Posted by: DD | July 6, 2009

YOU’RE INVITED

So it would happen that I had another birthday. Specifically, I had another 39th Birthday. Like anyone else, I get one birthday a year. It’s just that not everyone gets a redo of their 39th. No, I will not share how many “redos” I’ve had as that would certainly defeat the purpose, now wouldn’t it.

I didn’t take the day off for my birthday. Instead I carted 3 dozen donuts to the office to share with the rest of my “fellow” employees. Personally, I don’t get the whole, “it’s my birthday, so let me vie you with treats” thing. It was bad enough doing that in elementary school, but really? I want someone to make ME a cake. Hell, I’ll take even a friggin Ho-Ho.

Who am I kidding? It doesn’t have to be a special day to have a Ho-Ho.

2009 001ladybugcompleteopenSpeaking of birthdays, I decided to make ZGirl’s birthday invites. Thank god she only has one First Birthday because after this, I will only be responsible for sending out fill-in-the-blank cards and only need to invite the number of kids equal to her age. In other words, next year will be a snap. But this upcoming one? Well, it’s turning into a 3-ring circus and that’s SO not the theme (this year).

Instead, I decided to go with something typically girly and cutesy: ladybugs. I figure the black and red can do double duty in its symbolism (hell, devil, eternal burning pit, etc.). The not-so-funny thing is is that I despise ladybugs. In the fall, they camp out in the billions  dozens in the uppermost corners of our 18’ entry-way ceiling. By spring, there are none left. Here’s a hint: they didn’t ALL fly away AND they’re the perfect size for a baby practicing her pincer grasp. ‘Nuff said.

So yeah, I made the invites. While browsing etsy, I was inspired by one particular design and figured I could make them for less money (you know, because I don’t have a job and all). While it does look like I cut them out after a drinking binge (and maybe I did), I just play up the roughly cut edges as proof that, yes, they are indeed hand-made.

My original intent was to use black cardstock for the body, but I couldn’t find cardstock locally that was as stiff as I wanted. I then found sheets of thin foam, which worked perfectly. It cut so easily (like butta’!) and I didn’t have to worry about it warping after handling it a million times. If you have as inkjet printer, I wouldn’t recommend velum paper which I used. The ink won’t stick well, specifically the colored inks. I had to hunch over 14 invites and outline the red letters on EVERY. ONE. OF. THEM. to make them more legible.

I would also advice you against “sugar glitter”. That stuff is so fine that I swear I still see it floating in the air when shafts of sunlight punch through the never ending gloomy weather of Nebraska. For a moment, I’m like “ooooooh….prettyyyyyy” and then I imagine breathing it in and dying a horrible glittery clogged airway death.

Also, to get the even ovals, I used word/publisher’s auto shapes to make templates. Probably the smartest thing I did for this project. I made sure to adjust the wings so that they weren’t just the oval cut in half, otherwise they wouldn’t overlap like they should.

So, there you go. If you happen to be in Nebraska on the 18th, stop in. We’ll be serving up bräts and burgers and might even go so far as to start a bonfire and do up some s’mores. Which reminds me! “Dear husband, when you go to the grocery store would you please buy some large marshmallows for the s’ mores?” “Why, dear wife? You have two bags of mini-marshmallows in the pantry.” Do you think there would be anything left of a mini marshmallow if you held it over an open flame for any length of time besides a dollop of goo the size of a q-tip?

Boys are stupid.

If you were starting to worry, no this is not becoming an advice blog, because seriously? Me giving advice?? Bitch, please. You’d get better advice after dropping acid and yelling your questions into a tree with a family of raccoons living in it, …but I don’t advice trying it. Raccoons, while cute, are nasty varmints and can seriously fuck your shit up.

Responses

  1. Very crafty, indeed! Nice job.

    My birthday falls later this month and today the head of HR asked me what type of treat I would like her to get me. Now that’s they way it’s supposed to be! If they expected me to bring donuts, they’d get bagels. Cause I’m all healthy that way.

  2. Happy Happy to all the girls (I mean LADIES!) in your house!

  3. Happy Birthday and I don’t think it’s so bad turning 39 again, try turning 49. Boo Hiss. I love the invites and I know what you mean about lady bugs.

