Posted by: DD | June 13, 2008

SHALLOW

I’d like to believe that I’m not vain, but who the hell would I be kidding? Maybe “vain” is too strong. Let’s just say that it takes a certain self-indulgence to get breast implants, wear make-up, dye my hair to keep the roots at bay, keep nail polish on my toes, and of course daily maintenance of the unibrow even though I’s gots me a man.

Several weeks ago, I gave up the keeping up.

Because I refused (OK, I procrastinated) to purchase a bra that would better accommodate my implants while they compete with boobinitis, I have moments of regret for ever having surgery. I also am flashing back to those weeks after XBoy was born that not only would I fail the pencil test, I’m sure I would have failed a 2×4 test.

The only times I bother now with any make-up are when I have a meeting, church, or an evening outing with the in-laws (they don’t need to see how dark my eye-bags are or how I’m spontaneously morphing into a Trill. Yes, I know: sun screen).

The parting of the Great UniBrow has been complicated as I prefer to lean over the bathroom counter to remove the strays with a tweezer. Murdock, being the big-headed fetus that it is, objects to me mashing him/her against the counter’s edge, so I try to use a hand mirror. Since it is not my usual means, it’s awkward, and the daily sweep has been reduced to two to three times a week. Well, you know those hormones that are “Trilling” my face? They also make hair grow faster so the plucking  is now really just foraging.

Actually the hardest part during all this has been watching the scale. I was 15 lbs heavier when I got pregnant with Murdock than when I got pregnant with XBoy, thanks to years of stress, injections, stress, over indulgence, and stress. I also have gained in 8 months with Murdock what I had gained in 9 with XBoy, which probably explains why the current estimate of Murdock is sixish pounds, when poor little XBoy was 5 lbs and 12 oz at term.

It’s all fine, I guess in the big picture since it still is all within range of normal, but I can’t help but worry about what I’ll be dealing with in another nine months. I’m not the most physically active person in the world. Truth be told, I’m lazy. I use the excuse of asthma to not participate in anything cardio-related. The running joke I have right now is that I have two choices to get back into any of the clothes I had before October: Bulimia and Anorexia.

Bulimia’s appeal is I get to eat and eat and eat, but damn it! Then I have to puke and the thought of once again having vomit go up and out my nose *shudder*…not to mention that pesky side-affect of losing one’s esophageal lining after repeated purging, not to mention my back side feeling the “burn”.

Anorexia: not eating and exercising religiously? Neither of those options appeal to me. Refer back to my statement about being lazy. Admittedly, I’m not eating much now. While I was able to finish off full course meals a few weeks ago, enough food to put a Husker football player to shame, I’m now to the point that a couple of chocolate chips or maybe a handful of marshmallows fill me up. You wouldn’t want to imply that maybe the chocolate and marshmallows may be part of my problem, do you? Keep in mind that it’s nearly summer, I’m eight months pregnant, I feel, look AND walk like a troll, and my husband said to me this morning as he kissed me good-bye: “You look like a beach bag.”

Yeah. I dare you to go there.

I’m sure I’ll be pretty distracted by a certain needy little being who won’t care how many stomach rolls I have when I sit down or that there appears to be more shadows under my eyes than above. I’ll just have to take baby steps, now won’t I?

***************************************

If you or someone close to you has suffered from either Bulimia or Anorexia, please do not take my literary jesting as not caring or that I take the diseases lightly.

Responses

  1. Like a beach bag! Wow what a great visual image.
    I, of course, think that he must be mistake. Thanks for making me laugh today.

  2. Why don’t you just get your eyebrow waxed?

  3. Hehehehe.

    I laugh, because I understand. Well that, and you sound pretty sexxy.

  4. I hate to be the hard-core blogging nerd, but there’s always T-Tapp . . .

    Foraging. Heh.

  5. Which reminds me I need to go get my unibrow threaded tomorrow. My Z finds it hysterical to wobble my tummy when I am slouched in front of teh TV. Oh how I laugh…He is 18 months now and still I’m hefting round about 12 lbs of excess I just can’t shift even with no chocolate/no cakes etc. I’m too lazy to do anything about it except moan.

    This blog.lines thing is a pain in the rear.

  6. Wow–is husband still alive? 😉

  7. I’ve given up too. I just try to comb my hair and make sure my clothes don’t clash. I cover up my dark circles if going out in public – beyond that I figure my gigantic girth and scowl on my face will distract people from caring about the rest of the package. I am afraid of how awful it will be in 6 months and I still feel like a blob.

  8. waxing helped me right before I had the baby. Waxing everything, then I knew I didn’t have to groom for awhile after the baby.

  9. I was going to ask the same thing as Christine…Is he alive?

    I’m 22 weeks today and I swear all I do is waddle now. I’ve always been big but I swear I didn’t waddle before.

  10. Feel free to be as shallow as you want. I’m not losing the weight as fast as I did before mostly due to the c-section and I’m freaking out.

    We cna be shallow together. Now go wax.

  11. I have found these: http://www.hairoff.com/brow-shapers.shtml
    do an ok job until you can get to the salon.

    You can get them at Wal-m*rt.

  12. Is Mr. DD still among the breathing? And where the hell did he come up with “beach bag” as a reference? What does that even mean? I’ve decided that he clearly meant you look summery and as if you’ve been on vacation.

    I never used to be able to understand the appeal of either breast implants or a tummy tuck but, having had P, I can now fully understand both.

  13. I know you punched him right?

    beach bag…lol…that’s a new one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

