Posted by: DD | March 10, 2008

no. 615 – In A Heart Beat

I went shopping this weekend and in a moment of sheer bravado and brainlessness, I bought a couple of newborn outfits, one for each sex, to use as take-home outfits for Murdock.

Guess what I get for my audacity?

The inability to find Murdock’s heartbeat this morning, even after laying there for over 10 minutes, hands cramping from clutching the doppler so tightly.

My husband went to work after I told him I would let him know if I was going to see my OB or not. He was shook. I was a fucking wreck.

I got up, ate breakfast, and tried again.

Found it.

In a heart beat.

Responses

  1. Should I ever get pregnant again, I will not be tempted for even one second to get a doppler.

  2. DD- why on earth are you torturing yourself even having that doppler at all?

    Even so, I give you a hug that you had that moment. 😉

  3. Wow, you sure made my heartbeat speed up there for a minute. Thank goodness you found it. I guess Murdock was showing you his/her bum until you fed that baby.

  4. And the moral of the story is to make sure you eat before you even try and find a heartbeat. 😉

    I completely understand where you are coming from though. When I was pregnant I would get into huge panics between check-ups and I didn’t even have your history and a valid reason. In Japan you get ultrasounds every month until 24 weeks and then every 2 weeks from then onwards. I think that system got me through and I am wondering what I will be like if I am ever blessed with a child in the UK as the system is VERY different here.

    Glad you are doing ok though. 🙂

  5. How terrifying.

  6. What a horrible, long, scary moment (age, I’ll bet it felt like).

    Hugs.

  7. You know that it wasn’t some universal payback for feeling hopeful enough to shop, right? RIGHT? You KNOW that. I know you know that.

    Hang in there…one day at a time.

  8. Marjorie used to pull those stunts on me too. She still wants to sleep in.;)

    Maybe Murdock isn’t a morning person?

    Wishing you all the best.

    If “it” turns into a she let me know if you want any clothes. Fattypants here has a huge bag of stuff she has outgrown.

  9. Jeebus! That was scary for ME!!
    I can’t even imagine what you were going through.

    Glad you found it.

  10. Geez . . . don’t scare me like that!
    (Glad you found it!)

  11. This happens to me with movement, which is why I don’t own a doppler. Too scary. My Doc has trouble finding the baby’s heartbeat sometimes because this one likes funny positions. Thank God he has an ultrasound in his office!

  12. Phew.

    That’s why I couldn’t have a doppler–too many scary moments.

  13. So very glad all is well.

  14. Dear Murdock –

    Please don’t scare the crap out of your mother, or her readers, again.

    Cheers

    A Fan

  15. Thank goodness! But, please, don’t scare us like that again!

  16. Chug a big glass of OJ and Murdock will start kicking like crazy…and should make the heartbeat easier to find too. I totally understand the doppler addiction, as I am a known sufferer myself.

  17. That was a stressful post. You shouldn’t do that to me. I’m so glad it ended the way it did.

  18. I was so worried as I read that post. SO glad that you found it quickly the second time! Murdock, please don’t scare your momma that way!

  19. Murdock, you crafty little git!

    I remember those moments of doppler-instigated panic. Fucking things are more trouble than they’re worth most of the time.

  20. Oh, dear. That sounds terrifying. So glad you got your reassurance relatively quickly, though.

    This is so, so hard. I’m wishing I could speed up the time for you.

  21. Please tell Murdock that when he gets here, he will be grounded for the first two weeks, no phone, no tv. He shouldn’t scare his mom or us like that.

  22. How awful for you, make sure you treat yourself today. I am so glad I don’t have a doppler.

  23. Murdock, you are not allowed to scare a) Your Mommy, b) Your Daddy, or c) The entire blogworld who is anticipating your safe arrival this summer, like that ever again.

    I mean it.


Leave a Reply

Categories

