Posted by: DD | November 29, 2007

I KNOW TOO MUCH

Not really. But I have access to too much information and unfortunately, I don’t know how to interpret that information even though what is front of me indicates nothing but good.

I’m referring to my beta levels.

Let’s review.

13dpo – 122

15dpo – 217

21dpo – 3590

27dpo – 23,708

It’s at the highest, if not above the highest reported for singletons.

So guess what happens when you google “higher than average hcg levels”?

Increased risk for Downs.

If I could just take back the last 15 minutes and erase them from my memory, I would do it in the moment a six week embryo’s heart can beat.

Otherwise, I will have to hope that gestational sac number two was overlooked as I watch the clock for the next 13 days.

Responses

  1. Dear DD, it’s really a shame that even with your wonderful scan results, there’s no major reassurance. I can’t take away your fears, but please remember that there is a huge range in HCG levels, and that your little embryo’s chances of being healthy are very, very high. I hope with all my heart that all your fears will be put to rest.

    A big, big, hug, my dear. Now put down the Google and go hug a little boy…

  2. You know what, I did that too on this pregnancy, worried that it was increasing too fast, googled it and found the same risk. We can always find something to worry about, n’est-ce pas? Just give yourself a break sweetie, there is nothing to worry about in those numbers rightnow.

  3. http://www.betabase.info/showDailyData.php?type=basic&multiples=Single&dpo=27

  4. Unfortunately I don’t have my numbers handy, but they were very high for both my successful pgs. So high that everyone was sure I was having twins. Hope that helps a little.

  5. Too much knowledge can screw with your head. Back away from Google. I won’t tell you to stop worrying because we both know that won’t happen but take a deep breath.

    Comment I got today? My gestational sac was off the charts. I don’t even know wtf that means. Heh. Sometimes ignorance is bliss.

  6. Such good news about the scan – as for the futile googling, I wish I could give you comfort but I did exactly the same thing, many many times. Even after my last 2 early miscarriages I googled like a madwoman and am now convinced that I do own the Ute of Doom and that nothing will ever flourish in there. I can’t change the googling, but I am doing my damndest to get some perspective….

  7. I ban you from typing “google” in your browser!
    Staying hopeful for you . . . .

  8. DD, I don’t know that a high beta now is a strong predictor of T21, or they’d use it as a screening test already. I’ve never heard of early betas being used to even guesstimate T21 risk in my O+G days, but I relate to the Dr Google worry. It’s so hard to back away from the search box.

    FWIW, my betas were similarly high, and the one thing my baby absolutely did NOT have was downs….

    In fact, having sourced an REAL LABORATORY reference range compiled from thousands of real betas with RELIABLE DPO’s (and not say, betabase, that thing is very unreliable because it’s self reporting), you’re in the normal range.

    Here:

    http://www.dml.co.nz/hbook/5a7b0ab.htm

  9. (((((dd)))))

  10. The link below goes by LMP but if you calulate it out to equal your dpo your number is fine. I agree with the others that google can freak you out and there is a HUGE range of normal for this test. One site will tell you “increased risk” the other will tell you “kickin ass baby” so why not go with the good one?!

    http://www.americanpregnancy.org/duringpregnancy/hcglevels.html

  11. And what we forget, is that the word “risk” is just that.

    My sister who is currently 22 wks pregnant (and neurotic, thanks to her older sister’s fertility woes, oopsie), said to me: “It either has Downs or it doesn’t.That’s 50% chance, Meg.”

    Of course it’s absurd, but worry makes us think things like this.

  12. You know I will stay in this huge knot of crossed parts as long as you need me to be.

  13. I don’t remember my levels exactly (I had weekly HCG until 8 weeks) but I remember mine was high and found the exact same thing about increased risk for Down Syndrome and freaked – Ellie does not have down syndrome. The nuchal/quad screen was a nice reassurance even though it’s just a screening and not a diagnostic test.

    Better go ahead and research dopplers right now, because the “is the baby still alive” thoughts will persist pretty much every day and the doppler will help with that.

    I saw a segment on one of the morning shows recently about the internet and self diagnosis and doctors love/hate that people use the internet to diagnose themselves but the doctor who was being interviewed said people ALWAYS choose the worst case scenario – no one ever thinks “oh it’s nothing” when in fact that is almost always the case.

