Posted by: DD | March 10, 2009

WELLNESS CHECK

My dad is doing well, all things considered. Today, just four days after the accident, they are discharging him to the nursing home for intensive physical therapy. Sunday they introduced him to a walker and it was a miserable first attempt. He has had carpal tunnel in both wrists for years and while one wrist was operated on, it continues to be bothersome and since he felt little relief, he didn’t bother with the second. His upper body strength does not lend itself to a walker. However, Monday he proudly announced that he made it all the way out to the hall. Considering that his first attempt got him standing only, it was a vast improvement.

BTW, if your man has a magazine subscription, I beg you to bring his old issues to the local hospital (if they accept). I went on a hunt through the waiting rooms for something for him to read only to find Vogue, Good Housekeeping, and endless other feminine reading materials. Or if your husband doesn’t have anything, buy a subscription that appeals for men to be delivered to a certain area of the hospital out of the goodness of your heart.

My mom had also brought him some things to make him feel human: a razor, clean underwear, and his glasses. He did opt out of her bringing his dentures. He only wears them for trips into town anyway.

Speaking of teeth, right now my daughter is sitting on the floor cursing the teeth that are yet meant to be. Baby-cussing is awesome.You know it’s baby-cussing when they frown while they babble and it crescendos into a screech.

The spot of ringworm, which as OvaGirl pointed out is in fact NOT a worm but a fungus of the dermis, is at the top of her chest, directly below her chin. I actually noticed what I had thought was a rash created from the incessent water-works dribbling from her mouth a couple weeks ago. It almost disappeared last week and then Saturday is was back with a vengeance. Crusty and the size of a nickel, I even said to Mr. DD that it might be ringworm.

Thump me on the head now, because when I dropped her off at daycare Monday morning I pointed it out to one of the staff and instructed her just to keep it covered and dry via a bib. Apparently, she pointed it out to the Director who called me and said it was in their handbook that children with ringworm could not be in the center.

Funny how the kids are allowed to come and literally seep their snotty noses all over each other via the handling of mutual toys, or even their personal blankets in a non-stop snot-fest, yet this – fungus – is something to quarantine. Both are contagious, obviously, since she also then confirmed that another child had had ringworm a couple months earlier (jeez, a heads up would have been nice), but I would think the kid who wipes their snot on everything in sight would be more of a health hazard. But, whatever. The deed is done and frankly, so are we.

I filed an official complaint today even though I had pangs of guilt. I know I shouldn’t feel guilty, but seriously? Ever since she joined the 4-18mos old, she’s been sick non-stop. And would you believe that when I tell people about it, I’m asked if I breastfed? Makes me want to poke a sharp stick in their eye. Proof positive that breastfeeding your kid doesn’t NOT make them uber-immune.

If I make it through the rest of Lent without dropping the f-bomb here, it’ll be a minor miracle.

Responses

  1. I had to file a complaint with a daycare Alex went to when he was less then a year because the lady was smoking in the upstairs play area. Yeah, it was certified through the State too. Granted that was almost 16 years ago now but still.
    I hope your dad and your baby get better soon. Good luck with the daycare situation.

  2. I hope your dad continues to improve.

    I had “ringworm” on my leg when I was in high school – it was like the size of a half-dollar! round ring, red ITCHY thing. We think I got it from not washing the towels often enough – of course that was the era of high school athletics and gym classes – so that’s no mystery.

    It does amaze me that ringworm is a “quarantinable” condition for daycare but being deathly ill and contagious is NOT?

    And personally, I haven’t seen lots of correlation between breastfeeding and sickness vulnerabililty in the moms/kids that I’ve known, including myself. Has lots more to do with environment.

  3. Good to hear your dad is improving.

    Really, any new magazine in some waiting rooms/areas would be welcomed!

    Hope z-girls ringworm goes away quickly.

  4. Shit like that pisses me off. Mini obviously wasn’t breastfed. I can count the number of times on one hand that he’s been sick. Never more than a cold and he’s had two fevers his entire life. And at 2, that’s pretty amazing. I think a lot of it has to do with genetics (i.e. if you were sick a lot growing up, etc), but also, yes, they’re sharing A LOT of germs and it makes me also wonder how often they’re really cleaning down those toys.

    I’m not saying this as a dig against people who breastfeed. I know it’s the best thing for your kid and all, but why does it have to be such a fucking hot button issue? Isn’t parenting hard enough without people getting all judgey on your ass? Like I don’t deal with enough guilt about every single aspect of parenting already?

    Hopefully the ringworm clears up and I hope to god those assholes at daycare get their heads out of their asses.

  5. Is that what you gave up for lent?! Cursing?!

    • Yes. A poorly timed sacrifice if I do say so myself.

  6. OH please. I breastfed Eldest, and she as sick from about a week after she started daycare (at 4 months) until she was 3. Constant runny nose, cough, etc. Chicken pox. We managed to avoid the hand, foot, and mouth, and some of the other ugly rashes, but yeah – the breastfeeding did nothing to protect her from that germ fest.

  7. Breastfeeding only works that way if you are continously bfing all the time, and therefore the baby is still getting the germs, but maybe only getting the bad version occasionally. Like ringworm but only 1mm wide.

    Anyway, it is what it is. Just think, she’ll never be sick when she is in elementary school.

    Ever.

    • Wouldn’t THAT be nice….

  8. I hope your dad continues to improve. Great idea donating men’s magazines to the hospital. I never thought of that..

    K was (is) sick a lot thanks to daycare. As you know, the second year isn’t nearly as bad. That being said, what are the cleaning procedures for the infant rooms? At K’s daycare they ran all the toys through the dishwasher every night or the washing machine/dryer. Blankets and sheets were washed every night as well (they are provided by the center). I think this helped curb some of the illness spread but when they got mobile all bets were off.

    I hope the ringworm clears up soon (and, btw, you should of been notified that there was a case of ringworm previously in the classroom).

    • Those will be some questions for the Director when I return. While parents were asked to bring their own blankets for their children, there’s absolutely no guarantee that they are getting washed every night. Now if the dc provided it? They would HAVE to.

      I’ll tell you right now that as soon as ZGirl gets home, anything she had on or with her goes to the laundry.

  9. I breastfed for 13 months and I think it helps to a point. The point being until they start putting everything under the sun in their mouths and being exposed to other kids, no amount of breastmilk will kill whatever lurks on that grocery cart handle or the dog’s paw (yeah, my kid put the dogs paws in her mouth).

  10. Yikes. Your poor daddy. Head butted by a horse? That’s got to hurt. BIG TIME. I flashbacked to getting a similar call when my dad ended up taking a spill. There’s nothing tougher than seeing the pater familias in the hospital…

    MEMO TO DD’s FAMILY:
    Stay healthy, okay?

  11. Glad your father is doing well – we have years worth of “Car” magazine in a storage unit that I would dearly love to ship 3000 miles away!

    Day care = germs. I’m sorry they have all decided to come at once. I did read a couple of studies which showed he germs to be a real positive but it sure doesn’t feel like it at the time.


Leave a Reply

Categories

