Posted by: DD | May 4, 2008

I’ll Huff and I’ll Puff and Then Pass Out

The combination of pregnancy and being simply unfit physically hit me hard this weekend. When I say unfit, I refer to the stamina to do the basics necessary in running a household. I thought that it was laziness up till now, but one shouldn’t find themselves light-headed and panting from a single trip down and then up a set of stairs and associate the problem with being lazy – of course one needs to kick in some BH contractions to complete that feeling of helplessness. OK, maybe I should’ve been less vegetative prior to getting pregnant, but at this point there’s not much I can do about that.

I am seeing only the tippy-top of the iceberg on how  rough this last trimester is going to be. My most favorite thing to do has now become a dreaded event: sleeping. It doesn’t matter what time I go to bed, I wake up without feeling rested. I’ve even started snoring! But the reason I don’t feel rejuvenated is the constant aching of my back and hips that keep me awake. Tylenol PM whispers to me almost every night.

Mr. DD and I worked on trying to clear the den/game room this weekend and moved XBoy’s gaming entertainment to the basement. While Mr. DD did all of the heavy moving, we both realized rather abruptly that I’m going to be nothing more than the foreman when he had to force me to sit down to literally catch my breath. Even worse, I went outside with XBoy to play catch and after walking up the stairs from the patio to the deck, I had to call down to him to let him know I wouldn’t be back down as I was on the verge of collapse. To see the disappointment on his face…well, that hurt emotionally more than any physical discomfort I’ve had.

That whole nesting thing that supposedly occurs in the final weeks of pregnancy? It looks like it’s going to prove to be more than problematic.

Responses

  1. Totally with you on the sleeping issue. My aching hips!

    J

  2. I’m achy too, but I have to admit, the breathlessness eases up as the baby moves lower near the end–more room for my lungs, so take it easy and go slow and you will get there.

  3. Take it easy DD, you earned the right to sit on your tushie as long as you want.

  4. I miss sleeping. My hips kill me every night. And I’m so stuff up now (no idea why) that I’ve started drooling because I’m mouth breathing. It is quite pathetic.

  5. I’m with you there. We are building a pation with pavers and I can’t help E at all because I can’t bend over my stomach without cutting off my air supply. And I get winded to and I was running about 15 miles a week before I got pregant. So it’s most likely just a lower lung capacity rather than unfitness. But a daily walk can’t hurt. It might even help you sleep better.

  6. Ahh, a restful night’s sleep sounds blissful. Or even a restful nap!

  7. I remember that bit. It sucks. L had lots of “playing” with me whilst I was near comatose on the sofa/bed. Sorry you can’t sleep well either.

  8. Ahhhh…this I remember from when I was pregnant. I am a stomach sleeper – so from the time I got too pregnant to sleep on my tummy, I didn’t sleep well. Have you tried any of those pregnancy pillows that provide extra support for your back and hips? If not, is it too late to make Mr. DD get you a jacuzzi? 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

