Posted by: DD | August 4, 2009

HE LEFT ME

He left me Friday afternoon. He finished work early, packed and drove away.

Mr. DD left us to take his dad to Boston to see family, and we sorely miss him.

My phone has gone kaput on me, probably due to an unusually high humidity, especially when surrounded by a teething baby’s mouth.

What is it about phones and babies, anyway? She has a toy one, but NOOOOOOoooo. What do you take me for, she says when I try to perform the ole’switcheroo, a Baby?! Stupid Mommy.

With my phone’s keyboard failing, I’ve had to use the blue tooth in the van. Handy that. Kind of.

I have to go out to the garage and turn over the engine. Talk about a huge cell phone. And no, we don’t have a land-line.

During his absence, I’ve developed an unusual love of the styro-nut chair. You might know it as a “bean bag chair” but since they replaced the beans with those horrible Styrofoam peanut thingies, I can’t call it a bean bag chair.

Anyway, it makes a nice cocoon for ZGirl when I just don’t have time to hold her when it’s time for a bottle. Yes, she can hold her own bottle, but well, I feel a bit guilty laying her down on the granite counter-top and handing her a bottle. Kidding. I don’t let her lie down on the counter; she sits on it – legs dangling over the edge.

Mr. DD returns this weekend. I can’t wait. To all the single-parents out there: We at Budweiser salute you, Ms. (or Mr.) Styro-nut Chairs Are For Amateurs since Real Parents of Genius would place their baby in the kitchen sink filled with last night’s dirty dishes and proceed to feed and bath the baby, and do housework in one fell swoop.

Responses

  1. This is a great humor blog that you have here. I have a humor blog myself and I would like to exchange links with you. You can contact me by simply a comment on the site, to make it easier for you. Let me know if this is possible. Jason

  2. Heeeyyyyy!!
    I’m a single Mom myself this week!!
    Joe’s in VA for some university-security-conference-thingy til Friday. I think I’ve talked to him more in the past day & a half than I did all last week.
    He called me when he was leaving, he called when he got there, he called after dinner, he called around the kid’s bedtime to say goodnight, he called me before my bedtime to say goodnight, he called first thing this morning, he called while on lunch-break….how many times will he call tonight?

    I couldn’t even enjoy having the bed aallll to myself since BOTH kids ended up in my bed at some point in the night.

  3. I’m a single mom all week every week. I’m used to it, but some days are harder than others.

  4. *Snort*

    And hats off to single parents!

  5. I’m never sure if I miss MFH or if I miss what he does for us when he’s home that I never have to think about until he’s gone…..just kidding, of course. I miss him.

    In any case, I agree. I would never want to be a single parent.

  6. Both of my babies have LOVED my cell phones. I had to get a new one last summer because of Aiden’s drooling killing it (and when I say killing I mean completely black screen kind of dead). This summer Livi tried to kill my regular cell phone so I upgraded to a Blackberry. Seemed like a good plan at the time. He he. 🙂

  7. Just saying hi! xx

  8. Maybe you should view this as a chance to get together with Jason (comment #1 above). All you have to do is comment on his blog…it’s easy!

    • Oh, yes! Jason thinks I’m a veritable hoot!!

  9. I always loathe being left as a single parent although it is usually better than I expect but even so I’m glad when it is over.


Leave a Reply

Categories

