Posted by: DD | December 19, 2007

no. 565 – In Need Of Reassurance

I’m not feeling particularly well today. Last night I was horribly constipated and bloated and barely managed to sit through supper at a restaurant with my in-laws while both my intestines and uterus cramped in protest. Particularly bothersome was Mr. DD’s nephew visiting from the south who thinks that he’s some football star in the making for this team, even though he’s not even ON the team. He put away a salad, onion rings, his pound-plus of steak, his hash browns, XBoy’s left-over steak sandwich, a boat dish of french fries and a boat dish of cottage fries. I’m sure he would have put away more if Mr. DD’s family didn’t have such "healthy" appetites.

This summer when he’s finally graduated from college, he’s going to watch with a mixture horror and disbelief as his body quickly melts into 300 pounds of fat since he will no longer have free access to the team’s work out equipment. It’s rather pathetic, really.

Add to it, my asthma is really sticking it to me. Symptoms can either get better, worse or stay the same when an asthmatic gets pregnant. Mine is worse. Every time I cough, I get a nasty pull in the abdomen. I see a hernia coming on if I’m not careful.

Take all that and add in even less breast tenderness, decreased appetite and noticeably absent Ass-Mouth today and I’m not feeling all warm and fuzzy about tomorrow marking 9 weeks. It’s only another week before my next scan to see if Murdock made it through the holidays.

Any actuaries out there want to calculate the odds of a heartbeat in another week? Is there actually a way to calibrate in 4 miscarriages (3 before 9 weeks) and a pregnancy at 40 with a 31 year old’s donated eggs?

Is it any surprise that I chant to myself, "PUP-O. PUP-O. PUP-O" as if I were in meditation?

Responses

  1. First, NBHHY. And I will keep saying that until next week.

    Secondly, reading about Mr DD’s nephew’s ‘meal’ made me throw up in my mouth a little.

  2. Sorry you are feeling crappy but not in reassuring ways.

  3. I never thought I’d say this, but I hope you feel like crap – assmouth and all!
    (I’ll hold onto positive vibes for you if that will help)

  4. Uh, that is one scary meal. I’m not sure I could eat that much in three days.

    I’m not an actuary, but I’m pretty sure that with 31-year-old eggs (you know what I mean) the odds are very heavily stacked in your favor. (heh heh. I said stacked). I wish I could offer something more in the way of reassurance, ’cause I realize that that’s not all that comforting.

  5. The irony of feeling like crap…. you feel like crap and you feel like crap worrying sbout feeling like crap, no?

    Well, at least your chant isn’t YUM-O, cause then Rachael Ray would worry.

  6. Other than adding NBHHY to the mantra, I can’t think of much that would help the days pass. I just wanted to let you know that I’m pulling for you and Murdock.

  7. That was exactly me at nine weeks. ALL symptoms disappeared overnight so for 3 days I cried all day. Then finally just went & sat in the ER until they gave me an ultrasound to see that beautiful heartbeat.
    I’m praying for you & sending as many healthy heartbeat vibes as I can.
    PS After that incident, I ordered a doppler & had it overnighted. Call me paranoid neurotic like that.

  8. If I come across any studies of pregnancy outcomes for 40 yo recurrent miscarriers pregnant with 31 yo eggs, you’ll be the first to know! In the mean time, I’ll add to the NBHHY chant and I’ll be thinking about you and Murdock. I mean, with such a snappy nickname, s/he just has to pull through!

  9. Odds of a heartbeat are actually pretty damn good (given previous heartbeat, your history and the whole young egg thing). Better than my odds were (44, 5 miscarriages and bleeding) and I came through so I am thoroughly hopeful (and you know how rare that is).
    And constipation and bloating is GOOD (no, really).
    DinoD

  10. DD, I really believe the odds are very much in your favor. Hang in there.

  11. thinking of you and pulling for you and murdock.

  12. 9 weeks?!?!?!?!? holy mackarel!!!! you go, girl!!!!
    peace
    shlomit

  13. DD, I’m just thinking good thoughts all the time that everything is ok. 9 weeks is great. I can’t believe you chose Murdock for a name and some day I’ll tell you why, but suffice to say-that is the name of an ornery fighter who is going to stay around.

  14. I don’t know the exact odds but I know that they are great. I am still chanting PUPO myself.

  15. You wanted symptons! : )

    I have been lucky my asthma has always stayed the same or gotten better.

  16. I am no actuary, but my intuition is good and I have a very good feeling about this. I wish I could transfer that feeling to you. Since you had a very strong heartbeat measuring right on schedule with someone elses eggs that do not have the same history as yours, I have the goods to back up my intuition.

    I think the ass mouth taste may be overwhelmed by the bad taste of the holiday sweets you may be eating. Or, wait, is that just me. I will be hoping it returns and that you stay backed up.


Leave a Reply

Categories

