Posted by: DD | April 28, 2008

no. 644 – Pimping the Etsy

Right before the Holiday season, I acquired my very own etsy account so I can do some Christmas shopping. I completely underachieved and only purchased one item, this blockprint on red paper for my bicycling-crazed sister. While my Mom was a little freaked out by it, my sister LOVED it. She’s weird (and cool) that way.

Recently I started shopping for a checkbook cover. Yes, I still write checks. The sun goes behind the clouds, flowers die, and the poppers and lockers all freeze in unison when I whip out my checkbook. I don’t care and most merchandisers around here don’t mind, either, figuring it’s better than me offering a dozen eggs, a slaughtered calf or pickled pigs feet in exchange for their services. This is rural Nebraska, after all.

But because I refuse to be of the norm, my checkbooks are of the top-stub type. Carbon checks are a royal pain in the ass because by the time you get to the 49th check, the carbons below have been all but obliterated. However, the problem I have with top-stub checks is finding a checkbook cover for them since they are too big for the cute ones found in department stores. The last cover I bought was from ebay: a horribly dull, black, “leather” cover that has become so abused that the “leather” is fraying around the edges and the black has cracked to brown. Yucky.

I checked ebay once again, sadly resigned to have to buy yet another dull cover, when I thought about looking on etsy. I found some perfectly gorgeous covers…for the standard checkbook. Taking a chance, I contacted Lori, shop owner of Thirty One 13 Designs about my dilemma.

She replied immediately and was positive she could create something up for me. Once I sent the dimensions and fabric preference, she whipped one up, just for little ol’ me.

Il_fullxfull And here it is. Isn’t it adorable?! So even though I’m holding up the line of 50 people at Target, they can all be swooning over my checkbook cover.

Responses

  1. That fabric is fantastic! I bought some photo “brag” albums for the grandmas for Christmas off of Etsy that were encased in fabric. I *love* that site.

  2. I just ordered a checkbook cover and some coasters! thanks for making my etsy addiction that much worse! heeheehee

  3. very cute!

  4. That is some of the Amy Butler prints – I LOVE THEM! I know you like to sew and her MIdwest Mod pillows are superfabulous. Some of her fabric is in the finalist category for our dining room curtains. Sorry to ramble, but I LOVE it when someone else likes the stuff I do.

  5. Definitely very cute. I also like to write checks. My husband makes fun of me, but I find writing checks makes me slow down and really pay attention to all the crap I buy.

  6. That’s so cute! I love Esty.

  7. TREE KILLER!!!

  8. super cute!

  9. Cheques….now there’s a qord that used to fill my day with dread as an adolescent cashier…

    J

  10. Shit. I am personally responsible for 4 checking accounts. It still pisses me off that so many of my bills require check sending instead of e-billing. Every check I write to those people I attach a sticky note asking when they will join this century.

    Love the cover by the way…you are just a funky kinda girl aren’t you :)?

  11. Very cute!

  12. I use the top stub checks also. I love the cover and will have to find me one. thanks

    • I need to get a new one. It’s held up really well plus I sprayed it with stain repellant, so that helped. Next time I’m going to have her make it about a 1/2″ longer (not wider).


Leave a Reply

Categories

