Posted by: DD | July 29, 2008

INQUIRING MINDS

Heather asked:

….what scent would you use to cover up your smell? As in, what perfume do you wear?

I rarely wear perfume, especially since becoming pregnant as the smell was just too overwhelming. When I do, it’s for special occasions or if I’m feeling particularly “pretty”. The last bottle of perfume I bought was Glamorous by Ralph Lauren. I don’t know if it necessarily is me, but I wouldn’t know how to pick a good bottle of perfume.

Mr. DD has never bought me perfume. I tried for years to get him to try cologne, including the CK-One rage a decade (or so?) ago. No such luck. Now I just appreciate it when he takes a shower and uses deodorant.

I know a couple of women at work who wear so much perfume that I can taste it in the back of my throat long after they’ve vacated the office, and I swear my MIL bathes in Chanel No. 5. Coincidentally all of these women are older so it must be their olfactory senses that have aged and gone to shit.

Christine, who must be quite bored, asked several questions:

How many places have you lived?
Who is your favorite relative and why?
Did you like middle school?
Chocolate or chewy candy?

I grew up in Small Town. Moved to Lincoln. Moved to Wichita. Moved to Omaha. Moved to Wichita. Moved to Lincoln. Moved back to Town Bigger Than Small Town, which is my current location. The back-and-forth prior to that was when I was teaching dance and I was asked to help open a couple of new studios and train staff. My move to my current location was done when I realized I wanted to finish my degree.

My fave relative is my oldest sister. She was my Matron of Honor in my wedding. She’d be ZGirl’s Godmother if it wasn’t for the fact that I don’t want her to have to lie to the priest and say she would raise her to be a good Catholic, when my sister is basically an Atheist. It’s amazing we’re related because she’s whip-smart, ambitious and at nearly 55, could kick my ass in anything athletically related.

Hated middle school. Hated high school. Hated school. Period. Class reunions? I’d rather roll around on a bed of tacks and jump into the Dead Sea.

Chocolate, please. The only kind of chocolate I will refuse is chocolate cheese cake. Cheese  and cake  should never be used together to describe one dessert.

Katrina, who admits to being a bit hungry when she asked,

What is (are) your favorite junk food(s)? Favorite pop (soda, cola, whatev’s)? Favorite kinda cake?

Little Debbie’s Anythings. I may tell you that a lot of my pregnancy weight was water, but I must admit that some of it may have been attributed to Little Debbie’s Nutty Bars.

Not sure why, but while “pop” is the Midwestern term for carbonated drinks, the word annoys me so I say “soda”. And to answer the question, Pepsi. As for a favorite kind of cake? How could I even chose? I can only eliminate anything with coconut or “cheese” in it from the list of cakes I would eat quite happily.

Midori wants to know more about my world travels:

…if you could go anywhere in the world with anyone, where/who would it be?!

I would love to travel to all of the Mediterranean countries as I am fascinated by ancient art and architecture. I would prefer to go with Mr. DD but he would be the worst companion for that kind of trip as he has no interest in anything “cultural”. Maybe in 30 years, my children will accompany me.

Betty gets philosophical:

Which fruit will you buy after you weigh her? (referencing my obsession with ZGirl’s weight/growth)

The nectarines have been particularly tasty this summer. That or plums. And believe me, I just might sneak her onto a scale and take a pix with my phone. That is, if I could leave the confines of my home.

Erin, my lovely friend from the South, asks:

I want to know what your favorite book and/or movie of all time has been, and why?

That’s a tuffy, actually. I will watch Shawshank Redemption  every time it’s on TV. I love, love, love My Fair Lady, which has everything to do with Audrey Hepburn. As for books? I hate to admit that all my reading material is mostly on-line via blogs, but I would highly recommend the book from last year’s beach vacation, “Water for Elephants“.

Enat. Dear, dear Enat…my younger, cuter, funnier Snark Sister is looking for shopping tips:

…how about telling me more about your antique store finds. I am remodeling our bathroom and need inspiration for a funky vanity.

