Posted by: DD | February 22, 2008

Hairy Scary

I got a haircut last weekend and I don’t know what the hell happened to me. When she said she was going to cut in some layers, I must of mm-mmm’ed, distracted by People magazine’s attempt at journalism.

How could I forget when my hair reaches a certain (short) length, it begins to show just the tiniest of wave? Of course I didn’t notice at the time because my hairdresser dried my hair using a $100 boar’s hairbrush the size of a soda can. It wasn’t until I washed it the first time and looked in the mirror with my damp hair.

Fuck.

So no more Katie Holmes hairdo. I now have what could be this commercial model’s hairstyle after I spend too damn long with a hot curling iron and some hairspray, something I didn’t have to do before. By the way, I’m talking about the model with two legs, not four.

Would you believe I have proof! I tried to take some flattering pictures of me, but three things thwarted my attempt:

  1. I’m using a camera phone;
  2. In the bathroom with bad lighting;
  3. And I’m the least photogenic person in the world (and I feel weird smiling at myself).

hair3.jpghair2.jpghair.jpg

Responses

  1. AWW…I think you still look like a supermodel…would a flat iron help? My hair does the same, only when it gets longer. I am growing out my pixie cut now and have the MOST HORRENDOUS curls at my ears!

  2. It doesn’t look *that* bad!
    You look so bershon. I just got a bad haircut too. The girl cut the layer in back too short & it just sort of frizzes at the ends, so it looks even unhealthier than when I went in,. The way I see it, It’s just hair. It’ll grow back.

    Cool necklace by the way.

  3. I don’t know, I think it looks kind of cute…

    But then, I have hair that won’t actually hold a curl, so I’m a bit envious of people who have natural ‘body’ to their hair.

    🙂

  4. I think this is the first time I’ve ever seen your full face. Awwwwwww

  5. Well, it looks pretty good to me, but if you don’t like it, then think about using the flat-iron maybe? Reality is that when it’s that short, the layers can be grown out pretty fast without too much effort.

  6. As a super model, you look fab in any hairstyle.
    But I do hear you on the styling/expectation frustration. I can never replicate the look at home when they add layers.

  7. Ah! I think it’s cute! I wish my hair had a sort of wave to do something like that. Stick straight, baby soft, thick hair. GROSS.

  8. I really need to get my haircut but the last one I had was so horrible, I’m afraid to go back. You haircut isn’t bad at all. I do think you should have smiled though.

  9. I think it looks like a cross between Paige Davis and Maggie Gyllenhall (sp??), so I think you’re in good company. I like it, but I hate having a haircut that I actually have to style. Haircuts shouldn’t be work, unless you’re Maggie or Paige and have the hair person to do it.

  10. Personally, I think it looks fabulous! It may not be what you wanted, but I think it looks great on you.

  11. Could be worse. You could have my hair.

    J

  12. I think it looks cute, but my hair does the same thing when it’s short and I hate it, so I understand how you feel.

    Your camera phone takes better pictures than my camera phone. Mine would have turned you a lovely shade of yellowish-green.

  13. I like it.

  14. I like it too! My hair does something similar when it is shorter but not in such an all over funky way!! Yours looks great. if you don`t like it though, it is easily fixed with a straightening iron.

  15. I agree with the PPs, I think it looks good, but I totally get that having to style one’s hair is an unacceptable encumberance.

    Hearing the description of your styling efforts makes me glad I let my hairdresser talk me out of cutting mine up to the jawline last week. She was very, very wise to give me the straight talk: “Let’s be honest, most days you just want to put it in a ponytail and I don’t want to do anything that’s going to get in the way of that.” Sometimes it’s good to have a hairdresser who understands that I’m insistently frumpy despite her best efforts.

  16. Nice pic’s. You know, KAtie has shown a little curl lately, perhaps she is copying you…

  17. I think it looks great on you, too! But, I understand about not wanting to spend all that time fussing with your hair. Personally, I hate dealing with my hair.

  18. You know, I like it.

    But I get the whole “now I have to STYLE it” thing. Most times it’s why I don’t bother getting my hair cut – despite the split ends and annoyance that I have to put it up all the time. *sigh*

    Still, though. I like it. 🙂

  19. So your hair does that when it gets to a certian length too??

    Actually… I really do like it….It’s pretty cute!!

  20. I’m going to kiss your ass a bit and tell you I LOVE the cut.

    Also? Your “I fucking hate taking my picture with my camera phone” expression made me laugh out loud.

  21. I like it, too. but then I have to blow dry my hair whenever I wash it or it looks really really stupid so I can’t imagine having a hairstyle where one can just wash and go. That *would* be a luxury.

  22. I like it!! I know, you are the one that is supposed to like your own hair. Good luck trying to style it. I refuse to do that in the mornings. Unless it is a special occasion I wash and go – I’m lucky if I use the blow dryer.

  23. I love your ability to accessorize.

    Is that a word the way I spelled it?

    I wish I could think to put on a necklace.

  24. Jeez, I think it’s kind of cute …

  25. I think it’s cute, too!

  26. I think it’s REALLy cute! But I know what you mean. I straighten my curly hair. I get it cut so infrequently that I forget I can’t straighten layers. The stylist can, but I can’t. Every time I fool myself into thinking layers sound good and every time I end up swearing the next morning. Now if my layers looked cute like yours, thing would be very different!

  27. I think it looks adorable, with a kind of retro-glamour thing going on. But I know what a pain it is to have to try to beat your hair into submission, which is why mine is long enough to weigh down most of the curl.

  28. I’m way late, I’ve been out of the blogosphere way too long, but…

    I think your hair looks great just like that. Really cute.


Leave a Reply

Categories

