Posted by: DD | July 13, 2008

JUST CALL ME TIPPI

 No, no, not because if you give me a push I’ll tip over like one of those crazy punching toys that has had some air let out of them (I’d say weeble wobbles, but those lucky bastards wobble “but don’t fall down.” Me? I’d not only fall, but I’m fairly sure I would bounce at least once and not get up again), but because BIRDS seem to be out to get me.

Birds #1: Driving down the road a couple of birds were flying after each other. One hit my windshield (why I ducked, I have no idea – shut up). My husband looked behind us down the road and tried to assure me it flew away. I don’t know if I should believe him. I’ve seen my share of birds fly into the house windows, and that’s a stationary object, and usually it doesn’t bode well for the bird’s head.

Bird(s) #2: Went out to my backyard to try to figure out what the hell happened to my lovely tiger lilies that were thigh high with tons of buds on them just a few weeks ago. Now? Every. Single. Plant? Gone. Disappeared. Like they never existed! I thought maybe my husband mowed them over and then moved the yard ornament so I wouldn’t be able to tell, but no. Deer or gophers. I’m not sure, however either way, I’m pissed.

Oh, yeah, the birds. So as I was walking back up to the house, a small bird flew up out of the weeds and dropped back down a ways in front of me displaying a broken wing. Immediately I knew it was because I was very close to its nest. I looked around a bit and found the tiniest little nest, no more than a few inches across and four baby birds. If I had stepped on them, I would have had to throw away my crocs…gross!

Birds #3: Again, driving down the county road and I come up over a hill and there was a pheasant hen and one of her chicks trying to cross the road. No joke. Pheasants are notoriously dumb. That would mean that pheasant youth are really, REALLY dumb. Hen runs back into the ditch. Chick runs the opposite way, stops before reaching the safety of the ditch, and then heads back the other way. What am I doing? Slamming on my brakes on a gravel road to prevent myself from running over an animal that obviously doesn’t qualify under the heading, “Survival of the Fittest” within his community.

Are these signs of something coming, a “foreshadowing”? Or do you think I’m just building up to the time I’m outside and a bird eventually shits on my head – literally?

Postscript: Did you know that Tippi Hedron is the mother of Melanie Griffith?

Also, I highly recommend this youtube video, For The Birds, by Pixar (though I hate the sound editing which changed the voice of the big bird) (I tried to embed the video, but WordPress can be as fickle as Blogger at times).

Responses

  1. My dogs just went ape shit over that you tube video!! I had to book mark that for later torture.

  2. That movie soooo gives me the creeps.

  3. Depending on your perspecitive, havin a bird shit on your head can actually be good luck. Believe me, as I was screaming in disgust visiting M. in Venice when he was living there and had it happen a cute italian man approached and soon I had a gaggle of hot tight pants men telling me that I was in good fortune. Perhaps they were thinking I was going to screw them all or perhaps they were right: bird shit in hair = good fortune.

    I am done drunk commenting for the night.

  4. Some people say a bird pooping on you is good luck. Considering I’ve had this happen to me 3 times in the past 2 years I’ll go with that.

    Maybe it means you are supposed to give Murdock a bird themed name?

  5. I’ve had 2 birds hit my car in the course of a week. One sort of bounced off the windshield (I ducked, too. shut up.) The other one didn’t fare so well. He flew right in front of me & I heard the “thud” and SAW feathers puff up. I didn’t even look at the grille, I drove straight to the carwash.

  6. That video is on one of the movies we have…. I think it’s in the very very beginning of Monsters Inc.

  7. It’s summertime and there are too many birds…that’s all…no foreshadowing or other such nonsense. But you still might want to wear a hat for a while, just to be safe. :o)

  8. Birds give me the creeps!

    But I like the video.

  9. haha, I had a bird poop on me…seriously hope, it means good luck!

    DD, it’s almost time to roll into the finish line, isn’t it? Amazing.

    it’s interesting you mention Melanie G. and pheasants in one post, maybe she’s one of them?

  10. Dude. When we were driving to the cabin last weekend, we hit a BAT with our car. That was weird.

  11. A bird pooping on you is definitely good luck.

  12. In college I took a shower (actually I took more than one but this particular shower relates to my bird story 😉
    I was freshly scrubbed and with wet hair and took off for the corner market. When I got home and tried to run a comb through my hair it got snagged on the biggest clump of bird shit that you could imagine. Somewhere in my walk, most certainly on my way TO the store I was shat upon and not one person said anything to me. Gross.

    Also…did you know Tippy owns a wild large cat farm in CA? Don’t cats kill birds…you don’t need to be a certified therapist to figure why she chose cats after that movie.


Leave a Reply

Categories

