Posted by: DD | May 21, 2008

no. 664 – My Plans Include Not To Have A Plan

As I log into Typepad, I now see why it was playing all kinds of fuckery with me the other night: they've updated some features…in case you wanted to know.

Today I had my 31 week OB appointment. Kind of. Even though I waited nearly an hour in the lobby, and then spent another 30 minutes in the exam room, the only person to see me was the obstetric nurse. Damn those OBs who are licensed to perform surgeries anyway. So an emergency c-section sent him out of the clinic. The nerve.

Blood pressure was one hundred something over eighty something. I never pay much attention because after being lauded so many times about having marvelous blood pressure, I sometimes wish to be surprised: "holy crap! you're blood pressure is 318 over 140!"

My measurements for the FunYums, fungus, fundum, fundus was 31inches cm. Apparently right on track. I make note because this is the first time it's been measured. Even though I'm on the twilight of 32 weeks, I had to ask for it.

Heart-rate in the 140 range, which prompted the nurse to guess that Murdock is a girl. Personally, I've never understood any of those old wives' tales, like the dangling ring, carrying height, or even the Chinese calendar predictions.

That's not to say I haven't plugged in information into the calendar predictions…

The problem with the Chinese calendar is that where it asks for age of mother at conception, do I use my age or the donor's? And then it wants to know month of conception. Since you use the Chinese calendar, which is not the same as the anglo's calendar, the months don't jive. And even if my feeble mind can figure that out, I'm not sure what their definition of conception is; the day of my LMP? or the day of retrieval and fertilization? If you don't think it matters, I can assure you that depending on what I use, the results are different: 50% of the time it's a boy and the other 50% of the time it's a girl.

Go figure (figuratively, not literally).

Lastly, we were going to try to schedule my c-section. For personal reasons, I want 7/16. Unfortunately, there has been a more recent hullabaloo about "early" c-sections (not just elective, but repeat), that strongly urges none to be scheduled prior to 39 weeks. 7/16 puts me less than two days shy of that magical 39.

"Of course, if you go into labor early then you would get the c-section early"…quote courtesy the nurse. Because that will be much more enjoyable than trying to make arrangements for my son and feel some measure of control.

Hey! Look at that! I'm actually bitching because I may not get the "birth plan" I want!

Next on T.K.O: Breastfeeding Woes and Belly Rubbing!! *

* Not really.

Responses

  1. 7/16 is my brother’s birthday. And my uncle’s. And my uncle’s wedding anniversary, because he never wanted to forget it 🙂

    Good luck.

  2. Birth Plan Bitching wins out over dbt’s any day.

    FYI – we’re in our first month of actual “NOT TRYING”. In other words, we’re no longer preventing it, but we’re not “trying”. Which is exactly why we both know exactly when my last period started, and when I’m most likely to get pregnant, and why my husband was particularly amorous last night. So. I guess we’re officially on the roller coaster. Ok, so maybe we just bought our tickets…

  3. So, I calculated the gender for Alex who was conceived in my birthday month (July. I expect many gifts). And no matter how old I was, he was supposed to be a girl.

    He is SO not a girl.

  4. Oh, wait. July 16?

    My birthday is July 15. I guess I’ll be buying YOU presents on my birthday.

  5. Well, I’ve heard of some women getting scheduled c-sections early when they have had previous losses, simply because there is a concern about making sure there is no risk of a repeat.

    (And no, I don’t think you are at risk, but you might be able to make the argument to your OB, so who knows? Maybe worth a try?)

  6. My plan was: There WILL be drugs. I do NOT want to touch the head as it crowns. Do NOT put a bloody, messy baby on me.

    Hmmm. 9 weeks to go and still no gift registry? You suck.

  7. I really really hope you meant 31cm and not 31 inches because, wow, that would be one hell of an award-winning ute. Like ‘take it to the state fair’! 😉

    I also hope you get the birth day you want!

  8. Erika – Isn’t fair season coming up?

    Yeah, um, 31 centimeters.

    *sheepish grin*

  9. you takin a dig, are you, are you? I sure smell one somewhere at the end there!

    my birthdays on the 16th, not July but its on the 16th 🙂

    x

  10. I think they did an actual medical study of how the whole heartrate has no correlation to gender. But who would expect a nurse to keep up with medical studies?

    My friend ran into the gotta wait until 39 weeks for c-section thing. 39 weeks was January 1, they were hoping for like Dec 30 (might as well get the tax break right) and the doc wouldn’t do it so they had the baby on Jan 2. And she weighed 9 pounds. So clearly a few days earlier she would have been way too tiny. Hah.

  11. The ladies at the law firm did the needle thing on me many years back. If I remember correctly, I think it was actually right – 2 girls, 1 boy.

    According to the way I was carrying, and the heartrate, my second child was to be a boy. WRONG!

    Ah well, wive’s tales makes life a little for fun and interesting at least. 🙂

  12. ugh – been up til 2 am for 3-4 days straight – my brain is trying to sleep!

    That should read
    “Ah well, wive’s tales make life a little MORE fun and interesting at least”!!

  13. Wow! 31 weeks. Did time all of sudden speed up? Glad to hear things are going well.

  14. My birthplan had four words. “Bring home live baby”. And I got my birthplan. You can borrow it if you want. The plan, not the baby.


Leave a Reply

Categories

