Posted by: DD | April 15, 2009

MY MOM WENT TO WALLYWORLD AND ALL SHE GOT WAS THIS STUPID BABY

bag-baby1

This picture is visual proof that somewhere out there is a store that you can go in and get all your baby supplies including the baby. Now, someone please tell me, where the hell is it?

*********************

The picture is from an article out of Mail Online, the best source of serious European journalism if ever there was one.

Parents spend £27,500 ($41,000)  on their children before they reach the age of three, it was revealed yesterday.

Two-thirds (£18,000/$26,000) of that amount is spent before the youngsters’ first birthday, according to a study of 3,000 mothers by Gurgle.com, a social networking site for new parents.

It found that the costs start piling up even before conception, with many women splashing out on weekends away (17 per cent) and treatments such as acupuncture (13 per cent) to get pregnant.

Expectant mothers then spend an average of £4,000 ($6,000) – including £91.45 ($136) on clothes and £71.79 ($107) on toys – on the unborn baby.

Some 94 per cent of parents also bought their child a Christmas and birthday present in the first year, spending an average of £68.83 ($103) – despite admitting that their baby was far too young to remember the gift.

The high cost of raising children meant 40 per cent of parents said the credit crunch has affected the desire to expand their family.

But Nifa McLaughlin of Gurgle said: ‘There are lots of ways to keep the costs down, from accepting hand-me-downs to making your own baby clothes to knowing where to go for free activities.’

So I go to Gurgle.com, register, find tools, and then the baby calculator, which is preceded by this blurb:

BABY BUDGET CALCULATOR, BUDGETING FOR BABY (redundant much?)

Here at gurgle we know that babies cost a lot of money, in fact parenting in general costs a lot of money.

In times of recession and financial crisis parents may have to dig deep into their pockets.

That’s why we’ve created a baby budget calculator to help you to plan ahead and be more financially prepared when it comes to budgeting for baby!

Simply fill out your details below and we’ll work out what you could spend over the first three years of your child’s life.

 
Cool, huh??

Oh, wait. There’s nothing there. No calculator, no number-cruncher, nada. Just a blank box. Maybe Gurgle.com was budget-cutting and cut the calculator tool. The only thing the calculator told me was that if THAT is what they (Gurgle) were basing their “study” on, then Gurgle? THAT is not a study. That’s a bunch of baby-dust snorting and bits-crossing women making up wish lists for their potential oh-em-gee!-we’re-going-to-have-a-BABEEEE! *blargh*

What slays me is this statement, “It found that the costs start piling up even before conception.” How much BEFORE conception are we talking about? I know we wracked up quite an amount before we had XBoy, what with getting married and buying a house. So what if it was three years before his conception? With ZGirl, we plunked down a mere 20% of that $41K FOR her conception. I wonder if they are figuring in the vacations these couples take to “just relax” before they conceive?

On the other hand, I really think they are under-reporting the amount spent on clothes and toys since a stupid bumbo is $35 alone (or does that not count as a toy?).

Let’s get some real information based on REAL women:

  • How much did you spend on trying to get pregnant “naturally” (vacations, massage oils, wine, etc)?
  • How much did you spend on homeopathic remedies (acupuncture, massages, supplements, wine, etc.)?
  • How much did you spend on fertility treatments (office visits, scans, drugs, procedures, wine, etc.)?
  • How much did you spend on disposables (tampons/pads, FREDs, OPKs, wine, etc.)?
  • And finally, for those this applies to, how much did you end up spending on actual baby products (clothes, toys, equipment -no wine since that’s something to call CPS about-, etc.)?

Rough estimates will do. I’m sure I’ll still be able to call it a “study”.

Responses

  1. Hmmm…. hard to remember all this. I think I spent very little trying to get pregnant naturally. Maybe $50 total for pregnancy tests.

    Fertility treatments were more, even though we had great insurance that covered it all. All told from Clomid through IUI, including injectible meds I probably spent about $2000.

    OPKs and pregnancy tests – probably $100.

    I can’t even estimate what we spent since getting pregnant. My guess would be from pregnancy to now, about $10,000 but that includes furniture, bedding, diapers, clothes, bottles, formula and all that. And I don’t even feel like we went overboard, but looking at that number? Ouch.

    • I guess I better put up my two cents (times a billion!):
      1) Naturally? Between July 2004 and July 2005? It cost me one 2nd trimester pregnancy and some copays/deduc for the D&C. Unknown dollars and I don’t want to know.
      2) Homeopathic? I tried a couple sessions of accupuncture, and I think it was about $300-$400 (Suz?)
      3) Fertility Txmts. This should be good. I actually had a spreadsheet but when those bastards fired me, I didn’t think about saving it as it was set up on my work computer. Rough estimate? $38K. Out of pocket as my insurance didn’t cover IF.
      4) Disposables? Guesstimate $1,000 over 48 months.
      5) Baby products? We had to buy everything new. Any friends and family we are close with were done having babies ages ago and some are even grandparents. Initial clothing start up – $1500 (baby and maternity); equipment – another $1500. We saved $1,000 since we did still have our dresser and crib from XBoy.
      Le grand total? Roughly $42,000 plus four dead babies. What are the odds that the 3,000 “study” participants were just. like. me?

  2. We spent about $20 on pregnancy tests, and about $30 on copays to find out why things wouldn’t work.

    Then we spent about $500 on blood tests and semen analysis to determine the actual problem. Then we spent about $100 in prescription copays for 11 weeks of heparin and about $50 for 9 months of low dose aspirin.

