Posted by: DD | August 8, 2009

FREEZE TAG

The other night as I had given the house the equivalent of a whore-bath once over, I went in to check on the now sleeping kids. I shut off XBoy’s desk lamp and then headed to ZGirl’s room. I heard her as she restlessly rolled from side to side, but assumed she was still asleep.

When I peeked into her crib, I saw her big eyes staring up at me.

Shit!

I froze like a statue. Stupidly, I thought if I didn’t move she couldn’t see me in the dark. But babies are like bears. Their keen sense of smell can make out maternal exhaustion, which triggers their innate Play mechanism, even at 11:00 at night.

She lifted her head to get a better look at me and smiled this ridiculously cute smile at me.

Me? I’m standing there, halted in mid-step, still not moving.

“Really, ZGirl, it’s just a statue. Go back to sleep. You’re dreaming that mommy is standing by your crib.”

Mentally projecting those thoughts didn’t help. I’m not sure why.

I couldn’t stand there all night and had to make the decision to do or die. So finally I reached in and stroked her face and whispered good night and quietly left the room

I lucked out. She didn’t make a peep and went back to sleep.

Next time, I’ll just go to my  room and check the video monitor.

Or send Mr. DD into the bear’s den.

**********************

I sent out a Desperate for Friends request on facebook. If you got a request from a women wearing strange glasses too big for her face, and her first name starts with D and her last name starts with D, that’s me.

Also, if you have a facebook account, you can find me using my email address: ddattko (at) gmail (dot) com.

Responses

  1. Been there! I have a nice corner to peek around, and sometimes if I’m really fast, she doesn’t see me.

  2. Unfortunately I do not have a video monitor and have had to play Freeze Tag a few nights.

  3. “babies are like bears”

    BWA Ha Ha HA

    Actually they are much scarier than bears. Bears have empathy for other beings

  4. Why do they save their cutest smiles for times like these?

    I’ve been thinking about a video monitor just to *try* to avoid these situations. Do you like yours?

  5. I really should start writing to you more on facebook, and stop totally stalking you! LOL!

  6. Hey look I still have my cute little sideways heart with bunny ears icon! How I wish Little Man was awake (NOT!) he loves that icon…


Leave a Reply

Categories

