categories