  4. Hi, I stopped by because I’m looking for advice.

    I’ll be celebrating my 1st 39th this year and I’m wondering if there is a limit to how many times you can celebrate it?

    Love the cards, they are adorable. I think I’ll be looking through etsy for a little insipration when I have to make G’s invites this year.

    Happy Birthday you old lady you.

    • As I told someone yesterday when they boldly asked how old I REALLY was, “I will be 39 until I decide the eventually 49 is becoming hard to pull off.”

  5. I also just repeated my 39th birthday, but only for the first time (I think I’m a day ahead of you). I never work on my birthday. Sometimes the convenient holiday celebration allows me to have the day off without taking a vacation day. People at my workplace bring treats, but I hate all the people in my section and don’t want fake celebration treats, as they would just be bitter. I did get a box of Ho-ho’s (albeit the generic kind from Aldi, but I won’t complain) from my sister, though.

    I like the ladybug invites – very cute and creative. However, don’t hate the ladybugs! The little beasts that collect on your house are not actually ladybugs – they’re some other kind of beetle. I guess they’re related but the real ladybugs are true red rather than the dark orange. I hate the fake ladybugs – we get them on our windowsills at work, and when they die and you vacuum them up, they stink.

  6. Very cute and so very Martha of you! If I was inclined to make a to-do out of either of my kids’ birthdays I would totally steal that idea!

  7. Oh and I hate lady bugs (or as the above commenter pointed out more correctly Japanese Beetles) with all of my heart and soul. I lived in a log cabin in the woods and they camped out in corners, in windows, behind big photos, everywhere in the winter and swarmed in the spring (or any particularly sunny day in the winter). I had my vacuum out 7 times a day to suck those little effers up.

  8. Oh and did I say happy birthday? If not then Happy birthday to you!

    I’ll stop commenting now.

  9. Your invitations look great.

    If I win the lottery I will attend, so I guess you could put me down as a maybe.

  10. Happy birthday. 🙂 I agree with you on the cake thing. I would rather not have to make my own or buy my own but as a single gal with a wheat issue I usually do. (Although I’ve had several friends do one for me and that’s totally so sweet!)

    Also lady bugs are just extra protein. Nothing wrong with that. 🙂 (I do lurve ladybugs so I’m biased)

  11. CUTE! and also: I heart S’mores.

  12. Beautiful invitations! I can’t believe it’s been a year!!

  13. Those are great! FYI, Babies R Us has the most adorable princessy ladybug costume. I didn’t look at the price, so I don’t know, but it IS adorable. You know. If you want to be all themey-matchy and all that. 😉

    (And if I didn’t think it would be weird stalkery, I’d take you up on brats and bonfire! Sounds like a great time! But come to think of it, that princessy ladybug getup might not be great out at a fire…)

  14. So, I’ve been repeating 29 for, well… Let’s just say it’s been a while.

    Since this isn’t an advice blog, I guess I can’t ask: should I finally celebrate 30, 31, etc. or just go straight to 39???

    • Wait until you’re 49 THEN say you are 39.

  15. I think those are very cute- job well done.
    I also love ladybugs, pretty much the only insect I can say that about.

  16. The invites are very cute.

    As others have said, those damn things in the fall are asian lady beetles. And do they stink, ugh. We have them all winter long when it gets warm… they get active. Ugh ugh ugh.

    Happy Birthday again. 39 isn’t so bad… wish I were 39 again or again or again…

  17. Those are the CUTEST invitations ever!!!

    and you are hilarious…

    and that is all that my brain can think up right now… because I’ve been throwing up all day… guess I didn’t dodge the met bullet after all…

  18. The invites look great! And if anybody asks you meant to make ’em with the rough edges.

  19. Lovely job on those invites and happy birthday to you. I’m happy for the ladybirds to cop it – we have a plague of American ladybugs swamping our native ones so the more that die the better!

  20. Loving the invites… a year already… holly smokes!

    Happy Birthday to you too!

  21. Happy Birthday!

  22. Well, that year certainly flew by didn’t it?

    Love the invites. Alas, We won’t be able to make it what with being on the OTHER SIDE of the friggin country!! Why you gots to live so far away?

    Give ZGirl a big, squishy birthday hug from me.

  23. Belated–Happy Birthday. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