Antique shopping in Nebraska is really a hit or miss. It’s best done at farmstead auctions and not via some shop. I find it funny what some people will pay for certain items that my Mom and Dad call “junk”, usually because they are still using it. Like this chicken catcher. Or old cream cans, of which we have a dozen or more in the barn filled with my Dad’s canceled checks from 50, 60 years ago. Right now, I only have a few small things here and there: black art deco glass salt and pepper shakers; a 6 gallon crock in perfect condition; a plaster stringer shaped like a kitten…antiques are the only “knick-knacks” you will find in my home.

By the way, Enat, I’m totally picturing something like this or this, if it’s for the bathroom I’m thinking of.

Cat wants to know,

What is your favorite dance?

Rumba. I still dance by myself when the mood catches, just to see if I remember.

Beagle gets to round up the questions with this:

About your past and/or future clay endeavors! I think you hinted at an interest and or past experience pottery, no?

I have a BS in Art. Raise your hands if you knew that. While the college wasn’t necessarily known for its arts program, I was lucky to be exposed to several kinds of mediums, including clay and a little porcelain. I also learned a little about raku, a particular process of finishing pottery, and as you can see from Beagle’s etsy shop, a specialty of hers.

When Mr. DD and I built this house, we set aside an area in the basement for when (or if) I ever get back on a pottery wheel. The time for it is ever looming in the future, and at this point I don’t know if it’ll ever happen. A hobby for when I become an elderly and more crotchety woman.

OK, time to get this SOB published. It’s taken me two whole days to get thing pounded out. I wonder how long it’ll take for me to tell you about Mr. DD’s recent (and hopefully – temporary) case of assholiness…

Responses

  1. I am impressed. Man you are dang good, about many o many of things, but that 2nd option is one of our bathroom finalists. Great minds think alike.

    I love the added shots of Z Girl. She is beautiful.

  2. I am also impressed that you managed to form complete sentences this soon after birthin’ a person!
    Way to go!

    (And my favorite cake is white cake with brown sugar frosting.) ;o)

  3. I hate cheesecake too. And any cake with cream cheese frosting. I just find the whole concept troubling and I’m very glad to find someone who feels the same way.

  4. I love this kind of post . . . now we know all your “secrets!”

  5. I had to take a few deep breaths and another bite of birthday cake when I read that you didn’t like cheesecake.

    I’ll pray for you.

  6. Oh hell, how did I miss the Q&A and not get to submit a question?

    Btw, it’s soda here (Pop is a weird word for soda), and my choice is definitely NOT Pepsi. 😉

    An ART major??? Really? Oh, I so had you pegged as an English major.

  7. OMG, Nutty Bars are my biggest trigger food ever. In fact, I had a box in my cart for most of my shopping trip at Kmart last night, but abandoned it right before I hit the checkout.

  8. Is Mr. DD still home with you? It must be something in the air, because MFH has a temporary case of it as well.

    One of our morning rituals is for The Boy to spray my scent on for me. I am trying to teach him that less is more.

  9. I love these kinds of posts.

    I thought I was the only person in the whole world who doesn’t like cheesecake. Everyone always stares at me funny when I refuse cheesecake.

    I took some pottery classes when I was in college and would love to do it again someday, too.

  10. Its not the cheese I hate in cheesecake but the biscuit base – yukk.

    I’m a bit of pot girl – collecting not making though.

  11. OK, someone has to step in and defend cheesecake.

    Just because it is not entirely what it boasts, although people cream cheese is technically cheese, it has it’s own possitive attributes. Listed below are a few:

    1. strawberry cheesecake blizzard from DQ
    2. heavy cream is part of the recipe
    3. you can top it with anything, even alcohol like Chambord
    4. You can eat it with whipped cream
    5. It can even be made to be somewhat savory, like the pumpkin variety
    6. You can double crust it by adding a layer of melted chocolate on the graham crust
    7. It allows me to use the springform pan and then people think I am a fancy baker – HA!

    Like Piquant Molly, I will pray for you. I will pray to my cheesecake god for that matter.


Leave a Reply

Categories

