Posted by: DD | November 3, 2008

MY VERY OWN POLITICAL POST

Guess what we did for “Day of the Dead” (Sunday, November 2nd), or if you prefer, “All Souls’ Day”? We decided to baptize ZGirl. I found it fitting, actually. A strange sense of irony since her christening also marked ZGirl’s official first year of life, if you go by McCain/Palin and the ever progressive (*sarcasm*) Catholic church. Yep, Miss H. was busy working on becoming an embryo this time a year ago. She’s changed so much since then. You know, by getting fingers, toes, a heart and a rather productive digestive system, and all that stuff that makes her an eating, sleeping and pooping machine.

So, uh, yeah. About the political reference. Let me explain. We of course put on the show of being good Catholics by going to Mass prior to her scheduled baptism. That’s when Father used the Homily time to recite the letter from the Omaha Archdiosece Archbishop Elden Curtiss regarding the 2008 Election.

Now of course Curtiss doesn’t specifically  name either candidate or party, but the message is quite clear, and in not so few words, “Down with that heretic, Obama!”. Here is the link to the letter itself, if you would like to read it.

He writes,

There are many serious issues at stake in this election, but none is more important than abortion.

I beg to differ. Hello? Has Curtiss so firmly shoved his head into his mitre that he has failed to take note of the economy? Or hey! Howz about that little “skirmish” over there in Iraq, which some are melodramatically calling a “war”? Pffft. *wave of hand* Those? They are immaterial issues, dear ladies and gentlemen.

He continues,

Almost 50 million babies have been aborted in the United States since 1973, an unfathomable loss of human life that increases by more than a million every year.

Whatchu talkin’ ’bout, Curtiss?

I think your researcher needs to attend confession and request absolution for telling a big fat lie to not only you, the Archbishop, but to thousands of parishioners. According to this chart, not only is the rate of abortions in the U.S. decreasing, and has been since 1990, but in the 35 years since abortion has been legal there has never  been an increase by a million in any  year. In fact, according to this table, even if I use estimated number of abortions (which is higher than reported), the largest increase in any one year was just shy of 154,000…in 1974. If you were to figure a million exponentially (using the Curtiss method of ‘rithmatic), that comes out to roughly 560,000,000. Not to be picky but obviously the numbers don’t jive.

Lastly, this line, stuck in my head,

Our Holy Father, Pope Benedict XVI, has stated with clarity that Catholics who vote for a candidate precisely because he or she supports abortion and/or euthanasia would be guilty of formal cooperation in evil.

I would have to sincerely hope that anyone who has the privilege of being able to vote in this, or any election, would consider any candidate on his or her issues in their entirety, not because of any one “little” issue; and if they didn’t, then they should burn for eternity for just being stupid and narrow-minded.

Except of course, when it suits their most Holinesses.

Responses

  1. I don’t think choice is a little issue…but I think there are many other things we need to concern ourselves with.

    And with some of the conservative view points on abortion, I should be charged with 3 counts of involuntary manslaughter when my body decided to spontaneously abort 3 fetuses. And I should have been able to vote twice in the primary because I’ve recently heard that CO is trying to pass a law stating that fetuses have the same rights as people who don’t live in amniotic fluid.

  2. I was baptized on All Soul’s Day, too! I hope it was a lovely day for you all. 🙂

  3. One-issue voters drive me absolutely bonkers. It’s so ridiculously ignorant, I can hardly believe it. The economy, the war, the state of education in the U.S? Those affect everyone, and clearly that’s too much for our little peabrains to handle. Let’s focus on an issue that affects women’s own personal bodies! A minority of the total population of women at that! One uterus–that’s all we can focus on.

    Bah.

  4. Sigh, they are likely just freaking because their influence is waning over the years on issues “below the waist.”

    http://www.latimes.com/features/religion/la-oe-rutten29-2008oct29,0,2918246.column?track=rss

    Meanwhile, every one of the sanctimonious bastards seems to be forgetting critical issues like taking care of the poor, and the sick. There is actually an entire school of theology devoted to why the church’s focus should be on the preferential option for the poor, and yet these guys continually go on like the only thing that matters is genitals.

    These are the moments when I am truly ashamed to be Catholic.

  5. My neighbor’s car (big giant Buick) is plastered with Republican candidates’ bumper stickers including one that says something like “vote pro-life, vote McCain/Palin.” Which is really freaking ironic because I live in TEXAS where it seems like every day the news crawl on tv includes a blurb about the latest person executed.

    I believe in choice and its importance but I’m with you, there are much bigger issues that more directly impact my life right now.

  6. I’m kind of a one issue voter. But then again the candidates who support my one issue also support other issues I care about. I don’t know what would happen if the world turned upside down and suddenly my issue was touted by folks who believed everything else differently, but I try not to worry about that.

  7. I think it’s wise to look at the big picture. I nver get those bumper stickers that declare the car’s occupant(s) as one issue voters (pro life, pro choice NRA . . . )

    There is a lot at stake but alas . . . I can’t vote in this one.

  8. I think you are in a great position to help split those electoral college votes since your state is only 1 of 2 that allows it.

    I have high hopes for tomorrow. Really high hopes.

  9. I am an abortion voter. Prior to about 1990, I was Republican and you could eek out a pro-choice candidate to vote for. That changed, so I changed. Besides a befuddled vote for Perot, I’ve had to go Democratic, although I would prefer Libertarian if it were feasible.

    So, yeah, my ballot has to be pro-choice, no doubt about it.

  10. Just another one of the reasons I have to bite my tounge around my very Republican and Catholic in laws. At least they have been supportive of Dh and I thought all of our IF issues.


Leave a Reply

Categories

