Posted by: DD | May 19, 2008

I Wouldn’t Call It a Foot Fetish

A friend and I were discussing pedicures the other day and it reminded me of my Foa Pa post from last year, which I should offer the disclaimer that the spelling of Faux Pas was indeed intentional. Part of the joke, as it were.

I personally don’t care for pedicures. Something about having a stranger touch and massage my feet gives me the willies. Maybe it’s because I feel a little guilty that someone might associate my visits with hairy toes and sandpaper heels.

I am still able to give some rudimentary attention to my feet, but I shamefully admit, it’s getting a little harder. My french pedicure looks like someone with with hand tremors painted my toe nails – while blindfolded. But from five feet away, they look acceptable. I’ve even managed to “buff” away the winter foot, although I do miss being able to scratch my leg by just running my heel up against the offending itch in the middle of the night. So what if I snagged the sheets occasionally?

During the conversation with my friend, we discussed the pedegg. Basically a battery operated cheese grater/citrus zester. What else could explain the contents that are supposedly emptied because I can’t and won’t imagine it to be sloughed, foot skin? Watch the promotional video on their website to get the whole affect.

This led me to wonder if it would be considered rude for me to keep a purse full of inexpensive buffers to hand out as needed to the people who haven’t realized yet that when they are wearing sandals/flip flops/mules that WE CAN SEE THEIR NASTY FEET! I think if I kept low-key they might not be offended – much like the gum commercial that pimps that industrial sized container of breath fresheners for the friendly, halitosis challenged office-mate.

It’s not that I’m being judgmental (OK, I’m being TOTALLY judgmental), but please, if you are living in the northern hemisphere, and therefore experiencing spring- and summer-like weather. check your feet. Now that I have mine in a semi-presentable state, I’ll schedule¬† an actual pedicure. Much like cleaning the house before the cleaning lady comes over.

Responses

  1. I was looking at my feet today and realizing that I need to do something about them. I too, do not really like to have my feet touched, especially the sanding! Yes, I will book a pedicure. I need to get my eyebrows done too.

  2. I think feet are ugly. All feet. Therefore, we must take special care to make sure they are presentable. I am with you – how could you NOT know that your heels look like hell? I notice that far before the paint on the toes.

  3. Please! I painted my toe nails last night and almost passed out from lack of oxygen…my heels and their condition will have to wait a few months. My giant girth should distract people from being repulsed by my ugly feet. (And mine aren’t that bad…not great but not that bad.)

  4. Its a pity more men don’t take heed of their feet. I dread teh fine days when even British men get out their sandals and flip flops – gross.

  5. I can’t reach mine at all, and am going for a pedicure this week if I don’t get a baby beforehand.

  6. I hate feet and I have not worn sandals yet this year because I have not had a pedcicure yet. That is my contribution to society.

    Also, I have the pediegg, it works OK.

  7. Okay. Okay. You’ve shamed me into it. (hanging head and going to look for foot buffer thingy)


Leave a Reply

Categories

