Posted by: DD | March 2, 2009

GIVE IT UP

It’s a good thing I’m sending XBoy to a Catholic school or else I wouldn’t know that it was Lent. I totally blew off Ash Wednesday. Not that I would have done anything different, but you know, I like to keep on top of things around me.

My son has magnanimously decided to give up his Nintendo DS for Lent. Without any prompting whatsoever from us. As kids, Mom would make us give up chocolate with only St. Patrick’s Day giving any reprieve with the traditional gold-foiled wrapped chocolate coins. It only became a hardship when I reached my teen years and something called “PMS” would drive me to the brink.

After I left home, I didn’t partake in this particular custom surrounding Lent. Until I had XBoy, that is.

So I’ve decided that this year for Lent, I’m going to give up swearing on my blog.

I think that’s a rather impressive if you consider that out of  1,060 published posts, I’ve said “fuck” in 215 of them. That’s not taking into consideration all the other four-letter words I’ve dropped without nary a second thought.

So….what did you give up for the Lenten season?

Responses

  1. Err nothing. Not one for privations me. Not a Christian either so presumably privations or no not getting into heaven anyway!

  2. I gave up participating in Lent.

    • I will again. In 18 years.

  3. Well see I wait until Lent is almost over then I look back and try to figure out what the heck I haven’t had over the past month and that is what I give up. Considering I totally forgot about Ash Wednesday and ate a nice pepporoni pizza on Friday, it looks like I’m off to another good start!

    • HA! That’s exactly what I did! And dang, that pizza was THE best I’ve ever had.

  4. I was going to give up wine, but changed my mind.

    I gave up negativity.

    I will not participate in gossip, naysaying or my typical, “everything sucks” attitude.

    We got a really bad winter storm last night, they predicted 6-10 inches and we only got about 4 (typical men, always exaggerating ;)) and while I was scraping the ice off the car, instead of bitching about it, I was trying to see the beauty in it

    Our priest gave a beautiful homily on Ash Wednesday asking us to GAIN something instead of giving up something. Pray the Rosary every day, do a charitable deed every day, instead of buying a $4 cup of coffe, put that money in the Operation Ricebowl and feed 2 children who otherwise would go hungry that day, help out at a homeless shelter etc etc.

    So far, I seem to be doing ok with it.

  5. Cookies and cake and similar sweets. I’m also working on giving up blaming and resentment, but that’s a longer term project.

  6. Exercise.

    I kid. I don’t participate in Lent. I’m a heathen like that.

  7. I didn’t give up anything. I added more prayer. Lent is the season of preparation and I figure that is a better way to prepare.

  8. Well, I didn’t really give up anything either…ice tea. I usually have that at lunch and I’ve decided to do without. But my stepkids go to Catholic school too and the 3rd grader is praying a rosary everyday (and gave up his DS) so we are praying the rosary as a family each day this Lent.

  9. I gave up taking my computer to class with me. Tonight was the first night (I don’t have school every day), it was actually refreshing!


Leave a Reply

Categories

