Posted by: DD | June 8, 2008

SHOW & TELL (2ND INSTALLMENT)

Mr. DD and I have many differences of opinions and habits, whether it’s thoughts on raising a child (yes, you are responsible for insuring your child eats lunch, even if he hasn’t told you he’s hungry yet), to kitchen hygiene (using a dish rag on the counter and not wringing it out and then letting it fester in the sink cannot even be considered “helping out” in the kitchen).

But one thing we do have in common is an appreciation for certain antiques and heirlooms. We are no means the kind of couple that would ever spend a weekend “antiquing” at the markets. One of us would certainly end up murdered – or at the least, maimed – by the other, but occasionally we have oohed and ahhed over the listing in a auction flier, specifically furniture.

Recently, I went to a household auction that listed several desirable objects. Usually I go to snoop because antique pros are always willing to pay top dollar over what Joe Blow can if they know it’s something they can sell for a profit. I understand they are in a business, but it sucks in a way because they aren’t looking for something to enjoy for themselves.

At this auction, one of the pieces I was attracted to was a “dough trough”. It looks like a bench set up on legs with a lid. At one time there was an auger-type mixer inside and they would blend the dry ingredients for bread, add water and then the family matriarch would move it to a smaller section inside the trough to rise.

I fell in love with the piece and it’s authentic worm holes (no minimum wage worker was hitting it with a pick or chain like they do today to “age” wood); it’s hand planed surfaces; and it’s square hand-forged nails. It was the one item I was prepared to “win” and I kept my game face on during the bidding, while at the same time openly acknowledging the my opponent by never taking my eyes off him.

Surprisingly, even when I thought I should give up, Mr. DD (who stood behind the other man) encouraged me to keep going, which I did until the auctioneer shouted “Sold!” and announced my number. The piece will find a new home as storage for the spare bedroom now that I have it cleaned up.

  This last picture is a great example of why I enjoy antiques: notice the fine vertical scrapes in the wood? Those are actually years of finger nail scratches from where the owners would lift the lid. The stories the owners of those hands could tell…

My thanks to the Show and Tell project sponsored by The Stirrup Queens for today’s post inspiration.

Responses

  1. Beautiful. I could see it storing some of Murdock’s toys.

    Any thoughts on where I can get an antique crib? I am open to metal, but it can not look too institutional. Help – I am still avoiding THOSE shops. How about you???

  2. Love it! DH and I used to go look at antiques every few weeks before we had children. We very rarely bought anything, but I loved looking through old buttons and clothes and furniture, imagining the stories they could tell. I’m right there with ya!

    Glad that you won your item. I hope you get to enjoy it for many years to come!

  3. I have a real affinity for things with a “history”. I prefer things that aren’t “new” and your post epitomizes exactly why.

    Lovely piece and congratulations on your acquisition!

  4. What a beautiful and interesting piece. I had never heard of such a thing. How old is it?

  5. That is really cool. So you get a cool thing you and AND the satisfaction of having won something? I gotta start doing this auction thing.

  6. I love that! My parents are huge auction people. They find the best things. I never find anything though.

  7. That’s certainly a beautiful piece. I just love the idea of having something that has a history. That I am the caretaker of it, this time around. Great win!

  8. Awesome piece. My mom has an antique blanket chest that I love. Your piece reminds me of it a lot. I’m not a real antique person. However, if something has ‘wormholes’ you bet your ass they better be real.

  9. Wow that is a wonderful piece!

    Aren’t auctions fun?! My hubby and I went to one last month. We’re not antiquers, but do like them. We didn’t get any antiques at this auction, but we did come home with:

    One ceramic cake platter with lid that looked like a strawberry cake (with a big strawberry as the lid handle) – can you guess who wanted that? 😀

    A set of wooden backyard furniture (2 chairs and one lounge chair) – I got a round vinyl tablecloth and a wooden “Welcome” goose thrown in the lot for free.

    One 2-man plastic bass boat (hmmm- who wanted THAT? LOL)

    Just this weekend I happened to pass by a banner for a subdivision garage sale – so naturally I swung through. 😀 Came out with 2 foldable scooters (my daughters have been wanting those for some time now). And a bunk bed (I had to take it completely apart to fit it in the car). But it was worth it. My daughter was supposed to get a bunk bed when we moved into our house over 3 years ago – we bought the mattresses for it and everything. But then we didn’t have a way to get the bed frame to our house (smaller car than what we have now) and so never got it. She’s been sleeping on the twin mattress stacked on the full mattress for all this time. (I left the plastic on the full for protection) NOW she finally got a bunk bed – it’s wood posts with steel bars. Just happens to match her room which is wood floors, paneling and wood beams across the ceiling. Talk about a perfect find! And the big kicker – it was only $30!!

  10. That is one awesome piece of furniture. Thank you for sharing!

  11. What a beautiful piece of history. I would love to be able to find something so amazing.

    (using a dish rag on the counter and not wringing it out and then letting it fester in the sink cannot even be considered “helping out” in the kitchen). Sing it sister! Can I get an Amen? Sgt thinks I am the only wife in the world that thinks this way.

  12. Wow! That chest is awesome. I love antiques!!

  13. We love antiques, especially since it’s hard to find well-made furniture nowadays. Also, I have acquired a whole new appreciation for wood and quality construction since my hubby took up woodworking. That is truly a beautiful piece!

  14. Fabulous piece! I’m not one to furnish my whole house in antiques….but I enjoy having a few pieces that are useful and beautiful. My hubby didn’t really get it when we first got together – he scoffed at my antique library table. But now he uses it as a desk and loves it.

  15. I am totally antique, BigD is modern. How we ended up together I have NO idea!

  16. LOVE it.

    So jealous.

  17. What a cool piece! I too am jealous!

  18. Gorgeous! I love anything truly old and well-worn, though I often have to settle for the fakely distressed versions. 🙂

  19. love it… thanks for sharing

  20. Ohhhh that is really pretty!!! Way to go!!!

    Hugs,
    Rebel


Leave a Reply

Categories

