Posted by: DD | December 15, 2008

TEACHER TIPPING

A letter came home with XBoy about a collection for his teacher’s Christmas/Birthday present.

I put $5.00 into an envelope – after I asked XBoy if he wanted to contribute – and put that into his backpack.

“Do you think $5.00 is enough?” asked Mr. DD.

“It’s plenty.”

“Well, she’s doing those reports and giving XBoy extra time,” he responds.

“I am NOT tipping his teacher for doing her job. So what if she has to spend extra time with XBoy? Parents shouldn’t have to slip her a $20 to make sure each of her students get the attention they require to succeed.”

“Damn. You’re crabby!” Mr. DD points out.

I confirm his astute observation by telling him to piss off.

Responses

  1. While it should be appreciated if she is going above and beyond, that doesn’t equal money. A nice note or a plate of (store bought) cookies, not necessarily cash. It is her job.

  2. Moxie has a great post on this. But I was hoping for a post more along the lines of cow tipping but with teachers. bummer

  3. $5.00 is absolutely plenty, especially since the money is going to be pooled to buy a gift. When I was teaching I felt a little uncomfortable when parents spent any more than $10. But like Heather above said, a nicely written thank you note is the best gift ever! I used to keep all of the nice notes from parents in my top desk drawer to look at after a bad day or after dealing with an icky parent.

  4. We just got a letter from “LunchMom”.
    We have the teacher and 2 “helpers” to gift this year. I had originally thought Mag could get her teachers little gifts at the Santa’s Secret Shop, but this is easier for me.

  5. I have to agree with Jennifer. I taught for one year and I felt really awkward about Christmas presents from my students in general. I appreciated the ones either I could tell the kids picked out themselves (a giant chocolate bar from one of my boys that I turned into peanut clusters and then shared with the kids) or that they made. I will say I found the tiny boxes people give to teachers to be useless because really, even though I know it doesn’t seem like it, I don’t do crack and there’s absolutely nothing else that will fit into one of those teeny boxes.

  6. I would have to agree about not tipping money to teachers because they’re doing their job.
    Now, we do give a “bonus” at Christmas for our daycare/preschool provider because it’s just her wrangling 7 kids. Plus, she’s wrangling K and he can be a handful the likes no one has seen before!
    I guess that’s a bit hypocritcal: don’t tip a teacher but “tip” the daycare/preschool provider.
    Seems to me, though, that teachers get benefits/vacation days/more money than an in-home provider does so I’m not feeling too guilty about my hypocrisy.

  7. As a teacher, I have to say that I am uncomfortable receiving gifts from students. However, a thoughtful letter/thank you note goes the distance to reenergize during this busy time of the year. Also, my favorite gift would be a book or game donated to the classroom for indoor recess/our library! Your child could pick it out, too (and could be cheap!).

  8. I have to agree with everyone else here. I think tipping for someone that is paid to do the full scope of their job, not someone who is paid less on the assumption of tipping, just doesn’t seem right. I don’t feel comfortable with it and I’m glad to know there are teachers out there that confirm it’s also not comfortable for them.


Leave a Reply

Categories