    Then there was the $50 copay I mistakenly paid to one doctor, the $50 copay to the other doctor for delivery, and $150 copay for the hospital stay.

    Altogether ~$1000 to make the baby (after 2 false starts).

    As far as the stuff for the baby…we had 2 baby showers (1 from my family & friends in Chicago, 1 from his family at home), which covered lots of the basics. Then we spent about $750 at Babies R Us. Finally, we bought some little girl’s entire first 2 years’ wardrobe for about $250 from craigslist.

    So, we’re up to $2000.

    Then we got her a humidifier for Christmas ($20 at Aldi) and maybe some books or something.

    I think we spent all of $2100 her first year…but we’re extremely cheap and we didn’t have to pay to conceive.

  3. Oh, and I forgot about how my sister in law gave us a breast pump, bottles, bottle warmers, baby bath tub, swing, etc.

  4. Hoo boy…

    1) $435.00 trying to get pg naturally, since we were trying so hard NOT to. $15 was for the HPT when I realized I got pg accidentally. Then $400.00 for DNA testing, which revealed the baby was affected with my genetic mutation, and $20 co-payment for the labor induction at 17 weeks.

    2) $0 Homeopathic treatments n/a

    3) $60K for IVF & PGD treatments, gas, meds, flights for my cousin who wound up donating. That’s a rough estimate.

    4) $100 on tampons, etc. Didn’t drink wine while TTC.

    5) $200 on actual baby products. Little odds and ends – we received a lot of hand me downs & gifts from people (cribs, diaper genie, clothes, toys, breast pump, bottles, swing, monitor, bouncy chair) and my aunt sent all his diapers.

    So all told, it was a about $61K. And the first time I heard his laugh, I knew it was all worth it.

    Plus, the last of the ART loan will be paid off this year. Yippee!

    • Congratulations, Anna! Paying off an ART loan is certainly right up there with any other milestone.

  5. Didn’t have to do IVF, (cause no one would let me, hahaha, so fun having high FSH) so everything fertility related like doctors visits, was covered by OHIP public health insurance.

    I know I spent money on parking at various Doctors offices…but everything else was free. As for the cost of clothes and baby stuff?

    We had some from before, but a lot of that had been gifts or borrowed. Maternity clothes? Maybe $1000, (although who is kidding who cause over a period of a year, I’m sure I’d buy myself that many new regular clothes if I wasn’t pregnant) and clothes and furniture and carseat for the baby etc. I’d say about $5000 since birth. That includes the entire nursery set, stroller, painting the place, kiddieproofing, and everything…..and I bought some nice stuff.

    We already had a cleaning lady, so a nanny wasn’t much difference, and we have to pay for sitters anyway for the older kids, but if you want to be picky, maybe add that in. It really was our choice to hire someone as opposed to a necessity until someday when I go back to work.

    I really hate when people add the cost of a car or house in as a baby expense. Lots of people raise babies in condos and apartments and until the kid is a lot older–it’s not like they need a backyard when the kid can’t walk yet.

    Same for cars, lots of people raise a kid without a car, and unless you own a teeny tiny sports car, you can fit a baby seat in most cars.

    Anyway, my point is that unless they are adding in the cost of women taking extended mat leaves, I really don’t know how they get that number. It just seems way too high?

    • That’s my point: if this website is being used by much maligned “fertile myrtles”, $41,000 seems outrageous! Plus, it makes me wonder if the calculator (if it ever worked) was where they were pulling the data from. That doesn’t make it a study by any stretch of the imagination or pocketbook.

  6. Well, it was about $25,000 for IVF, two FETs, a D&C, a lot of followup, and a fresh cycle. All borrowed.

    $150 on tests, maybe.

    About $6000 in copays and crap the insurance company refused to pay for. They started sending us to collections and we ended up putting a lot of the bills on credit cards. Stupid, yes, but what are you going to do?

    Five months lost wages (mostly due to bed rest) plus about three months severely reduced hours.

    I’ve lost track of the copays for the girls. We got billed $500 for a $4000 surgical procedure, and then they tried to bill us twice.

    After all that, the girls hardly have a single new outfit. Almost everything that touches them, from dawn until dusk, is second hand. I shop thrift stores on days they give additional percentages off. We only buy new what we can’t find used.

    I think we spent/spend our money in the right place.

  7. I am in the 100K+ for 5 IVF treatments, not to mention over 1000 needles. Yes, with we bought a larger car for the 2nd kid, after the car we had died. It was absolutely worth it.

  8. I wanna know where you can get those legs!

    Love the daily mail, shouldn’t really admit to it, but I do 🙂 Read all those articles ages ago, like we need a survey to tell us kids are expensive 🙂

  9. If I count all of the HPTs, OPKs, Clearblue monitor, etc. that I have used over the 10 years, I’d say close to $750 there.

    Two D&Cs, approx. $750 for those.

    Premature delivery and emergency c-section (for me after insurance)- $2000.

    NICU stay for my ds -before insurance $350,000 but I only had to pay $3,000

    Fertility treatments, surgeries, etc. – $4,000 (thats with decent insurance coverage)

    Acupunture, etc. – $1,000

    Adoption – $40,000+

    Actual baby expenses – toys, clothes, furniture, etc. – $2,500

    Worth every penny but no wonder I am so broke now!

    • Makes one wonder how come “fertile” people can’t afford to have 10 kids, doesn’t it?

  10. At this point, I’d rather have those cellulite free legs than the baby.
    (Assuming I get to keep mine.)
    (My baby that is, not my cellulite.)


Leave a Reply

Categories

