Posted by: DD | February 8, 2009

QUADS THE NATURAL WAY

0208-max-and-hazel-at-roy-and-cams-24My brother and his wife raise some sheep on their farm. Last Monday, my SIL (not the one I rant about) called me with exciting news: the first birth of the season was to quads.

The ewes of this particular breed of ship very commonly throw twins, so multiples aren’t unusual. But four? All healthy? A lovely way for them to start the birthing season.

This weekend we went to go see them. It’s amazing how they have grown in a week. Keep in mind that ewes only have two teats. That poor ewe is probably sleeping on her feet, literally, since bottle feeding hasn’t been necessary. My brother and his wife also are feeding her twice what other ewes get.

I had forgotten until I saw them how damn cute lambs are.0208-max-and-hazel-at-roy-and-cams-19

Responses

  1. Oh yes, they look like Katahdins. I swear my kid thinks I’m about to have lambs, when he sees these two babies are humans and not lambs (which he calls babies) he’s going to flip.

    I have a friend who has a ewe and she lambs trips or quads every year! And they’ve never had t supplement. Very cool.

  2. How freaking adorable! I wish I could come visit! 🙂

  3. Very sweet… especially the little spotted one.

  4. Poor Momma. I can’t imagine – does she get lanolin?

    They are adorable though.

  5. So, has X-boy been begging for one for the house? He looks pretty darn cute holding that little one 🙂

  6. I want one!

  7. I love that photo of xboy and what a great experience for him!

    And am I retarded . . . but do lambs and kids (ie baby goats) look a lot alike?? If the ewe were not in the photo I would have thought these were goats. Well, the one he’s holding anyway.

    Man, am I that much of an urban girl??

  8. In college I volunteered on a Heifer Project farm, and one time a goat had triplets. There was one not getting enough, so I milked other goats and bottle-fed the kid. I like to think of it as an early introduction to exclusive pumping.

  9. My god, baby animals are just KILLING me lately. Saw a baby macaque at the Baton Rouge zoo yesterday and nearly melted from the cuteness.

  10. That pic of xboy is priceless. I LOVE it!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

