Posted by: DD | September 28, 2008

GETTING BETTER

As I was watching ZGirl winding herself up out of either boredom, exhaustion or hunger, it suddenly occurred to me that her mode of locomotion reminded me of Elaine’s dance on Seinfeld. All hurky-jerky with the spastic leg kicks that come from muscle contractions going off like a year old bag of popcorn.

I’m also quite envious of her ab strength. Can you lay on the floor and without any kind of outward exertion, lift both feet and legs straight up? If you can, good for you and for the record, I hate you.

She’s in the best mood in the morning. A dead give-away that she’s can’t possibly have any biological connection to me. She actually will play very quietly and happily for a while before letting out a sqwak that she wants to be fed, and even then, we can leisurely change her diaper and play for a few minutes as she gets absolutely giddy once she is put on the changing table. Really. GIDDY. To see her at those moments is visual caffeine for us.

The caveat is that those smiles that you can’t help but smile back to? They are not reserved for just Mom, Dad and big brother. I’ve caught her smiling broadly at the ceiling fans, recessed lights, and the pattern of her bassinet fabric.

Bottle feeding is coming along albeit slowly. Mr. DD has the hardest time. I can usually get her to start once she gets distracted by the bathroom fan and the bright lights above the mirror. My husband had the nerve to tell me that daycare won’t be turning on fans or running water to get her to take a bottle. My response? Why the hell not. I’ll even bet the care giver will change her shitty diapers!

In closing, I am reviewing* two items baby-related. One will get a thumbs up, the other, a thumbs down. First the down:

The Kiddopatomus swaddler. Diaper changes are difficult and after you have the baby locked down by all that velcro, once you figure out the schematics of its NASA-like design, getting it back open, especially if you don’t want to disturb the baby encased inside, is difficult. The overly large patches of velcro are noisy and godforbid you accidentally let a patch of hook land on a non-corresponding patch of eye. You’ll end up with a baby sized Chinese finger puzzle.

For the thumbs up? I really love the Halo sleepsack blanket. Since it’s sleeveless, the baby’s arms won’t disappear inside the sack (I use long-sleeved onesies to keep ZGirl’s arms comfortable). The v-neck means no bunching up under the chin, and the zip from the top to the bottom means the zipper tab won’t be under her chin, either. If I had one complaint about it (and to be frank, I have one complaint about everything), it’s that I have never understood why manufacturers put the soft, comfy side on the OUTSIDE of the garment, instead of the inside. Sure I love the pelt-like feel of the Halo, but petting the baby isn’t necessarily conducive to either of us getting much sleep.

* My reviews are a free service of this blog. I guess if you need to shop for either yourself or a friend, you may as well take advantage of my hit and miss nature.

Responses

  1. Oooooh…Good post. I’ve had my eye on those halo sleepsacks, and had another mom say they were great, so I count two recommendations as a sure thing.

    Not sure about the swaddlers. My husband keeps insisting he’s the “king of burritoing babies”, so – I assume that means I get to wake him up at all hours to re-swaddle the baby, yes?

  2. I have been using the sleep sacks since Ellie was about 3 months old, she’s now 16 months and I love them. I bought a pattern to make them but of course have been to lazy and preoccupied to get moving on that project but need to because she’s going to be outgrowing our current size. She’s in a medium which we’ve been using since she was about 6 months old. They are well worth the money.

    I’m with you on the soft side out thing – what’s up with that?

  3. You know that I have just been lying on the floor trying to do the leg thing right?
    I loved our equivalent of the halo sleepsack – the Grobag – although they did have to be a certain weight to start.

  4. I never had luck with the swaddler either. But then again, I had a baby who defied even hospital nurse swaddling….

  5. I like the halo sleep sack too. I didn’t have to worry about Max getting chilly in the A/C.

  6. 🙂

    Yep- mine smile at downlights rather a lot. It does tend to make me feel rather easily replaceable….

    J

  7. We’ve just stopped using the sleepsack with Ant at two because he doesn’t want to wear it anymore. Been fantastic up ’til now though!

  8. Glad it’s getting better. Those first weeks are so incredibly hard to deal with.

  9. I can’t tell you how much I loved the Kiddopatomus swaddlers. LOVED. I never changed Kenna’s diaper when she was sleeping – I always waited until she was awake – so I didn’t have an issue with disturbing her. She wasn’t much of a pooper, though, and to this day has only pooped once at night. For the next one (fingers crossed) I am going to get muslin swaddle blankets, too. I didn’t mind wrapping her with a regular blanket, but since it was summer, the velcro swaddlers were thinner and cooler.

  10. I too thought the kiddo version stunk and so glad you love halo too! did you know, halo makes a sleepsack with a swaddle band for 6-12 lbs. so you never have to buy a swaddle me – ever – and i think they are junk!. The wings come off so you can get them into the Sleepsack right away if they don’t like swaddling, cuz its 2 in 1! Bang for your buck!

  11. “She’s in the best mood in the morning. A dead give-away that she’s can’t possibly have any biological connection to me.”

    I love this!

    I am so thankful some days, specifically, that N is not genetically related to me: He is also much better natured than I am. I can get him from crying to grinning in minutes. Me? I can maintain a sour mood for days.

  12. I can’t stop picturing Zgirl dancing like Elaine. That’s just too funny.

    There was a pose we did in yoga class yesterday called something like “blissful baby”, on our backs with our legs up. We were far from giddy. Far far far from it.

    I look forward to many more product reviews from you.

  13. Those sleeping blankets are the biz!

    They’re all the rage in France and have been for years. They’re only starting to get the bug in England!

  14. I too love the Halo sleepsacks (although I wish they were a little cheaper)! Wait until she gets older and you see her running around in one. It’s very funny to watch.

    I never used those swaddler things (just plain old blankets), but we had to use danny slings when we elevated the beds. They too had the most obnoxious velcro that was so loud I felt I could wake the neighbors. It was horrible having to startle them when it was time to eat (since we had to be on a strict eating schedule due to our size).


Leave a Reply

Categories

