Posted by: DD | May 20, 2009

BOOGER FLICKR

Some of you may have noticed a change to my Flickr account, which I allowed previews to be displayed here on the sidebar of my blog. I’ve made the decision to set the photos specifically of XBoy and ZGirl to be more private so only my contacts via Flickr can see them.

I’m not a particularly paranoid person, especially since I’ll still post pictures here occasionally, it’s just I feel as if I have a bit more control on my blog than I did in my Flickr photostream.

There’s a couple of photos that I really like and I’ve wanted to get them printed larger to have framed. One was a picture of my husband with his sister on a beach in S.C. during our last vacation. He’s always liked it so I thought I would surprise him for our upcoming anniversary.

Flickr offers this option. I used this option. I received one of my completed orders this week. I won’t be using the option again.

Part of it is my fault as I don’t think I formatted the picture with the right dimensions so when it was blown up to an 8×10, they cropped it rather poorly, right into the subject matter, in fact.

I’ve had some success with simply taking my portable card with me to Walgreens to get prints made for my mom, but I figured that if I was using Flickr’s service, with which I have a paid account, that the final quality would be significantly better.

So, yeah, I’m disappointed and instead of anticipating my second order, which was a collage print of XBoy’s first year as a baby for my mom’s birthday, I’m already prepared to be un-dazzled. If it comes out better, and the first print was a fluke, I’ll be sure to let you know.

Responses

  1. Make sure you contact Flickr about the service. I used a web service to get some photos printed…was not happy, and they reprinted and mailed post haste.

    Sad for them, I don’t remember the service off-hand. Wait. Maybe that’s sad for me cuz my memory sucks.

    I also think there’s some dumbing down of quality via the Internet. I think they go low quality res so it doesn’t take so much server space…again, my memory may be on the fritz!

    • How in the world am I supposed to talk smack about my family if my sister is reading?!


Leave a Reply

Categories

