Posted by: DD | April 8, 2009

SUNSHINE SALLY

Someone actually had the audacity – no, the unmitigated GALL – to call me, ME, a whiner (good thing I really, really like her AND her truncated posts).

[Looking back on posts: gift bags, truncated posts, work, spousal stupidity, blog pandering…]

Hmmm, she’s right. Griping comes easy when I’ve got no one to bitch to for nine hours of the day except you out there. I’ve tried just doing quick email exchanges, but for some reason after the third reply, the recipient bores of me and doesn’t respond back. Wait. Was that a complaint?

Here’s what’s going on lately that is most decidedly Good.

My nephew’s wife is going to have a baby this summer. Their first. A girl. Her initials were going to be DRAG, but they decided to condense the two middle names into one so not it’s just DRG. Personally, I think DRAG would be awesome. They’ve had their own struggles to get this far, so it’s good to hear her talk about how the baby is playing hopscotch on her bladder.

My friend from work, the one who has been trying to have a baby now for four years? She finally has taken a leap of faith and went to her OB for assistance. She’s on her second cycle of clomid. The first on just 50mg was their first indication that her ovaries are lazy. If there is anyone I will wish success for on just clomid and timed sex, it will be her.

My dad is home from the nursing home. He told the doctor, “Let me go home or I’ll run your ass over with a corn picker.” Not really, but he is home and technically, it’s possible as he’s nearly as blind as a bat and he could easily mistake a man walking in a field as a shock of corn – if a man, his doctor, was walking in a field that is.

XBoy had much improved marks for his third quarter at school. I credit the daytrana patch. While we resisted until the bitter end accepting he might be ADHD and need medication, it has been a godsend. He even lost five pounds, which moved him from “husky” territory back to “regular”.

Before this weekend’s snow storm, it looked as if all my trees survived another winter, including the sad-sack of a crabtree I planted last fall after it sat all summer in a pot in the drive way getting blown over and having most of its branches broke off. Creative pruning, I say.

The 20 loads of soil that had been sitting in our front yard for a year and a half, that made it look from the road that another basement had been dug next to our house, was FINALLY moved to the back yard where it belonged. Our Dirt Dude was suppose to move it last spring, but because of an abnormally wet season, he was unable to (the soil is actually clay; clay and big machinery fitted with tracks? Arch nemeses.). This means that maybe, just maybe, we might be able to plant a yard back there.

On the same line, we put in a sprinkler system in the front yard last fall. I can’t wait to use it! And mow! You know how I love to mow and this year I won’t be five, six or seven months pregnant. Woot!

Finally, ZGirl. My little, baby girl…at almost 9 months, she’s crawling. She claps. She raises both arms overhead when I say, “Yahoo!” She’s trying desperately to cruise. She is wearing 12 month sized clothes because she’s so long. Still not a big solids eater, but she’ll go through a box of cheerios if you let her. She makes my heart sigh contentedly.

img_2724

See? Sometimes a kick in the butt to remind me that things aren’t too bad benefits you as well as myself. You got a whole ‘nother post out of me. And it’s not truncated!

Responses

  1. That is SUCH a great picture.

    Listen to you, all cheery and stuff… lol!

  2. Seriously, I *LOVE* that picture! So natural and joyful 🙂

  3. I *is* good to see the happy in you.

    I never saw any hint of “husky” in X-boy….I just see the cute. Z-Girl has Mr DD’s smile. Carrots or sweet potatoes?

  4. Great news re X Boy. Lovely photo. Nice to read all the happy stuff.

  5. oh, they are just so cute together!

  6. Who are you and what have you done with our DD?

    😉

  7. I was gonna get all bitchy about the email thing…..but that’s just me being on edge after watching the internet implode because of a little girl today. Anyway, I enjoy exchanging emails with you but I had lost my blackberry and now I need to sleep away every moment that I can steal. I’m sorry.
    blah blah me blah blah you friends forev

  8. LONG LIVE TRUNCATED POSTS…LONG LIVE TRUNCATED POSTS!

    Not bad DD, not bad, you had to get my name in there huh, thanks for the publicity, still you did manage one whine, oh deary me, not quite cured yet huh, we’ll get there in the end 🙂

    Glad your boys meds are doing the trick and he is adorable, lovely chocolate eyes and of course xgirl is as adorable as ever. How are they getting on together?

  9. Oh my GOD they’re both SCRUMPTIOUS!

  10. Ahh, this is so nice to read. 🙂

    Z Girl is starting to look a bit gingery — are you going to have a redhead on your hands?

    Very glad the meds are working out for X. Such a relief.

  11. That truly is a great picture of your two. Better than any professional portrait . . . one you can see the real in them. Real happiness.

  12. What a fabulous picture!! I am so glad to read the contentment in your post. Looking at ZGirl gives me hope.

  13. That is definitely a picture/moment to cherish! What could be better than to see your kids smile like that?!?

  14. I love this picture. Xboy looks so skinny.


Leave a Reply

Categories

