Posted by: DD | April 22, 2008

no. 640 – Flip This House

We are doing our best to make our home’s personality borderline schizophrenic. After living here for just shy of two years, the following changes have occurred (some even before they were ever enforced) – or will occur shortly:

On the blue prints, it was the "Formal Dining Room."

The idea of a formal dining room chafed Mr. DD so much, that it ended up becoming a "Den."

The den actually is the "Game Room" where we send XBoy to play his Leap Frog, Nintendo, Atari, L-Maxx, etc. I find Mr. DD in there a lot, too.

The game room is getting converted into the "Spare Bedroom."

On the blue prints, it was the "Baby’s Room."

During construction, I miscarried. It immediately became the "Spare Bedroom."

The spare bedroom will once again become the "Baby’s Room", but I don’t think I’ll be able to say that out loud for a long time.

On the blue prints, it was "XBoy’s Room."

It will remain XBoy’s room, but I will finally let him have a decision in how he wants it to look for the next few years, since I went very neutral (read: bland) in paint selection and decor. Oddly enough, this room will be the most labor-intensive.

I have a lot of work in front of me. A chair and sleeper sofa have been ordered for the spare bedroom, but that’s as far as I’ve gotten. They will take about six weeks to arrive. I’ll sit on my thumbs until then.

The chicks have been returned to be with their brethren on the farm. My mom and agree that XBoy has very little animal instinct in him, unlike his mother. While some things (like mice) now can send me shrieking, I was bummed that I couldn’t move fast enough to catch the gardener snake in the yard to show XBoy. I think my mom’s shrieking fit scared it.

More on that for another time.

Responses

  1. Jeez, I can’t believe it’s already been nearly 2 years. I’ve known you forever!

  2. I’m always amazed at how the universe works. Like how, when you want to get pregnant you see a million pregnant bellies in an hour? I’ve been thinking of chickens, lately. Yes, chickens. And then I found my way here.

  3. Yes, 2 year already? I’m officially getting old. I want to see before and after pics…if I may 🙂

  4. I love home remodeling. We’ve done two of the bathrooms and it’s just making me want to do more, more, more.


Leave a Reply

Categories