  14. Step away from Dr. Google. You’re going to spend every last second worrying anyway. Don’t make it worse. Don’t make me break your knees. (probably about as high as I can reach).

  15. I need to echo Statia’s comment. And hope that the rest of these really reassuring comments help. It’s my nature to freak too, though.

    And…well, you know this, but share a piece of personal experience as your betas look A LOT. A LOT like mine. When we had our first ultrasound, we were told that we had only one baby (I think that it was a little earlier than you own, but not by much). We went back at 9 weeks and VOILA. There were two. Two little guys in one gestational sac. I’m not saying that this is what’s going on, merely that it’s possible.

  16. I think there should be a law that pregnant women are not allowed access to Google… I know you’re not ready to hear the ‘c’ word (no, not THAT one.. the nice one), but… I can still call you pregnant, right?

    I’m going to go eat a celebratory cupcake for you now ’cause when I googled, you looked like you were squarely in the realm of healthy-and-normal.

  17. I would hate to have to break your fingers – so as Statia said – step away from Dr. Google… high beta levels, low beta levels remember those are averages and every beta level is different for every pregnancy. Don’t be finding trouble where there is none yet. That’s my mini lecture for the moment. Also congrats on the good scan… will continue to keep you guys in my thoughts and hang in there. I know these first few weeks are the hardest… just breathe…

  18. No googling for you. NO NO NO. Just walk away from the internet searches and internet doctors.

    Seriously. I’ll come out there and beat you up, crazy pregnant woman.

  19. DD, I am so glad about your scan result. That’s very reassuring!

  20. Will focus on the positive for you. Take it easy.

  21. I agree with everyone else. STAY AWAY from google! I know how hard it is though, when I was pregnant I would drive myself insane with worry about one thing or another that I had found on the internet. My doctor would roll her eyes when I would come in for my check-up and ask about yet another possible condition I had found! I am keeping my fingers crossed that news continues to be good.

  22. There is always something to worry about and Dr Google preys on our weaknesses. I never heard that about Down Syndrome before but I have been reliably informed that a strong beta is indicative of a healthy pregnancy!

  23. (in my best cop voice) Hands in the air! Step away from the computer!!!

    The internet can be a blessing or a curse. During my first pregnancy, my OB prescribed “no internet” after I asked her my paranoid delusions.

    That being said….

    WHOOSH… (that’s me exhaling)

    Good first scan

    AHHHHH….(that’s me inhaling)

    Waiting the 13 days with you.

  24. Hey! If I can do it you can too. I think sometimes having all the information just leaves us open to more stress. Take it one day at a time and try to stay positive, I know how hard that is though. You know where to find me if you need to chat.

  25. don’t get too stressed yet, I have known women who had two u/s before finding out they had multiples. Sometimes those babies hide!

  26. The answer is easy. STOP googling. lol
    You know what, there’s no point in that comment because we are all guilty of it.

    My PC dies, and I miss all the exciting posts. Thinkin of you DD

  27. Step away from the computer and no one will get hurt. I WILL drive down through that winter storm and come and yank it out of your hands.

    Think of how many non-IF pregnancies there are and how infrequently this level gets tested at the different stages, so there is bound to be a large range. The range for the early days is huge, so it only makes sense that the range would be increasingly broader throughout.

  28. High beta hcg as an indicator of chromosomal issues, like Downs’ is only relevant when measured at 12 weeks, in conjunction with the PAPP-A blood test, and the nuchal scan.

    It’s completely irrelevant this early sweetheart, stay on the net, just check your sources, okay?

  29. For what its worth, my 14 dpo beta as over 1,000. Two days later it was over 5,000. It was a singleton and he’s a healthy kid. I have a friend who also had a first beta over 1,000 and she also had a healthy baby. I think there is a wide variety of normal when it comes to betas.

  30. Y’know, when I read your numbers and your ultrasound, my first thought was that it might be identicals, sharing a single sac. But even if not, the “increased” risk may not be all that significant, since presumably the risk of Downs in your case is very low to begin with.

  31. Yeah, stay away from google. google is evil.


Leave a Reply

Categories

